We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada do Rio Mutum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed in the Pousada with my 6 year old son this July and I would like to give this place my highest recommendation since it is a fantastic place with great value for the money.
While staying in a lodge at the Pantanal is not a cheap vacation, I realy can say that the stay in Rio Mutum was worth every dollar I paid... The staff is fantastic and really make an effort to make your stay great. The on-site manager Alder is very nice and helpful, and made sure that I have enough meal options since I am vegetarian. The guide Judy was fantastic and very knowledgeable. The activities were great and we really did not have much free time at the lodge because there were activities all of the time. There were at least two activities a day and at one certain day there were even 4 activities.
This place is perfect for families and children since they are really nice to children here, and it is a safe and organized place (with helmet for horse ride and lifeguard vest for boat trips). While this place is relatively close to Cuiaba (only two hours) and there may be lodges more in the heart of the Pantanal, we were able to see lots of wildlife and almost all the animals we hoped to see. We saw lots of Caimans, Capybaras, birds, and several types of monkeys. We also saw giant otters, several types of Macaws, toucans, giant anteater, coati, and much more.
The guide and staff really make the effort for you to see the wildlife. This place is also great if you just want to relax, eat good food, and stay in the pool.
Client satisfaction is very important for these guys, for example, we were supposed to be picked-up back to Cuiaba at 11:00 AM. But since we and the other couple that were supposed to return with us to Cuiaba wanted to leave as late as possible, they let us stay 3-4 hours more and we were invited to have lunch at no charge.
The rooms at the lodge are very clean and comfortable, and the prices of drinks are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMutum, Director of Sales at Pousada do Rio Mutum, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi!.
It is very nice to know that you had a good time with us in Pantanal.
Thank you for your nice review of the Pousada Rio Mutum. Our team appreciates it!

Thank you!
Mutum team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 379 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Pousada do Rio Mutum. The staff were fantastic – our guide was a lovely, gentle Colombian called Raúl.

The food was an excellent buffet (I bet he [the man who does the cooking] gets lots of offers of marriage, said my beloved, worryingly for me!).

The beds were comfortable and the rooms – in units of two or three, spread out in the grounds – were spacious, light, and colourful, with very comfortable beds.

We were there early in the dry season – the waters were still receding, and the ground was wet; and it rained the night we arrived (and had rained previously). We stayed four nights, and went on several boat trips up and down the caiman-filled rivers Mutum and Cuiabá; we walked with Raúl, who pointed out and named the birds and animals for us.

In the lodge grounds I saw a Brazilian porcupine. An anaconda, and a pair of large, tree climbing iguanas.

There were so many birds – storks, several different species of heron, egrets (I’ve had a few – many snowy and great white egrets, but cattle and others too), a huge jabiru (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jabiru) which strutted around, too sexy for its shirt, with its wings outspread (to dry), cardinals (various species including red-beaked ones, which came and fed on scraps at the lodge - comfy chair anyone?), noisy, quarrelsome chaco chacalakas which roamed the lodge … We saw various hawks and many cormorants and black headed vultures. Quarrelsome Chaco chacalaka roamed the lodge grounds – Raúl counted over 10 species of birds at the feeder by the restaurant on the one occasion when he counted. The river is named after the bare faced Curassow – called in Portugues Mutum, onomatopoeically, as that’s approximately the sound it makes. We saw purplish jay, dramatically pink roseate spoonbill, nightjars (on a night walk – so confident in their camouflage they let you walk right up to them). We saw an Ani (Annie's song?) and lots of terns (tern, tern, tern).

The animals grazing the field near the lodge like miniature cattle were capybara – we saw some with birds perched on their backs – one, in the reeds, had both a Jacana and a snowy egret on its back.

We went on a horse ride – my beloved, who is usually rather nervous of horses, found hers completely unfrightening; and I found mine extremely responsive to commands, doing exactly what I asked it to, rather than just following the others. We did a night safari, and saw a giant anteater and a nine-banded armadillo.

If you go (do go if you get the chance!), don’t forget to take binoculars, and think about taking a long telephoto lens for your camera – we wanted to photograph the birds, but couldn’t really get in close with our little camera. (Sadly, we lost the memory card from our camera after leaving here, and before returning home and saving the pictures to a computer.)

The wifi was only available in and near the lounge map room and reception area, and it didn’t always work – but what do you expect so far from the nearest town?

We loved it there, and would go again like a shot if we had an opportunity. It would be really interesting to go again in the wet season – the high water mark was about three metres above ground level in many places, so many of the places where we walked would have been underwater.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petermbenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMutum, Director of Sales at Pousada do Rio Mutum, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review.
It is pleasant for us to have a guest that really enjoys Pantanal ( and understands it) as much as we do and to know that our team help you to enjoy your stay is gratifying. Thank you!
Hoping to see you again !

Tchau!
Mutum Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Rio Mutum is not our kind of place. For starters the room was depressing. It’s big enough but it only has some cheap cast-off furniture and a banged up mini-fridge. It was also a bit dirty with smashed bugs on the wall. I saw another trip advisor review also complaining about smashed bugs on the walls. How hard is it to wipe down your walls? The lodge has a large man-made footprint with well-manicured lawns and lots of stone walking paths connecting the cottages, pool area and other buildings. It seems instead of embracing nature they are trying to keep it at bay. There are even a few plastic animal statues dotted around the property, which seems strange. The library doesn’t have any books on the local flora and fauna but it does have 2 TVs and plenty of junk fiction. This lodge is probably perfect for some people including families with small children, but for experienced wildlife-focused travellers like us, I would not recommend it. On a positive note, the food was very good and the staff was very friendly. And once you are on a boat on the river and away from the lodge it is a very beautiful area with a great abundance of birdlife and other animals including capybara and caiman.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMutum, Director of Sales at Pousada do Rio Mutum, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

We are very sorry for some of your discontentment. We appreciate your input.
Just I would like to give you some of our back ground: Our lodge was builded on an old farm land and with grazing areas and open fields... and we use stones pathways to make sure especially at night, our guests will not step on dangerous animals, like snakes. It is easier to spot it in an stone path way as it would be on dirty soil. Every year, we have times of intensive rain and flooding as Pantanal ecosystem is in a constant change... we need be able to get to our rooms without stepping in the mud created at that time.
We have specialized Fauna and Flora books of Pantanal and birds of Brazil and it is not in the open library as those books went missing many times in the past. It is in our office and it is giving to guest up on request. I am sorry if that information was not giving to you. I will check on it and We will work to improve our communication to our guests.

We are happy to know that you enjoy your tours and our beautiful area with Pantanal Fauna e Flora.

Please, if you would like, I will be happy to talk to you personally, as a family business we look always for ways to improve and get better on our hospitality.
operacional@pousadamutum.com.br ATT: to Estephania Reese

Thank you
Mutum team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the Pousada do Rio Mutum for two nights and must say that the quality of the accommodations and service were nothing less than superb. I was picked up promptly in Cuiabá by their driver and a personal guide. My guide Carlo was extremely courteous and professional explaining the natural and local history of the Pantanal and of Mato Grosso. The staff at PDRM were extremely professional and helpful and genuinely interested in ensuring an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianJTremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 wonderful days with our two small boys aged 4 and 6. We had some worries before we arrived re the mossies and activities but it is the highlight of our 5 week trip. Its far removed from a European world and wild (capybara are lovely to see around the site and its totally different) but Elder and his team are fabulous. Our room was very clean - we hit mossie low season and had 5 bites between the 4 of us in total. Just our guide was caring, very knowledgeable, completely attentive but not intrusive and very accommodating to us and our young boys . Nico, our main boat driver/fisherman, was great - we canoed, watched sunrise, rode horses and fished for Pirahna and fed the tiddlers to the cayman back at the pousada. All was wonderful - no small feat with 2 little boys and lots of water. Food was consistently great, plentiful and varied - thanks Eduardo - and Elder runs a delightfully tight ship for the whole pousada. Pool was heavenly after the early starts. Wouldn't have missed it for the world. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi-Gris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Pros of Pousada Do Rio Rutum:
+ The location. Absolutely stunning with capybara, jiburu storks and caymen found all about the resort.
+ The staff. Elder, the manager, was so kind. When discovering it was our honeymoon he put champagne in our room. Flavio our guide was fantastic with eyes like a hawk, making our excursions amazing and we even sat down together to watch England v Brazil on the TV.
+ The pool is nice and warm to relax in.
+ The beds were really comfortable and large with a clean and well maintained bathroom.
+ The food on offer was plentiful and varied.

Negatives of Pousada Do Rio Mutum:
- They had just installed a new wireless router but were having teething problems. However we were allowed to use their laptop in Reception.
- The rooms could perhaps have a little wipe-down with a sponge between guests, just to get rid of some of the squashed mosquitos.

The Pantanal: We visited in the wet season which makes spotting larger mammals trickier but it was still fantastic as we went horseback trekking, canoeing and motor boating around the water. We saw rare tree-dwelling anteaters, blue and yellow macaws, capybara, iguana, a huge variety of birds, caymen lurking on banks and in the water as well as howler monkeys swinging from tree to tree and so many other creatures.

Would we recommend to friends: Without a doubt.

Room Tip: To lessen the chance of mosquitos at night have the aircon and fan both on. It will get quite chilly in the early hours but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We travelled to Rio do Mutum with a 3year old and it was both a relaxed and adventurous experience. The travel pack with information about Mutum was clear and helped us to prepare our little girl for the trip. The hospitality was excellent, catering was broad enough to cater for adults and children (we weren't the only guests travelling with children). The guides were very flexible to our interests and needs - at the same time they encouraged us to make the most of the time.

The best part is the pantanal itself! Flora and fauna was awesome! Piraña fishing, cayman, literally 10000s of birds, monkeys, night safaris, boat safaris, horseback safaris.....the memories of this lodge are unforgettable.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada do Rio Mutum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Rio Mutum

Address: Rodovia Mimoso-Capoeirinha Km 15 | Pantanal Norte, Barao de Melgaco, State of Mato Grosso 78190-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso > Barao de Melgaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barao de Melgaco
Price Range: $229 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Rio Mutum 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your time in this charming lodge where friendly staff insures your stay is a very special andu nique experience. Twenty two rooms interspersed in a natural Garden setting provide both privacy and confort. All rooms are air-conditioned and have private porches, bathrooms and mini-bars. The Pousada’s facilities include a restaurant with a wide choice of regional dishes, swimming pool with bar, hot tub, Reading room and TV salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada do Rio Mutum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Rio Mutum Hotel Barao De Melgaco
Pousada Do Rio Mutum Brazil/Barao De Melgaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing