We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is perfect for an overnighter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Threeways Roadhouse
Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“This is perfect for an overnighter”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive from Mt Isa we stopped for try evening and got a room, three single beds was perfect for three adults. But be warned one of the beds had wheels an our 18 year old son got he giggles and as the room was not quiet level his bed started moving towards the door, which unfortunately made him giggle more thus expediting the thump into the wall....at least the door was not open....cause then I would have cacked myself.

This is a good spot to unwind and the food is dependent on which backpacker is cooking. The sheets were clean the air conditioner worked and above all the shower was hot or cold. Good value for the middle of nowhere. But fill up before you go to bed because if you want an early start the bowser opens after 6.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank african_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    23
    21
    36
See reviews for
37
44
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for convenience sake as I didn't want to travel the extra distance to Tennant Creek just to backtrack the next morning to get to the Barkly Highway. Points for being pet friendly (pets not allowed inside accommodation). Stayed in one of their motel rooms which are basically 2 rows of 'transportable buildings' with about 6 motel rooms in each building all connected by a verandah (and according to the staff the motel rooms are a lot better than the cabins). I booked a twin and was disappointed to be allocated a double. The verandah did have a ramp for disabled access as well as multiple stair accesses. The room was not very clean; the bed spread was stained and in need of a wash, the benches needed a wipe down and the tea/coffee facilities were icky and in need of cleaning & replenishing. We ordered takeaway main meals from the roadhouse which was quite acceptable. Meals were cooked quickly and were quite large. Staff were a little casual but other than that ok. The layout of the accommodation area was random and not very obvious (lots of buildings/dongas willy-nilly around the place). If you stay here keep in mind it is a roadhouse and not a resort and that's exactly what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Didn't want to go into Tennant Creek so decided to stay at Threeways, so not worth it. Our accommodation was not booked properly, it was only my partner and I but we were given a room with 3 singles instead of a double. One of the beds was infront of the door, blocking it slightly. There are no lights to see the numbers on the rooms, after the vague directions from the girl who checked us in we drove around 3 times before having to go back and looking at the map again. There was no tv remote and only one tv channel. You had to unplug the fridge everytime you used the bathroom to close the door.

Then we decided to have dinner....It was grose, the steak and lamb seemed to be boiled instead of grilled and was tough and tasteless, the veg was so soggy it was falling apart.

The service was very disappointing....ignoring customers, they werent rude but there is more to customer service than politeness.

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy, drive the extra 20ks to Tennant Creek it's better than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tennant Creek hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed only one night in a motel/demountable room.Very basic room with an ensuite. At least everything worked. Had dinner in the restaurant/cafe, which was quite good. Trucks start up their engines at 5.30.am, so don't bother setting your alarm for an early wake up call. Remember, after all, you are staying in a roadhouse. Found the staff polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Glendale rooms might be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Margie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Heard good reports about threeways so decided to go through tennant creek and stop there for dinner and fuel.
Came through about 9pm to fill up and have dinner. Their website says they're open till 11.
Kitchen was closed only toasted sandwiches available.
Would have been much better off stopping in Tennant Creek.
Staff didn't seem friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rip off fuel, staff were polite, cuppa chinos tasted like dirty dish water with a hint of bull dust, kids ordered hot chips but we were lookin for the fish in the box cos that's all we could taste, kids went for a shower, but they ended up coming out dirty then when they went in (water was brown with a funky aroma) as you can see we just loved it here NOT......

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelblaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Overbearing Rude Owners....... These people do not deserve to succeed in business. Least of all in an industry that requires contact with the public.
$32 for powered site. Water is very bad. Muddy and bad tasting. That is only if the electrics is working. Had neither until late in the evening. Then the water had to be disconnected, cos so bad..........
Told to "Get Out of my Roadhouse" when I tried to politely explain there was a problem..
Another site guest was sworn at... He just packed his vehicle up .. And Left ! No Refunds !!!
Bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKT498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
2.7 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.7 mi away
OutBack Caravan Park
OutBack Caravan Park
#3 of 5 in Tennant Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#3 of 3 in Tennant Creek
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Threeways Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threeways Roadhouse

Property: Threeways Roadhouse
Address: | Corner Stuart and Barkly Highways, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing