We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This restaurant was a great find for dinner, and the enjoyment was assisted by the very friendly and efficient Brazilian waitress. B had the soup of the day which was parsnip - a nice flavour but a little thin while I had the poached pear, blue cheese and walnut salad which was very nice. We both followed with the fish of the day - turbot served on a risotto verdi with artichokes. The fish - which we were told had been brought over from the West Coast - was perfectly cooked and had a lovely flavour and the risotto was an ideal accompaniment. Had we been staying longer in Arrowtown, another visit would have been made.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Arrowtown.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    194
    48
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

went with some friends over Easter and had a really lovely meal and great service. 2 couples shared the entree tasting plate platter - YUM - almost had a bit of all the entrees on it - so highly recommend if you can't decide on a entree - our mains were very nice and our waiter helped out a few decisions. None of us had room for dessert either, we definitely go back again when we visit Arrowtown and will recommend to our freinds and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jenny B,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Postmasters, many thanks for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire, uk
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The favourite restaurant of our New Zealand trip”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We enjoyed our meals and the excellent service so much that we ate here 2 evenings in a row, which were the first and second days of the restaurant reopening.The cottage pie was delicious containing tender pieces of lamb served with a good selection of fresh vegetables and the vegetable moussaka was also excellent and served with a lovely salad. We ate at many restaurants during our 18 day trip on the South Island and this one remained our favourite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear dlp39,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate the feedback.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

So enjoyed our meal here. Friendly staff, and beautiful food. Would only say that I would have liked my main meal to have been a little hotter. But overall very good, and would definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Janette K,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our aim is to provide delicious food along with warm and efficient service and we believe the best way to improve is to listen to our customers. It's disappointing to hear that your meal wasn't perfect, so your feedback has been passed on to the whole team and now we are aware that this was an issue for you we will try to not let it happen again.

The Postmasters Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals Dine Out Locally”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We're locals who have seen Postmasters roller coaster throughout the years with various owners. We were pleased to hear the management/ownership had recently changed and were keen to try it out again. We didn't go in with any expectations but were pleasantly surprised. The entrees and mains we had were great and the wine was excellent. If we had any criticism, it was that the chocolate cake was a bit on the dry side but still very nice. The waitresses were lovely and attentive without being overbearing. We'll definitely be back and are happy to recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaleCaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear HaleCaesar,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your comments about the chocolate cake have been passed on to the chef. We hope to see you again in the near future!

The Postmasters Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing