We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Horton Plains National Park
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveler rating
527
303
123
51
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
527
303
123
51
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world's end nuwara eliya horton plains bakers falls sri lanka sambar deer early morning cloud forest great walk tuk tuk amazing views long walk the loop early start water bottles walking shoes entry fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2014

First things first, this is not a National Park. It is a 9 km trek/hike across the forest area. The walk is amazing and tests your stamina. Good pair of sports shoes is essential due to the terrain. You get a small map of the area at the ticket counter. You will see Baker's Falls and World's End along the way. No doubt it is a nice adventure.

We left our hotel at 5:00 am and reached Horton Plains at 7:00 am. Make sure you pack food and lots of water. Though it is too early, we realized it was the best time because it was cold in the morning and the hike made us feel warm so we were not overly exhausted in the end.

I advise not to opt the trek as part of your itinerary if:
1. You are pregnant
2. Accompanied by infants or small kids
3. Cannot walk long distances
4. Have asthma or wheezing problems

Some portion of the walk is so narrow that you can keep just one foot at a time, so there is no other way to tread the path than to walk.

Other than the Wild Deer that you see while driving closer to the Horton Plains, we did not see any other animals. So, I don't know why this is named a national park.

Anyways, we wanted to trek and our wish was fulfilled.

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank soumyanayak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2014

It is really cold compare to the rest of Sri Lanka, so be prepared. (Raincoat, jacket, boots, etc)
1 hour to get there from Nuwara Eliya.
Regarding the HIke is a 9.5 km circuit that can be done in aprox. 2:30-3:30
They claim to have animals, but we didn't see them.
Best: World's End and Bakers Waterfalls.
Cons: Really high price compared to the rest of Sri Lanka (Obviously was only Rs60 for non foreigners)

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank EdiMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014

Incredible. Go early -6.30 worth every penny! Baker falls and mini worlds ends were extra perks too! Soo beautiful!! Take some breakfast to eat over looking the views! :-)

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Rbayliss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014

Horton Plain's is a nice/okay hike to do. But at what cost?

Many similar hikes are available all throughout Europe and North America with similar or much better panoramic views. However, the difference is that unlike Sri Lanka you won't have to spend around 35 euro to walk around outside in the open air.

Unfortunately Horton Plains is just another example of the perverse culture that exists all across Sri Lanka whereby as a local you pay 5 euro to get into this average park. As a despicable foreigner/perceived walking- ATM machine, you must pay 700% the cost.

Date of experience: August 2014
6  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

Park is very well planned, you just can't get lost. There is a 9km walk (from the parking) of which most is easy and plain. If you decide to take loop from the left side you will reach small world's end very fast and 10-15 minutes later big world's end. If you don't like any ascends you can just go back the same way. But I prefer to walk further to Baker's Fall. Sometimes road is getting more difficult, especially if close to the falls you will take left turn and. Then you can have a view in front of the fall but there is steep descend and ascend (only few meters). Later on you will reach the point which connects with the right arm of the loop. There you have another view for the falls. After that you have maybe 3 km back to the parking. Views are great, park is beautiful,especially when rhododendrones are flowering.

The only one bad thing is price. But the more people you get, the cheaper it will be. For 5 persons and a car we have paid 2418 rupees which is little less than 20$ for one person . And don't take the driver as a guide, you wasn't need him on a way.

Date of experience: September 2014
3  Thank Szilka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews