We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Meal”
Review of New Orleans Hotel

New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #27 of 41 Restaurants in Arrowtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in beautiful Arrowtown on famous Buckingham Street, The New Orleans (New O, as the locals call it) is one of the last historical running hotels in New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing simple, honest old fashioned hospitality. The hotel has 9 well appointed rooms all featuring free wifi, New furniture,Linen and Decor (updated 2012). Our award winning Bistro and Bar features local seafood,an extensive wine list, NZ Craft Beer and much, much more. We are open 7 days from 8am, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinne.Recently (2013) we have extended our premises to Include Little Micky Finns, Arrowtown's very own Irish and Gourmet Pizza Bar. Featuring genuine Emerald Isle Memorabilia and boasting the best Whiskey collection in town.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok Meal”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Typical Pub Meal. Good size serving. Eating by the open fire is nice. Staff not overly friendly which surprises me because there must be a high number of tourist visit this pub. A bit more of a welcoming would go a long way.,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    86
    57
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Won't return”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We dropped in as we were hoping for a pub meal - they had a large group booked for dinner but managed to find us a table at the back. We had to get up and find our own menus after being left at the table while they continued to set up for the main group.

After finding the small sign instructing us to order at the bar we were met by the least-friendly pub bartender we had ever come across (the pointing at the self-service tap with no verbal answer after asking for water was perhaps the lowest point). The food wasn't bad, but we will be in no hurry to return unless we are in a large group, as it appears this is the only way to get any attention.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOreans2011ltd, Public Relations Manager at New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
Could you possible elaborate on who served you ( Female, male age,) in a PM I would be very grateful.
We did have a busy function in on Tuesday, however there were enough staff to ensure our other guests received good service.
If you are still in the area, I would love you to come back and have another meal and sample some of the amazing hospitality we offer.
Thanks
Kirsty
kirsty@neworleanshotel.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Comfort food and even better atmsophere”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had brunch in front of the big fire watching the replay of Brazil playing Columbia. I love the smell of an open fire and the warm atmosphere it creates.
The food was nice and good value

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrantHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Microwave meals?”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed in the food here! It's the only place I do not recommend to my customers. I ordered the chicken and it tasted like frozen and heated up in a microwave...
The place it's self is nice and the staff were nice, just not the food.
Walk a little past and you'll see the fork and tap, well worth the visit there.

Helpful?
Thank CKBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I sometimes wander in just to have a coffee (great coffee too by the way!) and often then sit down to lunch...a good selection...pub meals but good...love the whitebait buttys! Pricing is good...the fire was on and great squishy sofas in front of it...fab! Another time I took my wee nephew (4) and he was happy sitting there and enjoyed the crayons as well as the lunch! Great atmosphere (and I don't usually like pubs)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha-Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Hotel also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing