We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrowtown is lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Arrowtown is lovely”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. Nice location and grounds. The shower was good but flooded the floor unless it angled exactly right. We found the bed lacking in blankets and the man at the office seemed to think I was the weird one to need a quilt for the bed. I figure if places are serious about energy saving (as the stickers in the cabin indicate they are) it would be more energy efficient to not use the heaters at night and have enough blankets on the bed. The tv won the prize for being the smallest one on our travels and wait .. no wine glasses in the cabin?? The young staff person at the check desk was very friendly and accommodating. Location in Arrowtown was great .. easy distance to walk in for a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
47
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerw Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Clean and comfortable room and very warm. Great location and must have one of the few surviving 14" TV s in the country. .....but I'm keen to go back. Our room had an en-suite wet floor with great water pressure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'm referring to the shower/toilet block and the kitchen. If all sites were this good I'd live in a camper van! We had a friendly welcome when we arrived. The code for the security barrier is a good idea, but some other visitors didn't seem to get the hang of it, causing delays. The autumn colour in Arrowtown when we visited was fabulous and all around the campsite

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbejx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Even though this is a council run camping ground, it is has very clean and well maintained facilities. The view from our Camper to the mountains with all the Autum colours made for a spectular scene. The camp is only about 5-8 minutes walk from Arrowtown.

Room Tip: Close to Arrowtown; level camp sites, sealed areas for campers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a nice campsite, very close to the centre of Arrowtown (walkable). It has stunning views all around. If you play golf this is also close-by and the views from there are wonderful.

We had a motorhome and we had quite a large site. The shower blocks are very new and are excellent - easily the best on any campsite we visited in NZ (we stayed in over 20!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

When we arrived, we were expecting a warm welcome like in all the other places we've been to, but oh no, we couldn't have been more wrong. Someone had to work that day and did not feel like it. When the credit card of our friends did not work, they weren't even allowed a second attempt.
The rest of the facilities were nice and clean, but there were signs everywhere stating: DO THIS/ DO NOT DO THAT... ( a bit of an overkill, if you ask me). You do have to pay extra for the showers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balkestamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over easter a couple of years ago with no problems and great service..... This time was a different story!

I book our tent site from the AA website, as we are members I do this often as I trust the AA's site! I booked a tent site for 2 nights with 2 adults and was quotes $18 a night which was taken from my credit card straight away - perfect, all set!

We arrived earlier than check in on good Friday, just to see if we were able to check in early since it was just a tent site, this is where the service went down hill. When they looked at my booking, they told me that enough hadnt be paid, I told them that I booked via the AA site and showed them the booking for 2 people and said to them you may want to chase up the AA then and make sure their site is correct, straight away, before I even got the chance to say I didnt mind paying the extra, the man said " well we actually have the right to refuse your booking" - a shocking way to talk to you guest when the mistake was not their error! He then said we were actually very early and usually no park would let people check in before 2pm, I let him know we were just here to see if we could check in and that if not we would just go into town for lunch then come back, he proceeded with check in but boy did I feel like a huge convenience!!

The facilities are very good, clean and modern and it is a nice size park in the sense that no matter where you are the bathroom and kitchen aren't far away. In regards to facility, only recommendation is that in the bathrooms it could mention how long $1 gets you for a shower.

We love Arrowtown and will be back and somw stage - fingers croses the service has improves slightly!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.5 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
128 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 58 in Queenstown
625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
8.3 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowtown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown Holiday Park

Property: Arrowtown Holiday Park
Address: 12 Centennial Avenue, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrowtown Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Arrowtown Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing