We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skippers Canyon - Charlie & Dallas”

Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours
Ranked #11 of 18 things to do in Arrowtown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Explorer is locally-owned business, focusing on quality, service and flexibility. Join our experienced local guides on 4WD scenic half day tour, guided walk, or overnight camping adventure into the high country areas of Skippers Canyon, Macetown, Arrowtown or Glenorchy. Travel along roads carved by hand from the steep canyon walls, drive into remote valleys through narrow gorges and view beautiful lakes to discover the history of these once bustling gold rush regions of old. Discover the history, explore the heritage and be amazed by the breath taking scenery. Visit our website for details and how to book on our specific day tours.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A great morning spent going to skippers. It had snowed the day before and the scenery looked a picture. Aidens commentary was very informative, and we had a lot of stops to look and take photos.The picnic was great. Would advise anyone to do the same trip.
Also did the bike ride from Arrowtown to Kawerau Gorge and return. Was a great experience, especially as we hadn't ridden bikes for 30 plus years.
Thanks for the bikes

Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hi Charlie and Dallas, thanks for joining me to Skippers Canyon. Some say its more spectacular than Milford Sound. Having also guided at Milford Sound, I would say they are on par to being the 8th wonder of the world! It was great to see you both on the bikes at Arrowtown Bike Hire. Just goes to show, riding a bike is like falling off a log, you never forget how! All the best and look forward to showing you Macetown next time your in town. Adin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had an awesome trip to Glenorchy and Paradise Valley with Adin which was filled with plenty of stunning photo opportunities, interesting stories and plenty of humour. It was a wonderful trip to see a part of New Zealand that we hadn't seen before, it was simply breathtaking. We highly recommend Southern Explorer for excellent service - this is a trip not to be missed. Viv

Thank Vivienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi Viv, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to meet you and share a bit of our local knowledge. Its always fantastic to see kiwis exploring their own back yard. If you where blown away by the scenery, imagine how blown away people are when they visit from overseas and dont live in this beautiful country! I look forward to showing you around some other great spots in the future. Kind regards Adin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visiting from UK, I'm not one for all the tourist hype, but Aidin & his trusty Defender 110 will not disappoint if you like 'off roading', wading rivers, a bit of 4x4 'rufty tufty', good midday picnic grub, in a mix with plenty of Kiwi humour. An excellent & unhurried trip up to Macetown, with lots of information en route, with plenty of stops & time to look around.

Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks Rob for the great reveiw! Look forward to sharing another adventure with you soon. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A group of four amateur prospectors were lured into an adventure to Macetown, with the promise of panning for gold, and we weren't disappointed. Our day began early, no wind and very few clouds. We were met at the Post Office and within minutes, we were up to the axles in water. Our guide was extremely knowledgable about his home town and its surrounds. It was a fantastic morning and the home made pikelets hit the spot. We stopped to enjoy the ever changing scenery of the gorge at several locations and, after walking through the history of Macetown, settled down to a bit of panning. Great fun and some yellow souvenirs to take home. We highly recommend Souther Explorer for their courtesy and expertise.

1  Thank PerthLib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As they say, gold is where you find it. Just lucky we know where to look! All best with future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As tourists in our own country a trip into Skippers Canyon was at the top of our list during our recent stay in Arrowtown. Adin didn't disappoint us with his Kiwi humor and knowledge of the area, the feshly cooked pikelets are nice surprise.
We have showed the video of our trip to other North Islanders who have never experienced the stunning beauty of Central Otago.

Thank rogandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Hey guys, it was great to meet you and spend some time getting to know you. Glad you enjoyed the tour, but don't tell everyone about the freshly cooked pikelets! Otherwise everyone will be wanting some!. Send some more of those north islanders down so we can show them some great southern hospitality! All the best, Adin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing