We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience but costly”
Review of Ken River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ken River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Very good location. Natural beauty, river side, deep forest. Staff is good. Rooms are soso. Food is good. It's nice to sit in river side dining in the evening. Best part is jungle safari. It's awesome experience I ever had. Very friendly and cooperative guides. Wish to come again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahul289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

This lodge could be so good as it is in an ideal location yet it is spoilt by poor management such that the rooms are dirty and the bath rooms very third world. Hot water is almost non existent yet you will be told it is only a matter of patience leaving the tap running. Get used to cold water!

Smartened up and more importantly cleaned up this place could be wonderful.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's beautifully located at the banks of river Ken with tree house restaurant and lodgings in the jungle. Lovely people lovely food lovely place , worth for your hard earned money.
must visit for rejuvenation under the lap of nature.

Room Tip: huts may be preferred .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhishek parashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Although we did not stay at Ken River lodge, or join them for safari, on our last day in Panna we decided to just enjoy the river views so we spent the morning and had lunch at the tree top restaurant at the Ken River lodge. The main attraction is the prime location of the lodge, and the brilliant way they have designed things to exploit the views of the exceptionally picturesque Ken river. The lodge charges a basic cover charge (I think 100 INR or so) for nn-resident visitors and it is well worth it. Even though there is another resort (the much smaller Panna Tiger Resort) just adjacent to Ken Lodge, the views of the river from Ken lodge are simply unbeatable.
The whole area is full of birdlife, but from the tree lodge, you get a superb advantage as you are amongst the canopy, overlooking the river. Look down from the balconies to the river below and with patience you can spot several small arboreal birds in the tree tops below you. Of course on the river there is a different set of birds such as cranes, darters, cormorants etc. The river views were magnificent with clear blue skies. We just wanted a light brunch, so we ordered some Chicken soup, which was very nice, even though it did not exactly match the description (or perhaps our understanding of the description) in the menu. The other guests at the lodge were those who were staying there, and one could see they were really being taken care of by the polite and attentive staff.

The tree lodge has seating at various levels, indoors and outdoors. They also sell some wildlife themed souvenirs and tshirts at reasonable prices.

They arrange a river birdwatch boating trip, and we were envious of another visitor enjoying his boat ride but we did not have enough time to fit this in. The boat allows a much closer view of the birds and wildlife on the river.

Panna is an area of outstanding natural beauty, and outside the national park area, the Ken Lodge is the best place to soak it in. Our next trip will definitely be much longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you are looking for a perfect Jungle getaway with all perks that go with it...then KENS RIVER LODGE is the place to stay in. Let me warn you that this is the place for the serious jungle enthusiast. So if you are looking for a TV or 20 inch beds or “activity room”…. then this is not the place for you. Yes, but if you are looking for enthusiastic wildlife naturalists, an expert boatman with a complete knowledge of birds , owners who have are so passionate and proud of the place they own (this property was raved by floods not so long ago and has now been totally redone ) and add to that good clean beds, bathrooms, spacious rooms/cottages , a well stocked bar etc….then this is the place to chill out for 4-5 days. We did not spot the elusive tiger or the leopard but the trip to the jungle with the hotels naturalists Bejoy and Shukra were so enjoyable that we did not miss the big cats. There are so many other animals and birds to see and enjoy. The forest itself is one of the most picturesque forests that I have been to.
The evening is spent with the big bon fires lit in centre and the owner couple Bhavna and Shyamender joining in (with Bhavna’s 10 adorable dogs ..Goggles,Brownie,Speedo,to name a few ,who perch themselves almost on the rims of the bonfire !!) and listening to our adventures and telling us the stories of the forest. Add to this the unending rounds of spirit, the evenings were near perfect. It is indeed THE place for a wild life enthusiast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARUN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Central India or Madhya Bharat has always been a ''happening" place in Indian history & lore. So, when you land up in the interiors of what is called Bundelkhand, you are "THERE"" and in for lots !! This lovely, modern-yet-not-overly rustic Resort is a visitors'delight, mine twice over !! The choices are many - between just chilling out by the Riverside with a gin-tonic in hand : or , gliding down the Ken river silently watching hundreds of types of local & migratory birds : or venturing into the jungle in search of the 18 odd tigers, plus leopards, Bear and other wild animals in the Panna National Park & Tiger Reserve next door. You could even take a night safari or a trip to the Crocodile area nearby !@! There is folk-lore and immense pristine beauty in the Pandava Falls & Caves 10 kms away or simple-yet-developing village life all around. You could top it off with a visit to Khajuraho,of the famous Erotic architecture of the non-live Temples, which are a UNESCO World Heritage site, over 3000 years old. Further on is more Rajput history by way of Orccha & Jhansi, but I suggest that if it is for 2-4 nights, stick to the Lodge, Forest & the Kamasutra to end with !!That's what we did and enjoyed every moment !@!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goraroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went as a family of four, with two teenagers (13&15). We stayed for two nights, the first night we didn't stay at the lodge but at its camp in the forest because we went on a night drive. The second night we stayed at Cottage #1. The cottage was big and the decor was tasteful. The bathroom was clean and we especially loved the fireplace, which kept us warm (it is warm enough in the daytime, but mornings/nights/evenings can get very cold). The service was excellent, and the neembu pani on arrival was delicious and refreshing. The food was great too. The guide, Mr. Shukray, was great and knew just about everything about all the animals and birds. We didn't get to see a tiger, but got a glimpse of a leopard as it crossed the path in front of us when we were on safari. We saw spotted deer, chinkara, nilgai, and sambar, langur, a crocodile, and lots of birds (all in panna national park). We went for an absolutely lovely boat ride on the lake. It was rowed by a guide, which meant that a.) the birds weren't scared by a motor and didn't fly away b.) it was peaceful c.) the guide told us about the birds. We were even lucky enough to see an eurasian eagle owl!

Room Tip: Get one closer to the main treehouse restaurant thing, some of the rooms were very far away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arushi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panna Tiger Reserve
9.8 mi away
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
8.9 mi away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
8.9 mi away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 23 in Khajuraho
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Syna Heritage Hotel - Khajuraho
0.4 mi away
Panna Tiger Resort
Panna Tiger Resort
#1 of 1 in Panna Tiger Reserve
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camp Panna Resort
Camp Panna Resort
#2 of 6 in Panna
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ken River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ken River Lodge

Address: Madla | Near Panna National Park, Panna Tiger Reserve 488333, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Panna Tiger Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Panna Tiger Reserve
Price Range: $125 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ken River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining forest & greenery k.Raj Tiger Resorts is an ideal place to stay. The resort has 13 cottages designed to provide unobstructed view of the jungle and bank of river around. All rooms have attached modern bathrooms with 24 hours hot & cold water supply. Evening sittings on independent porches gives opportunity for seeing the beautifully lit sky with stars. After safari you can sit around camp fire/machans & discuss your day's experinces with our naturalist. Our restaurant with trained chefs ensure high standards of taste & hygiene. Erve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ken River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ken River Hotel Panna Tiger Reserve
Ken River Lodge India/Panna Tiger Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing