We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you expect from a mountain lunch”
Review of Casa Cofino

Casa Cofino
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Caviedes
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

We went to this place recomended by some friends to eat cocico montanes and discovered that was much more than this.

The town where the restaurant is was idilic. The restaurant itself very nice, rustic but decorated with charm, very cosy. The staff nice and helpful.

For the food, i must say im not a big fan of cocido montanes compared to other region ones, but was very nice. We also tastes sole callos (tripe), solomillo ( sirloin steak), and escalope ( cotoletta milanese) and everything was awesome. Super good quality of the prime materials and nicely prepared and served.

Also good wine menu. They have a nice bodega, keeping the wine at perfect temperature under the stones of the house . We deunk a very nice montsamt wine.

For dessert, cheesecake, just womderful. Homemade, lovely.

Certainly if again in the area will go back

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank DiegoF682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 633 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2016

Typical northern spanish dishes and a superb selection of wines. The restaurant is located in the heart of a rural environment and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. Great value for money.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank josemI9730MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

The place is like a typical cantabria big house. All in stone. Food was great. Fried calamari were excellent and meet with cheese sauce super nice. I really recommend to end the meal with the homemade cheese cake!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014

A local friend of many years Sergio Diego from Torrelavega introduced me to the place. The Restaurant is a family concern with the mother in the kitchen (mama is a great cook). Mostly homecooked meals, excellent wines and a friendly countryside atmosphere, which is
hard to find in cities. Everything I have had there has been excellent and I highly recommend the restaurant. I would however suggest you book a table as it is very popular with the locals.
Probably the best Cocido Montañes I've ever had. And the kidgoat is spectacular. It has a counter where you buy some of the many exquisite products of Cantabria.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank incawarrior2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

If you are looking for tasting the real Cantabria food, Cofino is the best place. The food is simple but prepared with best quality ingredients. The prices are very civilised. Best at Cofino is the wine celler. Ask for the wine celler menu, and be amazed of the amount of wine that Cofino can offer. If you are not looking to spend a lot of money in wine, the local wine is good and the Ribera del Duero has a good and afordable price when you chose the one presented in the normal menu.
At Cofino you will sit together with paesants, families and famous artists and journalist. You will not meet a lot of tourist as this is a secret that spaniards tend to keep for themselves.
Try the cocido montanes, the albondigas and the cheese selection. And for desert, arroz con leche.
Make sure you can have a good siesta afterwards.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Felitas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Cofino also viewed

 
Cabezon de la Sal, Cantabria
Ruiloba, Cantabria
 

Been to Casa Cofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing