We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forget the big brand names,this is incredable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

we have just returned home from our stay here.this motel is amazing olde world charm in the heart of arrowtown.forget the big brand names around the lakes district,settlers cottage has them shot to bits.super clean,spacious unit.hosts are down to earth people{even for an ocker}nothing was a problem,happy to oblige,have a yarn & offer local knowledge.We had a bucket list trip which was so smooth,even had an extremely late checkout time for which my offer for payment was declined.I cant say enough about our time here.best motel we have ever stayed at,a big fat thumbs up from the bottom of our hearts.totally recommend to all,you wont regret it.
warren & sue,nelson

Room Tip: all rooms are quite due to the location,any room we would happily have again
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazzac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Warren and Sue, boy I am not sure how to reply to such a great review, we are so pleased that everything went so well for you both and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
We work hard at providing a great product and experience for our guests, I don't let all of them know I am an Ocker!! but i guess they will all know now..... Thank you and all the best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Settlers Cottage Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 151 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great motel to stay in when visiting Arrowtown. You step back in time to and ld fasioned well equipped cottage. Suits the surrounding old style arrowtown which you can walk to. The host was friendly and very informaive. Not far from Queenstown and Coronet Peak. Well worth staying here instead of Queenstown.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments it is always really appreciated. Regards,

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Settlers Cottage Motel provided a perfect base to explore the gorgeous colours of Autumn in Arrowtown. The motel is really in keeping with the style of the town and the room whilst a bit worn around the edges is clean and comfortable and we loved it! We arrived a bit early to a closed reception but a nice note pointing us in the right direction meant we could ditch our bags and make the most of our day. We then checked in with Pete later who was really friendly and interesting to talk to. Having researched extensively before booking it seems like this motel is the best value in Arrowtown, yes you can pay 3 times the amount for " a boutique hotel/b&b" but just save your money and stay here for an authentic boutique experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Pretty old worldly cottages. Very nice setting. Would be beautiful in the summer to sit outside under the whisteria. An easy walk to town. Plenty of room in the one bedroom units. Studios quite adequate though. Limited cooking but okay for breakfasts.

Room Tip: Studios adequate. One bedrooms units quite roomy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin_the_organist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobejohn, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your great commenst they are appreciated..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

As a regular visitor to NZ on business, I always make a point of staying with Pete & Michelle, I love the cottages and friendly atmosphere, there is something about sitting on the veranda under the Wisteria and lavender bush's with a bowl of Pete’s home-made Pumpkin soup, overlooking the the beautiful cottage gardens. I always look forward to coming back.. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthebeachat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thanks Col for once again taking the time to put something on Trip Advisor, it is always a pleasure to have you stay, maybe i should learn how to make a different style of soup.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Very cute cottage. Very roomy. Felt a bit musty. Could do with an upgrade of some items ...bedding....pillows etc. The kettle had clumps of mineral build up. Crt TV also had fuzzy reception. Owner was lovely. A little more love and attention to detail these cottages would be great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderWoman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments, It is always difficult when people want to pay a three to four star rate for a motel but want 5 star accommodation, which of course is impossible to do as an operator..

The white stuff in the kettle you talk about is lime, once the kettle is boiled the lime can calcify, it is a problem all over Arrowtown, we put Citric acid in the kettle but as soon as the next jug is boiled it is back again. It does NOT hurt you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights recently and had a superb stay. In February we had stayed at the Rees in Queenstown for almost 3 times as much and in my opinion this place is much better. Next time we come to Arrowtown we will stay here.
It is about 100 metres to the main street, so location is everything. We were very comfortable, the location is very quiet, we had a sitting room and a bedroom and never heard our neighbours..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: $102 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing