We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience”

Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours
Ranked #10 of 18 things to do in Arrowtown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Explorer is locally-owned business, focusing on quality, service and flexibility. Join our experienced local guides on 4WD scenic half day tour, guided walk, or overnight camping adventure into the high country areas of Skippers Canyon, Macetown, Arrowtown or Glenorchy. Travel along roads carved by hand from the steep canyon walls, drive into remote valleys through narrow gorges and view beautiful lakes to discover the history of these once bustling gold rush regions of old. Discover the history, explore the heritage and be amazed by the breath taking scenery. Visit our website for details and how to book on our specific day tours.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

A group of four amateur prospectors were lured into an adventure to Macetown, with the promise of panning for gold, and we weren't disappointed. Our day began early, no wind and very few clouds. We were met at the Post Office and within minutes, we were up to the axles in water. Our guide was extremely knowledgable about his home town and its surrounds. It was a fantastic morning and the home made pikelets hit the spot. We stopped to enjoy the ever changing scenery of the gorge at several locations and, after walking through the history of Macetown, settled down to a bit of panning. Great fun and some yellow souvenirs to take home. We highly recommend Souther Explorer for their courtesy and expertise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RossnAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As they say, gold is where you find it. Just lucky we know where to look! All best with future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skippers Canyon”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As tourists in our own country a trip into Skippers Canyon was at the top of our list during our recent stay in Arrowtown. Adin didn't disappoint us with his Kiwi humor and knowledge of the area, the feshly cooked pikelets are nice surprise.
We have showed the video of our trip to other North Islanders who have never experienced the stunning beauty of Central Otago.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hey guys, it was great to meet you and spend some time getting to know you. Glad you enjoyed the tour, but don't tell everyone about the freshly cooked pikelets! Otherwise everyone will be wanting some!. Send some more of those north islanders down so we can show them some great southern hospitality! All the best, Adin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and disappointing”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

On the recommendation of Tourist Information Centre went on the Glenorchy Wilderness Tour. Of all the tours we did in NZ (which were many and varied) this was by far the most expensive. Content was not particularly exciting, could have done most of it in the car. Very disappointing and extemely poor value for money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks David for your review. Its great to get your feed back. I have started a process to review this tour, its contents and commentary, and to ensure tourist information offices are representing this product correctly.

The Glenorchy Wilderness Tour offers options to do a wilderness walk (average fitness required) or view Lord of the Rings Filming locations. From our discussions in the vehicle it was apparent that neither of these activities was of high interest to either of you. Unless clients are interested in spectacular mountain and lake views, hiking in a 400 year old native forest or visiting Lord of the Rings and Hobbit film locations, I feel they will not get the most from this tour.

It is important all clients are informed about the product they are booking, and have an interest in its contents. I would also advise choosing products within your budget.

After chatting with you during your tour I believe both of you would have enjoyed our Skippers Canyon Explored tour more. Had you booked direct, you would have talked with me, the business owner and driver and I would have been able to ensure you where doing the right tour for you.

Thank you for your comment on price. I have already started to survey clients on our prices relevant to the services we offer. We are among the cheapest of the tours that go to Glenorchy. $320 for a 4 ½ hour private tour for two people, covering over 150 kilometres I thought is fairly reasonable. Had you driven yourself, you would have missed out on 15 years of local knowledge, dedicated commentary and ensuring you where taken to the best spots given the weather on any particular day or time of year. You seemed to at least enjoy the freshly cooked pikelets in the wilderness of Mt Aspiring National Park!

Mr and Mrs Parksen, thank you again for your comments, please help us improve this product by contacting us directly with any further suggestions or ideas how we can exceed our clients expectations every time.

Kind regards

Adin May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We went on the Skippers Canyon 4x4 with Adin and had a fantastic time! Adin is very knowledgeable about the history, nature, and features of the canyon and gives a very thorough tour. He made sure to take pictures of us and would stop the land rover on demand so I could take more pictures. The scenery is unbelievable and there is no better way to go into the canyon. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A M, Owner at Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks Holly, you are awesome. The photos are great!. When you coming back to do Glenorchy? all the best, Adin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great trip into the mountains with a knowledgeable guide”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great off-road adventure with a fun guide (great jokes!). We had a lovely trip up into Skippers Canyon on a great weather day - lots of information on the gold mining history with stories from a local that seemed to know the place inside out. Tasty home made pikelets were a nice surprise too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Southern Explorer 4WD Scenic Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing