We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Reasonable Price”
Review of Eldorado Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eldorado Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is a good value. I checked all the places I could find in town...didn't take long. First and foremost for us, they offered free unlimited wifi for all devices. This is the first time I've encountered that in the NT. Most places will use 4net or some other service that charges $6/hr...for one device. The speed is good for browsing most of the time. Aside from this the clean ensuite room is a good size with a fridge, water heater, shampoo and soap. Shower had hot water and was a good pressure. TV has decent channels. A/c provided. Breakfast (toast, cereal, fruit, birsch muesli, tea, coffee, and juice!).

I would challenge you to find a better deal in town. The caravan park across the street had a kitchen, but the bathroom and showers were a bit of a walk. The other large hotel at the other end of town wanted to charge $150 with no wifi. I tried to checked Three Way, the settlement north of here...I think they literally had one caravan park, but the girl would not allow me to see the room before booking. We drove past the Wauchope Hotel, an hour south of TC, and the exterior did not look appealing. For us, El Dorado was the best choice.

Chris and his son, Jason, have been nothing but polite and helpful. El Dorado has great customer service and provides many free amenities other places either charge outrageously for or don't provide at all. Even though this ended up being one of the more expensive places we stayed at (remember, budget traveling), we felt that we got a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Eldorado Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014


Pros: in town, friendly staff, free wifi but weak signal, clean, ensuite rooms, tv and fridge are in room. Free breakfast consists of cereal, juice, toast, fruit, and a few other things.

Cons: a bit expensive. No kitchen area to do some cooking. We killed a cockroach this morning.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank howardchang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We experienced the worst day of travel the other day having to battle cyclonic winds driving north from Alice Springs. We were hoping to get to Renner Springs but decided to stop in Tennant Creek. It was late in the day so we thought we'd try our luck at the Eldorado. Well what a welcome relief to be greeted by the hosts of the venue. They couldn't help us enough and even though they were flat out were only too happy to organise a port-a-cot for my two year old child. The food was sensational, the room was spotless and the service second to none. This is what they mean by 'outback hospitality'..Thank you Rebecca & Jason.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

From the road it's not a great look due to the run down exterior, it could do with a coat of paint.
I was greeted by Rebecca who was delightful, very polite and helpful. Price was reasonable due to the location. The rooms were very run down but clean and they had all facilities.
The food was ok but limited choices mainly meat dishes, however I am not a big meat eater and asked for a non meat meal was catered for.
I would recommend this place to all but the fussy ones.

Room Tip: be humble and you'll be happy
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank databoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

comfortable and quiet. All the basics provided but small refrigerator with tiny freezerspace did not really meet our travelling needs and was unusual compared to our other accommodation on this trip from Darwin to Alice Springs. The rooms ( we had two) were clean but tired. I believe some have been updated. Our meals in the restaurant were fine. Lots of variety in schnitzel toppings, and very basic continental breakfast. A satisfactory choice for one night passing through.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravellersdandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Checked in here for the night on the way to Alice Springs. Clean rooms (we stayed in a triple room), big bathroom....They have a restaurant attached to the property also. We had an issue with the wifi and the IT guru came and fixed it for us no hassle. You get for what you pay for..

Room Tip: A triple room is big enough for 2 Adults and 2 kids.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great staff, great food, great service. The hosts Jason and Bec really looked after us, always good for a chat and a laugh. Well appointed rooms, an oasis on the highway, great facilities for a remote motel. I always stay at the Eldorado whenever I am passing through Tennant.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOPENDTIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
0.4 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
OutBack Caravan Park
OutBack Caravan Park
#3 of 5 in Tennant Creek
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
120 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Motor Inn

Address: 195 Patterson Street | PO Box 65, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0861, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Price Range: $104 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 11 sprawling acres, the Eldorado Motor Inn offers 78 airconditioned rooms. We have rooms to accomodate 1 person through to 5 people all ensuited with colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is also available all rooms. With a huge 120 seat licensed restaurant and alfresco area serving Chinese and steak menu you are sure to enjoy a fantastic meal here. At the Eldorado Motor Inn, we endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eldorado Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Tennant Creek
Eldorado Motel Tennant Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing