We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Hotel Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arrow Private Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely Hotel Rooms”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The rooms at The Arrow Private Hotel were just lovely, Bed very comfortable, we did find the room a bit cool for the middle of winter, (we had cold feet) a nice little gas fire in the room would have made things better. I also thought that the tea and coffee could have been in a nice container rather than in the packaging.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Hi, thanks for your feedback we really appreciate it. We have turned up the underfloor heating in all of the suites recently now that winter has finally arrived. We hope with the heatpumps on and the undertile heating working in the bathrooms that everyone staying will be as warm as toast.

We will definitely find out if we can get all of the brands of tea we have in the room as individually packaged items. We will check around again tomorrow and agree with you that an alternative would be better.

We would love to host you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
115
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The Arrow is luxurious; great attention to detail, and fantastic personal service. The owners have really thought about what people will want, and they excelled at meeting our needs. Our stay was all we could have wanted from a private retreat.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Is was fantastic having you stay with us during your escape from the city.

Next time come back as little earlier in the year as we would love you to see the Autumn Festival spectacular change of colour, as the trees retreat for winter. It is an amazing sight even from the rooms looking out across the valley.

Thanks again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Tucked away beside the Arrow River, internationally styled small hotel provides a haven from the bustling tourist mecca of the Wakatipu basin. Once cosseted in an elegant architect designed room with views up the Arrow Valley, and treated to fine Pinot Noir in the old miners cottage by a gracious host, the real world retreats rapidly. Great breakfasts, bookings for dinner, attention to the problems encountered away from home, and personal transport are accomplished with a nicely reserved attention to detail.

Wandering out on to the river terraces and walking the Big Hill track or beside the Arrow River on the way to Macetown is a bonus.

A total surprise which exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed only one night on our way to Queenstown. Wow! what a fantastic find, we holiday in Queenstown every year and will now be allocating time for a regular stay at this incredible Hotel. The apartments are very modern, sophisticated and stylish; yet maintain a sense of warmth. Although this is a modern hotel, it blends seamlessly into the natural environment, a very peaceful setting with walking tracks and forest at your doorstep. One of my favorite aspects, was lying on our plush bed, looking out at a perfectly framed image of natural forest, an amazing window vista that invited the outdoors into the apartment, who needs a pictures on the wall when you have this.

The apartment was fantastically appointed, one of those few places you walk into and say to your partner "My god, they have thought of everything", the attention to detail was first class. Tim was a great host, booked us Dinner in town and nothing was too much trouble.

Will be back soon and next time we will spend more time here, Tim, we will take you up on that drink we didn't get around to last time. Thanks for inviting us into your wonderful world...I am envious to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tancred_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

excellent location with wonderful host and hostess.. this is a lttle jewel amongst the trees... cleverly designed self contained apartments allow one enjoy a relaxing visit or an adventure..hors d'oeuvres in the pretty cottage enhanced by Tims knowledge of wines and tasting process was even better..even sampled a home brewed whiskey by Tims dad which was served with 'grannys' scrummy xmas cake with cheddar cheese on top..a welsh tradition! The artistic Paulette is on hand to answer all your questions and would even plan your wedding..! Brekkie through the secret hatch serves up delish meusli with warm fruit, fritters and sticky buns! Thank u both for great 2 days including ur taxi service in the lashing rain! will c ye soon again..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grainnelisdoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Ye two are allowed back anytime!

The discussion about Irish politics made the whole idea of a home made whiskey, or is that whisky, all the more palatable. It certainly helped ease the way towards a fantastic dinner at Saffron.

There are wedding plans to be shuffled and sorted and we've had some practice here lately with wedding aftermatch functions. You need to come back as there is more left in that bottle to ensure avid discussion. For the last three weekends in a row we have had newly weds taking their first sleep together in one of the suites.

We look forward to hosting you again and meeting the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

we stayed at the arrow private hotel and used it as our base to explore queenstown and the surrounding central otago wine region. the units are modern, comfortable and innovativley designed to a high spec. if you are looking for design boutique accomodation i would definitely recommend the the arrow private hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlauraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
It was lovely to meet up with your family out on such a fast paced getaway adventure. You sure had packed a lot into the itinerary.
Picking guests up from dinner in Arrowtown is fun for me as I get regular up to date reviews of the great selection of restaurants we do have right at hand. The conversation is often a lot more relaxed and entertaining.

Thanks for the feedback both while you were here and on Tripadvisor. It is appreciated and I am still annoyed from having forgotten to put those dang ashtrays out before you got here.

See you again sometime..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed at The Arrow during the weekend of the Motatapu off road marathon event.
As a family of 6 we found the two floor accomodation clean, tidy and private. The fit out is 'simlpe luxury'. The owner was very friendly and helpful with any bookings we required (e.g. restaurant reservations & recommendations). Having breakfast and evening drinks in 'The Croft' (a wee historic cottage) offered a lodge-like feel to the experience.
The setting of the hotel was very peaceful, yet only a short walk along the river walkway into town. Backed by the Hills, the scenery was lovely in the Summer, yet in winter, would be stunning.
We would thoroughly recommend The Arrow as a quality, private accommodation in Arrowtown.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWheeler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theming, Owner at The Arrow Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We throughly enjoyed having your very polite and friendly family come and stay with us.

Congratulations on doing the Motatapu marathon. Having done it myself, I know how much work it is, but also how beautiful the scenery is along the way.

There are many more walks and runs down here to do and I know you have an adventurous family so we would love to see you all again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
10.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
10.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arrow Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arrow Private Hotel

Property: The Arrow Private Hotel
Address: 63 Manse Road, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arrow Private Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arrow Private Hotel is an Arrowtown Boutique Hotel just five minutes walk from the centre of Arrowtown. With very contemporary design and styling, the Hotel recently won a prestigious architecture award and guests frequently comment on the attention to detail in the suites. In contrast, a historic stone cottage is the central meeting place at the Hotel. It is used as the reception area and as a house bar for evening refreshments and canapes. The roaring fire is very welcoming on a cold winters evening and many a tale has been told before guests walk into Arrowtown for their evening dinner. The Private Hotel is recognised one of the best Arrowtown B&B's. It operates more like a luxury lodge with each of the suites having its own private access and a hot cooked breakfast is delivered to each suite daily via a secret cupboard. With only 5 suites we are able to provide a very personal and private service . Adventures of all levels are not far away from the Hotel. Walking and cycling trails run right past the base of the Hotel which backs onto Coronet Peak Station. The Arrow Private Hotel is 20 minutes drive from the Coronet Peak ski field, from the Gibbston Wine region and from Queenstown. There are also 3 great golf courses within 5 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arrow Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing