We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arrowtown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family stayed in one of the Tourist Flats which looked lovely from the outside, but were very basic inside. Unit not particularly clean with thick dust on top of microwave and dirty tissues under the bed. The hot plate did not work properly and the microwave had nothing to cook in. Ended up going over to the camp kitchen to finish cooking each nights tea. Probably okay if you only want to reheat food but not for cooking meal for a family. Asked twice if they could look at hot plate but nothing done. Beds not particluarly comfortable. TV was old, very small and only got two channels. Didnt expect unit to be luxury but better than we got.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    47
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
45
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in one of the studios which was absolutely fine - nothing luxurious but good value for money and within an easy 10 minute walk of town. The park is surrounded by gorgeous mountain views. The whole park was very well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scout6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We had to pay for the showers which was disappointing because of the cost of the camp ground to start with, however the showers and toilets were very modern and clean.

The old man in the office was a bit grumpy though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kontich, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

When visiting South Island in New Zealand, one surely wants to visit the area of Queenstown.
Yet, Queenstown for us too "mundane" and too much "adrenalin" -oriented.
To stay, this was our 3rd time Arrowtown, a very nice little town with quite some history, and very agreeable. Born of Gold Holiday Park was already known to us, and we gladly returned this year, to the park quite close to the center of town.
Reception staff is helpfull, and gives a good explanation of the HP and the surroundings.
The park is very spacy, and camper sites are well organized. Amenities are very new and well equipped. The only drawback is the price of hot water in the showers, compared to other holiday parks. Yet, one gets a lot of comfort in the park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed overnight in this caravan park in our camper van.
That was fantastic. The grounds were well kept, and facilities modern and well equipped. Compared to other places we stayed at during our tour, this camping ground was very well priced. Showers need to be paid for, but even with NZD1, the time you get is way enough.
Finally, the set up and the views from this place are truly amazing with the mountains surrounding the area.
Next time we come to Queenstown we we'll again stay there but in a cabin this time as they did look very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

It depends on what u look for in a holiday park. This one looks modern and clean with a very nice playground. I didn't seem to enjoy it there for some reasons. First, I didn't like he way the staff attended to me. Seemed too superficial, plastered smile and fake. Next, paid a high price compared to other places and still needed to pay for shower? I particularly dislike it when I need to put coins in showers unless the original price was dirt cheap. Otherwise, just add the whole cost at front desk. If u r looking for a view here, there is none. They have bright lights on at night, good and also bad for sleep. Suggest they install dimmer lights. Not near town area as well. U'd
Need to drive a few kms to main shops and cafes. So I didn't think it's worth staying here after all cos I wasn't looking for what they had to offer. But clean and nice design of amenity block.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a beautiful location! how lovely to wake up to the gorgeous surroundings and the peak and quiet. The park is well laid out, very flat, not alot of trees but functional and tidy. I couldnt imagine how it would be when it was full as there only appears to be one amenities/ablution block? The floors are heated though and thats a winner - must cost them a fortunte. Only comment would be to give the range hood in the main kitchen a good scrub it was a bit unsightly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.5 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
125 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
7.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowtown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown Holiday Park

Property: Arrowtown Holiday Park
Address: 12 Centennial Avenue, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrowtown Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Arrowtown Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing