We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The favourite restaurant of our New Zealand trip”

Postmaster's Residence
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Step back in time and enjoy a slice of Arrowtown’s rich heritage. The carefully preserved historic cottage, once home to the town’s postmasters, has been a main street feature since the 1860s and is now a popular restaurant surrounded by beautiful gardens. Enjoy the beauty of each season at Postmasters, whether it's soaking up the sun whilst sitting out on the verandah with a refreshing drink or inside by the open fires with a homemade mulled wine in the colder months. The seasonal menu features fresh flavours, top quality local produce, and Central Otago wines which showcase the best of this famous wine-making region. Plenty of gluten-free and vegetarian options available as well as a dedicated kids’ menu.Open daily for breakfast, morning & afternoon tea, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We enjoyed our meals and the excellent service so much that we ate here 2 evenings in a row, which were the first and second days of the restaurant reopening.The cottage pie was delicious containing tender pieces of lamb served with a good selection of fresh vegetables and the vegetable moussaka was also excellent and served with a lovely salad. We ate at many restaurants during our 18 day trip on the South Island and this one remained our favourite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dlp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear dlp39,

Many thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate the feedback.

Warm regards,
The Postmasters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 678 of 707 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

So enjoyed our meal here. Friendly staff, and beautiful food. Would only say that I would have liked my main meal to have been a little hotter. But overall very good, and would definitely go back.

Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Janette K,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our aim is to provide delicious food along with warm and efficient service and we believe the best way to improve is to listen to our customers. It's disappointing to hear that your meal wasn't perfect, so your feedback has been passed on to the whole team and now we are aware that this was an issue for you we will try to not let it happen again.

The Postmasters Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We're locals who have seen Postmasters roller coaster throughout the years with various owners. We were pleased to hear the management/ownership had recently changed and were keen to try it out again. We didn't go in with any expectations but were pleasantly surprised. The entrees and mains we had were great and the wine was excellent. If we had any criticism, it was that the chocolate cake was a bit on the dry side but still very nice. The waitresses were lovely and attentive without being overbearing. We'll definitely be back and are happy to recommend it to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HaleCaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear HaleCaesar,

Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your comments about the chocolate cake have been passed on to the chef. We hope to see you again in the near future!

The Postmasters Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant was recently sold , and being a retailer for over 20 years in the same town , it is always good to check out the food so you can recommend to customers.
We were not disappointed. It was a beautiful day, so our vey friendly waitress sat us out onto the outside deck. I ordered a delicious Macarron lamb sandwich, $19.50 and commented it would have been one of the tastiest sandwiches I had eaten for sometime. My friend ordered Chicken noodle salad,$16.50. which she enjoyed too, and was very good value.
Only criticism is the sandwich was a little overpriced at $19, and they need a lesson on making a good coffee. Other than that, I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gonepotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear gonepotty,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and your thoughts about pricing have been taken on board. I am sorry that you felt the coffee wasn't quite up to standard, we are constantly striving to improve the quality of the product we provide. We sincerely hope that you come again and if you're not happy please let us know.

The Postmasters Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had the platter to start which was very good and then the Lamb Shank cottage pie which was average. Service was vert pleasant but none of the wait staff were familiar with any of the dishes and could not make any recommendations or suggestions other than saying that iot had been ordered bu another diner. Not very encouraging when none of the staff have eaten any of the food themselves....

Thank Cass2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PostmastersResidence, Owner at Postmaster's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Cass2007,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your overall experience at Postmasters. Having just taken over the restaurant at the start of March, some staff are still in the process of learning our new menus and unfortunately this takes a little time. The response we have had so far has been very positive regarding both food and service but there is always room for improvement so your feedback is most welcome. We hope that if you are visiting Arrowtown again you will give us another chance.

The Postmasters Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postmaster's Residence also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Postmaster's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing