We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful in Every Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Certificate of Excellence
Tiburon, California
1 review
“Simply Wonderful in Every Detail”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We were thrilled to find this little luxury hotel. The owners are enthusiastic in their service. The rooms and B&B atmosphere are elegantly appointed in EVERY detail. "Special" doesn't say it. And the optional breakfasts... OMG! Three courses on a blackboard menu, simply to die for wonderful home cooking. Free wi-fi that worked with ease. Free DVD's. Very attentive service. Just LOVED this place. And we were very happy to have decided to stay in Arrowtown rather than Queenstown. We had fun exploring Queenstown, but we are not party animals and it was very pleasant to return to "the country," and dine in Arrowtown and hike/walk around that area with the spectacular colors. When we get back to this area, we will stay at the Arrowtown House again. Well worth a few extra bucks, IMHO.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambassador-of-Ease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Lovely boutique hotel
Great service
Great food
DesignNZ travel agency gave us this tip- excellent choice
Arrowtown is just outside Queenstown, with a little quieter and smaller ambiance.
Highly recommend the Hotel and DesignNZ

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlsiegel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2011

An amazing place to stay - it really felt like a home away from home. Steve and Jeanette have thought of everything to make staying at the hotel a treat. We arrived in the afternoon, were shown to our room and had drinks and canapés delivered shortly after. The night was spent relaxing in our beautifully decorated room and in the private courtyard outside. In the morning we were fortunate enough to have a truly delicious breakfast cooked up by our hosts. We will definitely be returning if we find ourselves in arrowtown again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nzlander85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is an outstanding place with wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are superb. The rooms have every connivence except for large TV's (they have smaller LCDS.) What was especially appreciated was the host's rearranging our guided side trips and meals as the weather changed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantatraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We struggled to find this hotel with its discreet sign in a pretty street but we were so glad we did. The hotel is a joy with just a few rooms and with hosts who could not do more to make their guests comfortable. The room was large with private outside sitting area with all the small touches that made it special - home made cookies, stacks of DVDs and books to borrow. The decoration throughout was lovely with quirky touches that made it interesting. We were invited to drinks and nibbles before dinner that were so delicious we nearly did not need to go out to eat.
This was my favourite place to stay in our tour of South Island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemimaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Best accomadation we had on the south island. Lovely, well appointed, spacious room with beautiful courtyard and garden.

Hosts were lovely and were very helpful. Breakfast was a highlight as well.

Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChienRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We were lucky enough to take advantage of a Winter Special and stay at Arrowtown House. We had travelled a few times before to South Island and stayed in Queenstown so this time wanted something a little different to experience a bit of winter and snow. Steve was an outstanding host and very helpful prior to arrival. The room was just beautiful, huge bathroom and really felt like a home away from home, not a hotel room. We enjoyed amazing canapes and drinks at 6pm - Jeanette is an outstanding chef and I can't forget the beautiful breakfast she made as well as the yummy treats before dinner. This establishment is very generous with access to all the 'extras' including wines and nibblies etc., it was very much appreciated. They also have a very extensive knowledge of the area and were most helpful with our plans. It was great to not have to worry about driving and parking with so many nice restaurants and shops in Arrowtown - I would especially recommend a stay in winter when you can take advantage of the specials and experience a class destination. Thanks Steve and Jeanette, we hope to come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicLeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
7.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
10.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
10.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel

Property: Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
Address: 10 Caernarvon Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners "Worlds Best Award", Winners NZ Tourism Award. Voted #3 New Zealand Hotel for Romance. A memorable visit guaranteed. When you think about it, many Queenstown Hotels are quite similar. Location differentiates them. Consider then the many advantages of staying in Queenstown's historic precinct of Arrowtown - one of NZ's most charming neighbourhoods Globally, the historic precincts of cities are recognized as desirable hotel locations. Why? Well, as cities heave & grow to the horizon becoming homogeneous in the process, the historic precincts become more attractive for the character & charm they retain. Authentic, relaxing & peaceful describe the ambiance. Established following the discovery of gold 150 years ago, today you'll discover a sophisticated neighbourhood reflecting echoes of the past. If you are interested in New Zealand's history & distinctive culture, you will discover it here.....not in New Zealand's cities. New Zealand is unique in that the best luxury accommodation is not found in chain hotels. Are you looking for somewhere special for your vacation? Are you passionate about fine cuisine? This precinct promises you a mecca of unforgettable dining experiences including 'Saffron' restaurant rated in the 'Worlds Top 100' by Conde Nast Traveller & Amisfield Bistro voted 2014 New Zealand Winery Restaurant of the Year. You'll be seduced by the quiet neighbourhood charm. Discover cobblestone lanes leading you to explore galleries, fashion, brew-pubs, tapas bars, cafes, groovy bars & an art-house cinema. All only 2-min walk. Dining is so much more enjoyable when you don't have to drive. True luxury is a state of relaxation. We're sure you'll agree as you stroll home under the moonlight. Country atmosphere | City convenience. A perfect balance. At hub of 100 km Queenstown Trail - Nga Haerenga, the NZ Cycle-Hike Trail, meandering lakeside to artist's studios & vineyards. Trail rides & road cycling tours arranged. Bike hire available. Accommodation is luxury. Outstanding South Pacific cuisine is a feature. Chef-Owner Jeanette Brough is the winner of the 2013 NZ Vegetarian Dish Challenge ...... "superb & done with panache, this place is a treasure". Food & Wine Editor, NZ Life & Leisure. Only 15 minutes from downtown-Queenstown, but a world removed. As you relax & wind down in comfort we will not be surprised to hear you comment that the attractions of downtown are not so attractive! When you learn that 21,000 vehicles traverse Queenstown's main street daily, you'll be convinced to linger. We have thought of everything you need and added some special treats to ensure your ultimate vacation. Arrowtown House has only six guestrooms. Book now to avoid disappointment A wonderful location, stylish accommodation & innovative cuisine await you. 7-min to entrance Coronet Peak Ski Resort, 7-min to Onsen Japanese outdoor hot pools, 3-min to The Hills Golf Course - Home of NZ Open, 3-min to Millbrook Golf Course, 10-min to AJ Hackett Bungy, 10-min to Gibbston Valley Central Otago Wineries, 10-min to Rabbit Ranch Bike Resort, 10-min Shotover Jet & whitewater rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing