We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - THE ARROW - ARROWTOWN NZ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arrow Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Arrow Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing - THE ARROW - ARROWTOWN NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Thank you Paulette - we recently stayed at The Arrow after having 2 very busy weeks in Southland and we were fairly weary when we arrived.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the delightful Paulette who immediately made us welcome and showed us to our 'haven' - really fantastic room, awesome view, electric floors (warm and cosy), a plus size 2 ended shower room and a gorgeous bath that has a unique glass sliding screen so you can bask and watch the TV, with a glass of champers in hand:-), the kitchenette is fully equipped (not that cooking was necessary with great restaurants or delivered gourmet pizza available, not to miss mentioning the really great breakfast that was ordered in house), the kitchen is 'hidden' behind a sliding wooden screen which has a plasma screen fitted in the centre - unique!
The whole experience was so relaxing we stayed an extra night - the ambiance is created by the furnishings which very much match the surrounding landscape in their tasteful and interesting colour choices, the whole experience was just awesome.
Paulette was a fantastic hostess as we joined her in 'The Croft' - the gorgeous, original stone cottage which is the reception/bar and meeting place, complete with open fire, it was a delightful evening with delicious nibbles, quality local wines and the company of a very informative and personable hostess (Paulette).
We will be back, we took heaps of photos and we need to take more and we would definitely go out of our way as 'The Arrow' is a destination in its own right!
Thanks Paulette for your hospitality - next time we are looking forward to meeting Tim too :-)
Tanya and Mark

Room Tip: Any room here would be fantastic! All have awesome views of the surrounding hills and riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
111
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmwoods, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Thank you Tim and Paulette for your wonderful service and generous hospitality. Drinks in the Croft was one of the highlights of our time in historic Arrowtown. And our daughter Sherbert was thrilled to be able to watch telly from the bath!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

First off I am biassed as I am the architect. However the architecture is only one part of what makes the arrow such a good stay. The peace and tranquility of the setting is super restful. Tim and Paulette are hosts with a great knowledge of the area. It's a personalised service with a locals perspective. An experience you dont get from an information desk. Thanks guys see you next time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinTheArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
An archtect should always stay in the places they have designed. That experience can only help their next client.
You have helped create a unique experience here for our guests in Arrowtown. Thank you!
The contemporary design of the suites, which connect so well to some gorgeous Arrowtown views, should make you proud and keep our guests coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Comfortable, clean, contemporary rooms in Arrowtown -- simple lines, open design, spacious, WiFi included. The owners are gracious and warm, providing a very welcoming atmosphere. We had drinks by the fire and our glasses were never allowed to go empty. Breakfast is excellent and delivered to the room right on schedule. And when we were thinking of driving to town to bring back some pizza one evening instead of hitting a restaurant, the owner called the pizza place, jumped in his car and picked it up for us.

Service far and above what we were expecting, which made our stay a very pleasant one. We'll most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Modern design, concrete floors, large glass windows, open floor plan, large bath, firm mattress, fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathanBranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Meeting interesting fun guests like yourselves is what makes running this property so much fun. We try and look after our guests in the same way we would like to be treated!
Thanks so much for adding some room tips. They are a great snapshot from a guests perspective. Thanks for your business and we really look forward to seeing you again at The Arrow in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This boutique hotel is a fantastic discovery for any couple or individual looking for a place to be superbly taken care of in the beauty ofCentral Otago. Arrowtown is nestled between Queenstown and the road to Wanaka and close to many fine vineyards. The rooms are individually appointed with a great deal of thought, care and attention to the fine details that make such a stay luxurious and effortless, a true chance to relax.
The owners are personally involved in the day to day running of the place and it really shows with no service being too much trouble including retrieving you from a local restaurant if you feel like enjoying the wine menu. They appear to be available 24/7 and the friendly and gracious attitude is almost as good as the beautiful bath in our unit. I would happily recommend the Arrow to anyone looking for an escape to a beautiful place, everything was what we had hoped for,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orthodocnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

For people wanting boutique go no further than "the Arrow Hotel" so close to Arrowtown but far enough away for privacy and animity .. Modern in every sense of the word it is a fantastic alternative from a resort or chain hotel .. Very personalized service from the owners who stayed as close or as far away as you required .. The unique breakfasts were something else as was the bath after a days skiing .. Without giving too much away you will be pleasantly surprised with your stay at The Arrow.. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaihekeSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had 4 nights here and it was a real treat! the views are breathtaking especially from the bath with a Central Otago pinot and Gibbston Valley cheese! The meeting and greeting evening was special with drinks and delicious nibbles. Tim and Paulette went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They even made a special trip to get my favourite bread for breakfast! The rooms are very well thought out with lots of space, snug underfloor heating and a double nozzle shower. We would reccommend to anyone looking for a luxurious break away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
10.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
7.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 11 in Arrowtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arrow Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arrow Private Hotel

Property: The Arrow Private Hotel
Address: 63 Manse Road, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arrow Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrow Private Hotel is a contemporary Design style Hotel just five minutes walk from the centre of Arrowtown. The Private Hotel operates as a luxury lodge and with only 5 suites we provide a very personal and private service. A historic stone cottage is the central meeting place for the Hotel and it is used as the reception area and as a house bar for evening refreshments and canapes. The Arrow Private Hotel is 20 minutes drive from the Coronet Peak skifield and from Queenstown. There are 3 great golf courses within 5 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Arrow Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing