We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Motor Inn”
Review of Botany Motor Inn

Botany Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Botany Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Botany Downs
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I have stayed at backpackers that have a much higher level of cleanliness than this motor inn. I was hugely disappointed with the general lack of hygiene - not what I would expect when room prices start at $140 per night!!! What were we paying for, obviously not for the room to be cleaned after whoever had stayed there before us. Also I would not expect to have so many ants all throughout the kitchen when I'm paying $140+ per night for accommodation - if the owners/staff did not want to get an exterminator in, they could have at least left a bottle of bug spray somewhere in the room. When we spoke to the hotel staff about the lack of cleanliness they were rude & unhelpful. Overall a very disappointing stay, I would not recommend this motor inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalavantingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostess09, Owner at Botany Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

The guest who submitted the complaint 'Dirty Motor Inn' on 28 May, 2011 as 'Galavanting Around' appears to be one and the same guest who submitted an earlier complaint 'Worse motel ever' on 27 April, 2011 as 'Joe Somebody'.

On 5 April, 2011 this guest made a reservation online for three nights and submitted his credit card details to guarantee his reservation. He arrived from the USA on 25 April, 2011. It was late at night and the office had already closed. Arrangements had previously been made to leave the door to his unit unlocked .

Within a few hours of arriving, the guest left the premises with friends or relatives who lived nearby. The following morning, the guest completed the guest registration form. He indicated that he wished to pay in cash and not by Visa.

He subsequently advised the manager that he wanted to stay with his friends or relatives instead of staying at the business. The manager advised him that he would be charged in accordance with our cancellation policy. The guest claimed that his unit was dirty. The manager and the cleaning staff inspected the unit however they found nothing to support his claim.

On his return to the USA, the guest contacted his bank and advised them that his card had been used without his authority and he requested that the charge for his accommodation should be reversed. The bank contacted us for our comments and requested copies of all documentation that supported the charge.
We submitted the guests registration form, invoice and terminal receipts.
The bank upheld the amount that we had charged.

As a result, the guest submitted complaints to TripAdvisor and he attached photographs to one of his complaints.

We have no way of knowing where or when the photographs were taken however the unit had been cleaned to a high standard prior to his arrival. It did not smell as the guest alleged. The sheets on the bed were new sheets. They had not been used by anyone else nor was there any hair on or between the sheets. We do not know if the guest found any ants but had he looked in the cupboard he would have found inspect spray.

We also dispute that the manager was rude or unhelpful.
Rather, it was the case that the guest did not like what the manager had to say.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

Well let see where do I start. We got in late due to traffic saw a note on the door saying go to room. No one even there to help out or even give us a key. When we got to our room I notice a weird smell which I dismissed do to rain that day. Then we started looking around and found ants all over the kitchen sink. I was like fine... it's a motel. Then after my shower I looked under the sheets to find Somebody else's hair in the sheets. I'm pretty fine with having ants but dirty sheets is a no go for me. Well anyways we left that night and when came back the next morning to inform then that we will not be staying there because of the dirty sheets and ants and of yeah the smell of the room the motel owner said that they would get nothing back and that I would have to pay for the full stay. Beware if to stay there. No helpful at all and it would have been fine if someone was there to check us in. I am not sleeping in someone's else's used sheets. If you stay here check for hair under your sheets

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joesomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostess09, Owner at Botany Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

See response to 'Dirty Motor Inn (May 28, 2011)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We have stayed a night at Botany Motor Inn, the place is an average motor inn. The owner was helpful and kind with us. The room is small and averagely furnished. I think it was a bit over priced -didn't get the quality what I was expected for the money we have paid.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed at the Botany Motor Inn with 2 colleagues for the purpose of a conference in the local Botany area. On arrival we found the female owner to be very pleasant and helpful, she assisted us with parking and told us about a few local attractions. Later on we were helpfully provided with more milk (as we had used it all) and assisted with using the wireless internet. The room was clean and had sufficient amenities. The only issue I had was being woken up a couple of times in the night due to traffic (as it is located on a busy road) but other than that it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheekyrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The amenities were average to okay and this would be fine if the lady (owner/operator) made you feel less like an inconvience than a person who pays her way.

She was most unhelpful and lacked knowledge when you asked her any questions. My husband helped another patron staying her with info on a rental car and we don't even live in NZ.

I won't be staying here again, and there are plenty of other motels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The facilities were average. Effectively, the room was large but not a warm environment and the single beds underneath the window were uncomfortable due to the draft coming through. It appeared to be clean.

The problem with this motor inn is the owner/operator. The woman woke us up early - we ignored as we were sleeping, came back half an hour later, opened the door which happened to be unlocked (due to the early morning departure of one of our party to go to the airport), she then peered through the window and came back yet again, accusing us of having an additional person staying which was entirely untrue and had been explained upon booking. We left at 1015am, 15 minutes after the ideal time frame at which time she accused us of having people coming and going...It's a motel!!!! This lady spoilt our stay through her complete lack of understanding of customer service. There were no electric blankets on the two single beds and small things like tissues were not included. The word officious springs to mind.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZKTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank L100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Botany Downs
2.8 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
47 reviews
3.7 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
93 reviews
4.1 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Botany Downs
39 reviews
207.9 mi away
Dannemora Motor Inn
Dannemora Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Flat Bush
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botany Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botany Motor Inn

Address: 29-31 Kellaway Drive | Botany Downs, Botany Downs, Auckland 2013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Botany Downs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Botany Downs
Price Range: $108 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botany Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Botany Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botany Motor Inn Botany Downs, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing