We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
109
90
29
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
90
29
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house ken river night safari panna national park the cottages treehouse restaurant boat ride dining area special mention pugdundee safaris in december excellent food tiger reserve natural beauty non veg great hospitality overlooking the river
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 247 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

Located near to Panna park alongside the river... excellent location..cottages are also located among the trees and quite far from each other...so very peaceful and wonderful stay as if in the jungle itself..The small little documentary which they show on the Panna national park is wo derful..All places if interest like Pandav falls is close to the resort.. Excellent food and wonderful staff too.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Appushal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019 via mobile

We had booked 3 nights for June end. The huts are surrounded by plenty of trees. In front of the dining place is the Ken river and the views from the dining place are excellent as is the boating on the river. They organise safaris with a naturalist. Our naturalist Parikshit was wonderful. Food was excellent. The huts had lots of space. A special word of thanks to all the staff and the manager Mr Rahul who made our stay enjoyable.
The lodge also organises night safaris in the buffer zone. The spotter Khalid possessed a special pair of eyes. Nothing escaped his eyes from a peacock hiding way above the trees to owls sitting hidden on a tree branch and jungle cats peeking from a bush.

There was only one glitch: the ac frequently tripped and one of us had to keep switching it on: not a very delightful prospect in the middle of the night. I am sure they will rectify this.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Moumita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

Stayed for 2 days 1 night there was 4 people 2nd night! we had the lodge to ourselves! Very attentive staff!manager was obliging! Rooms were nice !though the whole lodge was a bit tired ! Could have done with a link of paint!a little different to the pictures! That must have been some time ago! Food was ok! Safari were good we done 5 safaris we saw a tiger 5 mins on entering the park!we actually thought there wouldn't be much chance of seeing tigers!how wrong we were!we saw tigress twice also different rare antelope ! Mongoose lots of different birds!a very nice well run park though the tigers are collared which is for the reasons of monitoring to keep them safe!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank bartonjess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

We Landed in Ken River Lodge on a hot afternoon. The bookings were done through Pagdandee safaris. Pagdandee !! We always knew this as an unaffordable, five star, most adventurous Jungle tour provider. The deal we got was an off-season one... But still more than twice as expensive as any other stay in season time which includes beautiful other properties of Ranthambore, Pench, Kanha and Bandhavgarh. The dealing was smooth except the odd unanswered calls and slow reverts on emails, which is pretty much common with Jungle lodges for their poor connectivity issues.

We braced ourselves with a unforgettable Jungle experience, a mix of luxury, knowledge and adventure. The arrival was good, we were welcomed by lemonade and wet tissues. The property was good, typically Jungle resort type. Situated right in the banks of river Ken, it has a beautiful dining area which kind of hangs just above the river bank, the huts were excellent with huge beds (could accommodate a couple and child with ease) and everything well laid out. Although there was nothing better than the ones we had stayed in with half the prices, but hey.. it's not the cottages we paid the money for.

The property is huge, but not well developed, there is much more which could have been done... No sitting near the river also, no Riverside or middle of the river dinners, absolutely nothing to do when you are not on safari. Well I have had Riverside dinners, dances, projector playing documentaries, pools, nature walks, night walks, village tours, bird watching and a lot more in ...well below half the price we paid here. We did go on a boat ride to a river island and did try some angling... But it was separately charged.

The food was disappointing. Single non-veg dish, some vegetables and a sweet, No buffet and no variety. They virtually had to learn about our taste and eating habits but the holiday was over by the time they did.

Room service was ok. 50% times there was no call pickup on the number, once they did it was prompt.

There was no Naturalist around, to tell us about the local flora and fauna. There was no naturalist on the safaris too. Although the drivers sent were quite knowledgeable but you had to ask them for any info needed... There was no effort from their side. We had imagined that a pro would escort us. Well another disappointment there. Although the owner of the lodge was kind enough to give us a gypsy to see a kill made by the leopard that night in the property itself. Now that was some kicking adventure.

The safaris were a nightmare, both night and morning ones, although we saw a good number of animals including Leopards, the unprofessional attitude and drab nature of guides and drivers were a big turn off. One One driver named Khalid made good efforts, he really took pains to show us animails in the night safari... He was not there in the morning. His stories seem to be untrue... But to hell with the truth when one can make some adventure out of them ...plus he put in some great effort and made us spot a leopard in the buffer zone too... He did try for tigers but ..in vain. Get this guy if you go to the lodge.. tip him good ...he is worth it.

I enjoy the Jungle, no matter how it is. The stay at Ken river lodge was good. But nowhere near our expectations and certainly far from justification of the price paid. I haven't been to other places in Panna. I will definitely return to Panna, but I don't think will spend a fortune to stay with Pugdandee.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank rajdeepsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

I visited this place in April 2019. The place is on the banks of Ken River and is well put together. The service is great. The food was sumptuous. The only issue is that one gets the feeling that the place needs some investment. Some of the fixtures need replacing. All in all, if one needs a place to stay in Panna, this is probably best candidate.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vavasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews