We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Cottage Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Friendly welcome at an upmarket motel. Lots of space in our suite, and well equipped. Comfortable and relaxing.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Difficult one to review as it gets so many good reviews which we do not feel are entirely justified. Cleanliness is not an issue but we found the rooms to be rather drab and in need of some updating. Kitchen area is very small as stated elsewhere and despite the fact that it was February we would have like some heat (storage heaters are not real suitable for some instant short term heat!). Location is excellent. Wifi is available at a cost and we will always vote down properties that do not provide free wifi these days as we find it so necessary.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

I belive when you write a review you should be totally honest so one of needs to be, there were really two problems that upset you and I will address those, the rest is just reacationary fabrications. Read " Delightful property with Character" they stayed in the same cottage only a couple of months before you

Yes the Wifi upset you, (husband) that was abundantly clear by your reaction that is cost $3 even though I told you where it was available for free.

Then the next morning ( wife ) you called the office at 6 AM (woke up my kids) to ask how to get an outside line, when I said it was written in the compendium and that did you know it was 6 AM your answer was England was 13 hours time difference and slammed the phone down in my ear.

After that there was no making either of you happy even though I tried.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Arrowtown had been recommended by a friend as the place to stay rather than Queenstown. When we got there we realized why as it is very pretty, and much quieter and quainter than Queenstown. Don't misunderstand me, Queenstown is beautiful (though modern) and in the most spectacular location ever, but being retired we found the peacefulness of Arrowtown more appealing. We found Settlers quite by chance and were thrilled that we did. Lovely hosts, who were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Four of us shared the two-bedroomed cottage which was delightful and so spacious after the campervan we had shared in the North Island! Very well equipped, with comfy beds. In fact, everything we needed including a laundry. The advantage of having a separate loo was much appreciated. It is also situated a short walk from the centre of Arrowtown, which should not be missed, including a visit to the Chinese settlement and the Museum. All comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rosamund G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments, we work hard at keeping everything authentic and the whole cottage theme and really appreciate those people who stay and enjoy the cottages and of course Arrowtown. Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Not only is Arrowtown a beautiful place to stay (much nicer than Queenstown) this is a little gem.
The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and can point you in the right direction for pretty much anything - the hosts are locals.
The rooms are spacious and well equiped (there is a seperate laundry room) though you could argue they need a bit of updating in decor terms but that is also part of the charm.
Off street parking and friendly dog and cat too.
There is every possibilty we will be back next year and will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bluetax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We found Settlers Cottage Motel on the internet and were looking forward to staying here. We were not disappointed. Our 2 bedroom cottage had plenty of room for our family with comfortable furniture and warm and comfortable beds. It even had a separate toilet from the bathroom. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a meal. My kids loved the trampoline and rock wall to climb. They also loved borrowing the gold pans and going gold panning - and yes they found specks of gold! The location is a quick walk into town and the many beautiful restaurants Arrowtown has to offer. The owners are lovely and friendly and gave us a great recommendation to visit Pesto Restaurant in Arrowtown. We loved Arrowtown and we loved staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scjr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

From the website, I thought Settlers Cottage looked cute, but when we got there, cute is an understatement. I felt like I was transported to a different place. It's such a beautiful cottage! Everything is clean, well equipped, very spacious and the facilities are all handy. We had an amazing time here. Keep it up!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you for your comments, we have spent a lot of time making sure our web site truely shows Settlers Cottage as it really is, and we hear a lot that although our web site is great, the end product is so much better. Once agin thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Lovely presentation from exterior which is carried through interior. Clean, well located, within 5 mins of main street . Has well equipped kitchen & furnishing touches adding to the charm of the exterior plus laundry facilities available at reasonable cost. Owner, Pete an expatriate Aussi was on hand with advice on restaurants & quick to sort out our ignorance on T.V. setup.Arrowtown has been our town of choice on 2 visits in recent years, in lieu of Disney like Queenstown only 15 mins drive away.We extended our 2 nights to 3 on this visit & thoroughly commend Settlers Cottage Motel. Among the top lodgings of 15 used during our travels in November . Spend a dollar at The Stables Restaurant for a memorable meal of quality & a little less at Willow Restaurant next to tavern on street below main street.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deucenz, Owner at Settlers Cottage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

I am so pleased to see your comments and as you are regular contributor to Trip Advisor, this makes your positive comments mean even more. We work hard at keeping everything upto a good level for our guests and having Arrowtown and the surrounding mountains etc as our backyard does make it all that much easier, hope to see you back again soon.

Pete and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#3 of 12 in Arrowtown
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arrowfield Apartments
Arrowfield Apartments
#1 of 12 in Arrowtown
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Cottage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Cottage Motel

Address: 22 Hertford Street, Arrowtown 9302, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range: $104 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Settlers Cottage Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst a 1/2 acre of beautiful cottage gardens, the cottages all have an "Old World Charm" but with all the modern amenities you would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Settlers Cottage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing