We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We booked a great house (River Cottage) in Blenheim at Christmas time 2011 , but this year we had a terrible experience, with Settlers Cottage, in Arrowtown.

We booked 4 nights, but after inspection of the interior (bad bathrooms, small living area and garden fronting onto busy road) we were not satisfied.
We tried to negotiate a 2 night stay as a compromise , but this came to naught, and after a very unpleasant conversation with the owner, we moved onto better accommodation.
After not so much as enjoying a cup of tea at the cottage, the full account was deducted off my credit card = $880 Gratis!
We have subsequently been refunded for the one 1 bedroom rate of $150 (as a night was sold at this rate), but that is all.
I realise there are cancellation policies in place, but we were not satisfied with the accommodation, surely the money cannot just be 'taken?'
We are now taking the matter up with the Disputes Tribunal.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank andrewjoemakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Mr Andrew Joe Makin lost his court case on Feb the 21st, his "Litany of Lies" about Settlers Cottage being on a noisy road and small bathrooms were all dismissed. BEWARE Mr Maikin just wants your Bacon!!!!

Technically speaking he should not be able to make a comment becuase he did not stay here!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Settlers Cottage Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This motel is in a fabulous location just a stroll from the main shops. Spacious room which was pretty well equipped. Decor a little much for my tastes but does add to the whole Arrowtown experience. The gardens are very pretty and really added to my enjoyment. Stand out feature was the great service, owner helped us with the laundry and even offered to hang our washing so could get out and enjoy the area. I really felt that they were willing to go above and beyond.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgtnresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The difference between a house & a home is LOVE
The difference between other motels and Settlers Cottage Motel is LOVE.
The 2 bedroom cottage we stayed in was just perfect.
Period Style with modern conveniences.
Comfortable.
Very Clean.
Lots of hot water.
Very comfortable beds.
Spacious.
The best VALUE for your money.
The best SERVICE (EVER) from both Michelle & Pete.
And a BEAUTIFUL PLACE to be.
My rating for this cottage & the motel would be no less than "ABSOLUTELY THE BEST" I would prefer to stay at Settlers Cottage Motel anytime than any famous hotel anywhere in the world.
Congratulations Michelle & Pete
ps. if there is ever a competition you are entering in for the best Motel, let me know and I will put in my vote.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a two bedroom unit here in March 2012 for 4 nights - spotlessly clean, wonderful setting and sweet vintage style . Pete and Michelle were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Just 5 minutes stroll into Arrowtown centre, and surrounded by mountains - perfect! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judetrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We and our friends have stayed here three times, most recently for 8 nights, and wouldn't hesitate to return when next in Arrowtown. We feel very much at home at Settlers. It has a lovely personal feel, is quiet and comfortable, within easy walking distance of the town, and Pete and Michelle couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moyna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at the Arrowtown Settlers Cottages in February on two occassions. Good spacious cottages, very clean, comfortable beds, good bathrooms. Fabulous location, only a 5 minute walk to the village. Great hospitality from a lovely family. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

What a place, everything it said it was and more!
In a area famous for extremes this is THE place to stay; extremely relaxing, extremely peaceful, extremely quite, extremely charming; look no further!
We have stayed several times and just keep coming back; it's the perfect home-from-home to balance out a hectic day, or grab a few calming hours before hitting the lights. It's a brilliant place to chill out, put your feet up, collect your thoughts, do a bit of planning or do nothing at all! You can pop in for a quick yarn with Pete or Michelle to glen a few local tips on what to do next. We're from a large city, this is why we love it, all we can say is; just keep doing what you're doing guys, don't change anything.

Room Tip: The front town side double room is great for a family.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodger_dodger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrowtown
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
7.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 57 in Queenstown
631 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Arrowtown Lodge
Arrowtown Lodge
#4 of 12 in Arrowtown
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: $102 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing