We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Wedding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Rio Hato B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We are from Panama, but live in Toronto. We celebrated my daughter's wedding at Hato Viejo the past December. Everything was perfect: the staff was very friendly and attentive, always ready to accommodate our needs and special menu. The cleanliness and decoration of the rooms and facilities are perfect. The peaceful natural surroundings made the wedding even more memorable. We booked the entire resort for the event (100 guests) as we wanted a cozy and natural place away from noisy and crowded resorts. The next morning the continental breakfast was equally nice. Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toropana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent a week at the Hato Viejo hotel through an Interval Exchange. This hotel is so beautiful with peaceful grounds. The pool and surrounding area is amazing. We sat under one of the thatched roof balconies near the pool while torrential rains fell. It was just wonderful. This resort has been developed with first class materials inside and all around. Everything about it has been done very, very well. The restaurant is excellent, well-priced and way too much food to eat! We took day trips to various areas in Panama. The only note would be to understand where this is located. Though it is about 20 minutes from beaches, it is not on the beach or in any resort type of areas. It is in a peaceful agricultural community. It is two hours from Panama City, within 10-15 minutes from good grocery shopping. This is a great hotel for relaxing, seeing some of the real Panama Communities. The staff were all amazing. They spoke excellent English. The staff were helpful beyond expectation! The photos do not do it justice.

Room Tip: The location is great for travelers planning around it. If you are spending time around a pool, rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lk1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a new resort located in the cocle' region of Anton Panama. it is a 2 hr. drive from Panama City Panama. The employees are one of the best things about it.. They are ever so cheerful & ready to help in any way possible. There is a very nice restaurant on the premises with an enticing menu. The rooms are of a tropical decor that matches the area and the beds are quite comfy & roomy. living room, kitchen well appointed with front porch with table & chairs. The rooms are all situated around a huge Thatched roof Tiki Hut with bar & big screen flat t.v. Right by the waterfall pool. Also by the pool is a huge thatched roof lounging area. The first day of arrival we rode the horses around the Botanical gardens and organic gardens used for the restaurant. Crossing the stream we encountered an area used for sugar cane juicing. There also is a small habitat of tropical animals & parrots. The resort is about 20 minutes to Santa Clara beach, a great place for lazing in the hammocks, horse ride beachside & a large tiki bar restaurant. We enjoyed the clean beaches. The fishermen live there by the beach & tidy up their nets. Also a must drive is to Anton LaValley. the volcano town.. The only item missing from the resort is a Hot tub which I'm sure one day they will include..

Room Tip: The poolside view also has the pasture view of the horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JkBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant On
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

In February of this year we had a two week vacation in Panama. We thoroughly enjoyed the culture , the history and the food. The highlight of our trip was spending a day touring the magnificent new resort of Hato Viejo Boutique Resort. What a wonderful concept to connect people to rural living at a farm type resort interacting with animals ,nature and at the same time enjoying the luxuries of a high end resort. Exquisite Villas tastefully decorated and a beautiful pool. All food served from the restaurant is organically grown on the property. We were especially impressed by the personalized attention received by staff Genevieve and Olga in membership services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My experience at Hato Viejo Boutique Resort was wonderful, I went with my husband and 3 year old daughter for the weekend. The rooms are amazing and very spacious, the pool is amazing, for children and adults. The staff is very great, delicious food. The have horses, and also my daughter was able to interact with different animals, cows, donkeys, ducks, and all kinds of farm animals. I recommend the hotel. I'm sure I will return.

Room Tip: All rooms have different decorations, all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Hato
9.7 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
4.4 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
Villa Botero By Casa Mojito
#1 of 2 in Santa Clara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel

Property: Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Panamericana, | Kilometro 125, Rio Hato 0213, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Hato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hato Viejo Boutique Resort has restaurants, bars, 6 Suites, 8 junior Suites, gym, pool, putting green, tennis courts and more. Located in Anton, Cocle Province, in an agricultural farm of 420 acres of land, will offer you an unforgettable experience, surrounded by lush vegetation and many activities that this province, rich in folk traditions, will offer the visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel Panama/Rio Hato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing