We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar food.”
Review of New Orleans Hotel

New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #27 of 42 Restaurants in Arrowtown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in beautiful Arrowtown on famous Buckingham Street, The New Orleans (New O, as the locals call it) is one of the last historical running hotels in New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing simple, honest old fashioned hospitality. The hotel has 9 well appointed rooms all featuring free wifi, New furniture,Linen and Decor (updated 2012). Our award winning Bistro and Bar features local seafood,an extensive wine list, NZ Craft Beer and much, much more. We are open 7 days from 8am, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinne.Recently (2013) we have extended our premises to Include Little Micky Finns, Arrowtown's very own Irish and Gourmet Pizza Bar. Featuring genuine Emerald Isle Memorabilia and boasting the best Whiskey collection in town.
Katoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bar food.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The food was good. We had a roast pumpkin salad and a steak. Drank cider and beer. The atmosphere is like a pub or bar: people enjoying rock n'roll and watching the game inside and the better dressed people at their happy hour, outside, where it's allowed to smoke.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Infernanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    86
    58
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Britain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Depends on what room you get”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

River facing rooms are a bit plusher, we were on the otherside which are fine but could do with a bit of updating/painting.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank luckyllou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was ok very unhappy not friendly staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were in 7 adults and 3 kids as it was a nice day we decided to seat outside but. The waitress seemed to be very unfriendly when we tried to order burgers and they did not have it .the food wasn't great but the service waS terrible

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrf161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roast Dinner for how many”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The roast meals are exceptional value and washed down with a drink of choice makes a grand night out.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I ate at this restaurant with our 2 lil kids, the atmosphere was great, very friendly staff. The only things that let this place down for us was the very long wait for our food, ( and they were'nt busy) and when it did start to arrive the kids meal came out first but then my husband and I had a long wait for ours, by the time we got it, our kids had already finished eating and they r only 7, the food was beautiful, but very small meals. The only other thing was the price, they were very expansive and considering how small the meals were my husband was still hungry when we left. Not sure if I would return again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Hotel also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing