We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Villa
Ranked #6 of 11 Arrowtown B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed here 1 night with friends and booked both their rooms. June and Archie are the perfect hosts, they invite you in for a drink and homemade biscuits. The rooms are perfect, full of character. The location is ideal - just minutes walk into the village. June's special breakfast is just that - full of homemade produce, more than anyone could eat. We would thoroughly recommend this and hope to return. Pauline & Dave, North Yorks

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yorkstravellers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

June and Archie are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome the moment your foot is in the door. You are met with home baking and a nice hot drink and friendly chat.
The rooms are just perfect for your every need. June and Archie are more than happy for you to join them at any time or do your own thing with no pressure, however we would recommend you to join them as they are a great couple with a great a sense of humour and full of local information.
We had a fabulous stay with them and hope one day to return without any hesitation.
Julie and Val
Norfolk
UK

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandVEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

The Old Villa in Arrowtown truely is a homestay with capital letters! June and Arch have built a fantastic home, decorated it in a tasteful and most thoughtful way and are fantastic hosts. We only had 2 nights at this wonderful B&B but will certainly be back somewhere in the near future.
The breakfast is delicious and offers many home-made products. The table is laden with food and choices have to be made as one's stomach is limited in capacity.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saturn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed here for two nights with some friends, and would rate it as one of the best B&Bs we have ever used. The two guest rooms are immediately inside the front door, giving a feeling of privacy as you don’t need to walk through the house to get to your room, but having said that, the hosts June and Arch Flint are really welcoming. We were greeted with a pot of tea and cakes when we arrived, and later in the evening we were invited to join them in their living room for a beer and a chat. This wasn’t some formal courtesy – we got the clear impression that they really enjoyed talking to their guests and treating them as friends.

Both rooms were delightful. They were large, very comfortable and full of little homely touches. June had gone well beyond the call of duty in trying to make the rooms as welcoming and attractive as possible. Our en suite bathroom was down a couple of steps and was also large. Breakfasts were excellent, with home grown and home made food, and when June learned that our next accommodation was to be self catering, we were sent on our way with a jar of home made pickle to liven up our lunches.

At $140 a night per room, this was excellent value. If you are going to Arrowtown or Queenstown, forget the posh hotels and stay here – you’ll love it.

  • Liked — Friendliness, comfort, location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_and_T_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We were thrilled to stay 2 nights with Arch and June in their lovely B&B. These 2 hosts are the best I've ever experienced. Homemade shortbread and chocolates were waiting in our antique furnished rooms. Incredible breakfasts were provided, as well as evening cocktails and snacks. June even assisted me with a load of laundry. While we were staying there, a couple who had stayed at the Old Villa 4 years prior stopped by to see them. June brought out the tea and cookies for these guests from 4 years earlier. As we said goodbye, I felt that I'd made new "kiwi" friends.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

Great location, views of mountains, and a 2 min walk into old quaint Arrowtown, 15 min drive to Queenstown, and closer than Queenstown for activities as Shotover jet boat, and the Hackett bridge bungy.
Two rooms, we were upgraded to the pretty one, lots of nice touches, fresh flowers in room, chocolates, white towels beautifully presented in basket on bed, and changed each day. Our room had a small area off it, which contained a fridge and coffee and tea making facilities which we used. When we arrived at the Old Villa we were welcomed by our host with tea/coffee and homemade cake in the garden. Our room also had a private outside sitting area with chairs and small garden. Check out photos on Charming bed and breakfast New Zealand site, it really is a gem.

Helpful?
3 Thank bofcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arrowtown hotels
0.2 mi away
Arrowtown House Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
New Orleans Hotel
New Orleans Hotel
#5 of 5 in Arrowtown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arrow Private Hotel
The Arrow Private Hotel
#1 of 11 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arrowtown Motel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Shades of Arrowtown
Shades of Arrowtown
#2 of 11 in Arrowtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Villa

Property: The Old Villa
Address: 13 Anglesea Street, Arrowtown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Arrowtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Arrowtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Old Villa 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing