We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari Land in Sri Lanka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horton Plains National Park

Horton Plains National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Private Guided Hike to Kirigalpoththa Mountain via Horton Plains
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ohiya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Along with plenty of wildlife, a cliff known as World's End is a top attraction at this park.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Safari Land in Sri Lanka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

upon arriving the entrance of horton plains, we were welcomed with the AMAZING SUN RISE in the wee hour in the morning...

it was super cold coming from a equatorial country like Malaysia - Where i am from. Nevertheless, the trip was worth the early morning sun rise... it was one of the best i could ever remember.

The hike was pretty easy with the amazing views... a normal fitness level is required to hike through this piece of land.

Reminded me of a few places in New Zealand.

Not to brag but it is definitely worth it to visit and spend a longer time there.

Advise : do get in by sun rise since it will be blazing hot as the day goes by.

One of the amazing places i have ever been. Amazing Sri Lanka !

I took some pictures and you can see more of my personal experiences via a blog that i have done : http://pinparadise.blogspot.com/2014/03/sri-lanka.html

cheers,
Prana

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pran_na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    241
    90
    40
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
437 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Before even entering the gates of this national park, I saw a leopard roadside. And the fact is there are as many leopards here as in Yala. I saw a leopard at Yala for about 2 seconds in the early morning shadows, but at Horton Plains, it was roadside in the bright sun for about 2 seconds, much more satisfying.

Hiked the World's End Trail. Lots to see along the 9km loop. Not difficult to hike. Pleasant morning here. Recommended. Entrance fee for two plus a vehicle is about $40, but hey, I spent $200 at Yala and had a much better leopard sighting here, but dumb luck, but it's always lucky when you see this magnificent animal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWtraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
410 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The drive into the park is long and we had been told that fog rolls in at 9:30 Am. It actually started to roll in at 9:00 AM, but then some areas remained clear and we enjoyed our walk of about 1 1/2 hours. If we had more time, I have no doubt that we would have had a better experience. There are signs explaining some of the vegetation, but I think it is better to have a good local guide to explain more of what you see and experience here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's not only about Worlds end!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

So many travelers go here thinking this is only about worlds end track, but no! There are two tracks in the Horton planes. 99% of travelers take Worlds end path, but you must check the other one also- Kirigalpotta Track. Let me be honest it's not a easy climb. It is filled with beautiful scenic views but you have to cross jungles and little water spots filled with mud.

Heavy winds will make it hard but if you can make it up to top you would know that all the trouble you took worth for that view.

It will take around 3 hours to get in to top if you can maintain a good speed. Bring some food and lot of water with you.

Tips for foreigners - You will have to pay around Rs 2500 as ticket price and service charge. But if you have resident visa in Sri Lanka your ticket price will be Rs 60.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
445 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Average, unless you really get there on time......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Not to be stingy, but the entry fee is high and except for a very restricted route, you are not allowed to walk anywhere. Furthermore, unless you are at world' send by around 9 am or ideally even earlier, you can't see the view which is meant to be so wonderful - despite leaving the Hill Club at 6.20 we did not make it - as the clouds/mist started to cover the area. As for the waterfalls, well, if you have never seen one, why not, but they are not particularly impressive.
So much for the bad news. The walk actually was very nice, nature beautiful and we saw some wild life.
My tip would be to visit the Lipton's Seat instead (to be reviews shortly)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horton Plains National Park also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Uda Walawe National Park, Sri Lanka
 

Been to Horton Plains National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing