We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgetable night, I ever Spent..............” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of World's End Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ohiya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
World's End Lodge
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unforgetable night, I ever Spent..............”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I visited there, two years before... it has a fantastic view. Actually we were at Eagles nest side. Rooms and bathrooms are okay... Foods also okay...But in the night can't sleep well. Wind blowing and make lot of miserable noises. I was sleepless whole night. But had a good time. Lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saranga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Family trip to Worlds end lodge October 2012 was a quite a experience. Hotels panoramic view of the mountain range is unmatched. Natural spring pool is the best I have witnessed. Mini hike to Ohiya trail to "worlds end" is memorable. Of the negatives room quality is the worst. Root to hotel from main road was in a state of breaking down and land marks and directions were complex. Once or twice we lost the way. Our rooms were old and leaky ,floors were wet too. Room service was slow and incompetent. Hot water had troubles Although breakfast was surprisingly good.
Mountains view from pool was remarkable I would say.

Room Tip: Non I can recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anuruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avissawella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for a one night in mid December while our way back from Diytalawa. Weather during our stay was rainy & whole surrounding was covered by mist. But view was magnificent at times when mist disappeared.
We were given a room @ Eagle Nest, room was average. But in that evening, we had to spend without hot water supply as available central hot water supply was not capable of meeting the demand of all occupants in the building. On our demand staffed tried to fix the problem several times but without a success.
If management is interested,adding individual electric hot water units & tea & coffee making facilities to rooms would give them a very positive look.
Road to the facility is not good but still motorable without much hazels. Nuwan -a waiter cum maintenance guy tried hard for giving a good service.
Overall experience is average!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thilan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were skeptical when booking World's End Lodge but kept our expectations low, which turned out to be a good thing! The view is spectacular and it is worth a visit just for that! The rooms (we stayed at the Eagle's Nest) were clean but not clean enough: the beds were made but the sheets and blankets had spots on them; there was hot water but the bathroom leaked and didn't flush too well.

The staff was very obliging and brought our food to the special dining area which honestly had not seen a broom in about 3 months! Again the view is fabulous but if only someone made the effort to sweep and clean the carpets and dust the furniture, it would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishthi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

A stiff rough road after the initial carpetted road (with signs enroute encouraging you on) takes you to a location at nearly the top of the hill with breath taking views. Three types of accomodation is available of which we stayed at the "eagles view rock cabin"

It consists of 3 generous sized rooms with attached bath (with hotwater). A private dining room is shared, offers lovely ciews and has a fireplace, a working one at that. There are 2 terraces, one a lawn area with dining table ; great to have breakfast at, the second a cemented terrace with a cold water pool/jacuzzi and sitting, a great place to have afternoon tea. Both offer a breath taking vista.

The cabin came with a consierge/vallet. Very polite and always helpful. Tirelessly worked to make our stay memorable.

The food was very simple, but to me more delicious than the over priced unpalatable crap served at 4-5star hotels. The proof is that my 3 1/2 old son ate some of his meals on his own... else he is a character and a half to feed. And on one night we had a barbacue ala fireplace.

The whole family enjoyed the stay and we will deffinitely be back, and shall use it to entertain visiting overseas friends who want nothing but to sit back, and relax.

A deffinite go experience for yourself place!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PereraArjuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We saw World's End Lodge from an Ad in the newspaper and as most would do, we searched about the place in the internet... the reviews were quite bad but I told my hubby, let us find out on our own instead. We both are nature lovers so we set aside all the other factors and booked the place on a long weekend.

The drive was quite alright until the last few bumpy km's. But it really wasn't that bad. As per the reviews, we were expecting the worse but the people who have said about the horror of the bends and the steepness... guys! you really haven't seen much roads :) We have been to some very expensive bungalows up in the hills where the roads were much worse and talk about getting to Horton Plains or Riverston etc...

A very friendly butler received us and carried our bags up. To our surprise, the place was full of people, which is not something we both really like. In our phone conversation with Mr. Perera, he said the best view would be the old rooms but he also mentioned the new rooms were much comfortable... Well, we could always take nature over luxury.. and my my... we made the right choice. With the setting sun, the place looked like part of heaven, the cold breeze, music from the wind, the colorful sky, the calm surrounding... view of mountains to the furthest you could see...etc

Since, we stayed in an old room, the room wasn't that comfortable, it was old but clean. Water pressure in the shower was less. But we didn't mind those factors much as the sheets were clean, bed was alright enough for a good sleep. We didn't intend to stay in, watch TV and get room service... If anyone want this I would suggest to get a 5-7 star hotel instead.

The food was simply delicious, they had a variety of choices... I am not a Sri Lankan, so I was happy to see some continental food in every meal. At the same time I got to taste really good Sri Lankan food as well.

Staffs were friendly and helpful, welcoming and smiley. I have to mention about the perfect tea pot they have..!

The fresh water pool was very very cold and good for a swim after a good glace of wine although I am not really sure about the filtering mechanism they use...

If you are more of an adventurous person, you could even hike to the tallest waterfall in Sri Lanka (Bambarakanda Falls). Also, there is a hiking trail which would lead to a beautiful panoramic view with in just 20 minutes although we aware of the strong wind :)

So we drove back home from the trip, my hubby asked me to write a review about this place so that people like us can take a better informed decision. We are paying less than 30 dollars per day inclusive of everything, what more can someone ask and we kept on wondering why exactly were the people whining.

We are planning to go here again and this place would be our weekend get away whenever we can. Hope our review helps to at least some people out there trying to figure out what this place really is..! Cheers..! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AamyandBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place has a magnificent view, but its name really is misleading. Its in Ohiya, not near to worlds End. though the hotel has a gorgeous view the day i spend there was the terrible night ever in my life. Me and my husband are the only guests for that day. It was all lonely. They promised a room with cable TV and hot water. But at night light went off and we had to use freezing cold water and we stayed in dark all the night. The sound of wind blowing through mountains i spend the longest night of my life there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank prasandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ohiya hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohiya
0.0 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill Safari Eco Lodge Ohiya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World's End Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World's End Lodge

Property: World's End Lodge
Address: Pahala Ohiya, Haldummulla, Ohiya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ohiya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ohiya
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing