We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OutBack Caravan Park
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A very nice park with roomy sites. Most sites have concrete slabs. Plenty of trees for shade. Pool was great. Very nice staff at the office. Amenities were o.k. they were kept clean. We liked it so much we stayed longer. There is a free shuttle bus to the RSL. There is also a Bush tuckerman in the park. You get to taste his damper and bush food etc.He also recites poetry every night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don and Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for OutBack Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Despite a couple of negative reviews, we decided to stay at the Outback and were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the park. It appears very new and the amenities block was as good as any I have seen. There is a pool and most caravan/campervan sites have a concrete slab for the annex. We had no problem with the reception staff who were very nice. The Outback's current ranking on Tripadvisor demonstrates how a couple of bad reviews can drag down the overall rating when there are not many contributions (not to imply that those negative comments weren't legitimate for those contributors).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cathrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stay here every time i go to Tenant, for NTG workers who travel frequently to Tenant, this place is head and shoulders above the bluestone. They have new cabins, which are self contained donga's pretty much and they have new gear throughout. IF your staying for a while and want to cook its a good stop cos they got all of the cooking gear u need. the place is away from the main strip of town, and is nice n quiet at night. The owners are all good from what i have experienced. havent had trouble like some of the older posts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TuiFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I set up our camp and was chatting to people around the pool and was told of a nice place to eat dinner and that the reception would arrange the shuttle bus to pick us up. I asked the woman at reception if she could call them (as the guest as suggested) only to be spoken to in an extremely nasty and agressive way. My complaint to a male person at reception regarding the treatment I received was disregarded and he walked off with no interrest what so ever. They are obviously the owners/managers. Stay away from this place if you expect to be treated with the respect you deserve after handing over an excessive fee to put a tiny tent. They should not be in the hospitality industry.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
19  Thank kathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

In Response to your review.

Our rates are $31 for 2pp for a powered site, $24 unpowered for 2pp with the use of a camp kitchen, bbq's, swimming pool & Shower & Toilets.

Our rates are competitive with all Caravan Parks.

On arrival at reception you the customer are explained all about the Caravan Park & Tourist Information & that there is also a Courtesy Bus that you can CALL to arrange pick-up & that number is given to the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Easy drive through caravan sites but no grassy areas to set up annex.
Nice, clean pool very welcome after a long day driving.
Located about 1km from the town center so very quiet.
The park is surrounded by green bushy trees and lots of shade is available.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had been camping for a week prior to staying here and decided it was time for a bit of 'luxury'. Upon arrival we were given the choice of a budget cabin or one of the newer ensuite cabins. The big price difference is a clear reflection in the big difference in the quality of the cabins. We stayed in the newer ensuite cabin which felt like luxury compared to our little tent. Although basic it was a nice stop to re- energize for the rest of our journey. The park appears to be neat and tidy though no grass anywhere which makes camping uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ReneeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice w, Manager at OutBack Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2011

In response to your review
I would like to say we are a very large Caravan Park on 20 acres of Land & YES we do have Grass camping sites.
We have Bus camping groups all throughout the year and also alot of individual campers as well.
Sorry you did not take theoppurtunity to walk around our Caravan Park .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Park is nice enough, our grassed tent site was full of prickles but I guess that is hard to avoid. I really hate it when no hand soap is provided in the toilets. At night (a Monday!) the locals on a bit of crown land where fighting and drinking yelling and swearing til about 1.30am. Not really the parks fault but pretty annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abcharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
0.6 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renner Springs Desert Inn
Renner Springs Desert Inn
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OutBack Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OutBack Caravan Park

Address: 71 Peko Rd, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0860, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully presented park was established in 1981, and now boasts glorious shady trees with spacious drive-through sites, a choice of grassed camping areas and extensive amenities. A Pool provides welcome relief in the middle of the Territory's Golden Heart. Our cheerful team and commitment to improvements, service and the environment now offers a range of 4 Green Star facilities. Choose from our broad range of accommodation options and spend a few days enjoying the local attractions, relax in our licensed garden cafe and enjoy the camp fire entertainment with Jimmy Hooker's humorous bush poetry and local bush tucker tasting during the High Season only. All needs are provided for, from powered and unpowered shaded and grassy camping and long drive through caravan sites to air-conditioned En-suite cabins with full kitchen facilities, wireless internet, Laundromat, camp kitchen, dump point, fuel, Mini-mart and gas. Free 30min wifi when you check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your OutBack Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing