We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eldorado Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eldorado Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not to bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

They have two types of rooms and prices. Old room for cheaper rate and window ratler for air con. Bit of a dump and not worth money. Other has been renovated and quiet air con. Bed comfy, ok bathroom. Overall basic room but clean and comfy and no traffic noise.

Have fast WiFi for free that is easy to log on and no drop outs.

Would stay here again as one of the cheaper places.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    47
    25
    49
See reviews for
26
57
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked on line ages ahead of a busy period, at what I consider a premium rate for something of this standard.

A week later told they were overbooked and we got bounced

Ratbags


I suspect they got a big booking from overseas and bounced us locals.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank seeker372011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tennant Creek hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Keeping in mind this hotel is in Tennant Creek it wasn't too bad. The service from Yvonne on the front counter was excellent each and every time I rang and when we got there.

When we called to say our shower was busted they made sure we had access to a room right next to us with a working shower.

People need to remember your in the outback and in Tennant Creek so you are not going to get the Ritz. The rooms are dated, and not everything is 100%. Plus it costs a bit more because you are in the middle of nowhere.

Overall this place was great for our stop over and also allowed us to have our dogs with us which was fantastic! We would stay here again if passing through TC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstandDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

$A117 is far too much for a sleepless night in a very, very basic motel room. Our room was across from the swimming pool enclosure and we were subjected, until 2:00 p.m. to the loud pool party that took place there. This was on top of the noise of the antiquated air-conditioner. When one pays for accommodation, you are paying for a good night's rest. Management made a very feeble excuse on behalf of the noisy guests. I came away with the impression that it was their right to be noisy until 2:00 p.m. and therefore I had to suck it up. Most people stopping in Tennant Creek would have had a long day's travel and would have another long day of traveling the next day. And yes, we do need to sleep in order to be safe on the road. The comfort of some of the guests is certainly NOT a priority at Eldorado. If you want a good night'sleep, don't bother to stop here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went to Tennant Creek for a cycling race, Eldorado was about a 400m walk from the bus stop and center of town. It was clean and tidy and I found the managment relaxed and easy to deal with. If your expecting Five star and a cheap deal in Tennant Creek then you need to have another think about why your going there. Being so remote expect to pay a bit more for a bit less. Overall fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This should be one of the best places in Tennant Creek. If this is corrrect then find another town to stay in. The motel is very noisy and you dont feel safe at all. Our room had a big flat screen TV and so had the neighbour-rooms. We could hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms. Our neighbour was also yelling and shouting until 1.30 in the night. The reception didnt want to do anything about the problem. It was also very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mads M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had 4 adults and 5 juniors on a tennis weekend to Mount Isa for the weekend. We had 2 rooms, arrived late and left early. The proprietor was very accomodating, rooms were clean and linen fine. Price was right which we appreciated and they opened breakfast for us early so that we could get on the road early.

Only complaint was that room 4 had bedbugs and 2 of us suffered badly and driving the bus the next day was a bit hard whilst itching constantly.

Apart from that it was great.

Room Tip: Avoid the larger dorm type rooms like room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trezonarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
1.1 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Motor Inn

Property: Eldorado Motor Inn
Address: 195 Patterson Street | PO Box 65, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0861, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tennant Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eldorado Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 11 sprawling acres, the Eldorado Motor Inn offers 78 airconditioned rooms. We have rooms to accomodate 1 person through to 5 people all ensuited with colour televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is also available all rooms. With a huge 120 seat licensed restaurant and alfresco area serving Chinese and steak menu you are sure to enjoy a fantastic meal here. At the Eldorado Motor Inn, we endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eldorado Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Tennant Creek
Eldorado Motel Tennant Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing