We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day 2 nights trip”

Voyages Ayers Rock Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
$414.36*
and up
Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Sounds of Silence Dinner in 3 Days
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Was good, the guide Tamara was full of knowledge and full of life, tried hard to get people to mix but me and nephew the only English the rest where mainly german and did not want to mix apart from the Belgium and itallian (sebena). A little more walking than expected but some beautiful views and slept in swags which was great. Tamara was very helpful and looked after everybody and made great food. Recommend do the full trip not the 1 day one.

3  Thank MARCUS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tali wiru"
in 95 reviews
"night sky"
in 174 reviews
"star talk"
in 107 reviews
"dining area"
in 81 reviews
"didgeridoo player"
in 89 reviews
"soup"
in 44 reviews
"star gazing"
in 107 reviews
"barramundi"
in 53 reviews
"buffet style"
in 52 reviews
"main course"
in 47 reviews
"pastries"
in 31 reviews
"fine dining"
in 24 reviews
"aboriginal dance"
in 25 reviews
"lamb"
in 37 reviews
"star pass"
in 66 reviews
"sparkling wine"
in 90 reviews
"buffet dinner"
in 46 reviews
Filter

1,845 - 1,849 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

It was raining quite bad an hour before so we we're pectins cancellation, but fortunately it stopped as the bus arrived. The organisers arranged for buses to be on standby at the location just in case.
We were given canapés and bubbly as we arrived at the viewing station and watched the sun set with didgeridoo playing. Also visited by a young dog.
After the sun went down we were guided to our table. We joined up with another two couples and met four more Brits at the ten seater table.
Soup first course and buffet main and dessert was pretty good. Plenty of good wine flowed along with some port to finish.
Unfortunately the stars didn't come cone for the star gazing expert but he still passed in some interesting information.

1  Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Don't get your hopes up about doing this. Ours was cancelled because it had rained sometime during the day. From what I understand, it happens a lot. We were given a letter to give to our travel agent for a refund which was good. They then offered a replacement dinner held indoors. Do not do it! It was very expensive and not worth the cost.

2  Thank rosie60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear rosie60763,
Please accept my apologies for that you were left disappointed after the Sounds of Silence evening was cancelled.
Unfortunately, when it comes to cancelling the evening it is not always about the weather at the time, but also the condition of the site after the rain. As the sites are in the desert weather has a great impact on the dunes and access to the site.
It is regrettable to read you did not enjoy the dinner that was held in lieu of the evening and I will be sure to look into ways we can improve upon it for the future.
Again I apologize that you were unable to attend Sounds of Silence and hope that we can welcome you back in the future to try the experience.
Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Despite initial reservations about the Sounds of Silence dinner after reading many reviews, I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The food was plentiful and wine flowed freely. Although a cloudy evening, the star talk was still informative.
Yes there are some cheesy statements, and the aboriginal dancing during the welcome canapés a bit staged, but we were lucky to have a great crowd on our table (didn't know any of them before) and had great conversation throughout the evening.
Yes, a bit pricey, but so are all the tours around the resort - captive audience, and no competition as all are run by the same company.
However, overall a great evening - helped by good company and wine!

1  Thank carolofberks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was ok, but on the expensive side for what you got, the dancers were meant to be indigenous dancers but they were local white guys with body paint, perhaps they thought we wouldn't notice in the dark. The photograph taken by the professional was not good . A fellow guest took a better one. The star gazer chappie was very good. there was a lot of food and it was ok. The toilets are pretty grim so be warned.

2  Thank TommyCPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Peterborough,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I would like to assure you that the Wakagetti dancers are all of indigenous decent from around Australia and perform dances that have been approved by the local community to be shared with the public. At Ayers Rock Resort we not only respect the culture of the area we are in but also want to share it will all our guests and this most authentic way possible.
It is regrettable that the photo taken by our photographer was not very good and I will address this with the team to ensure we are capturing the memories perfectly for our guests.
Kind regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voyages Ayers Rock Resort also viewed

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 

Been to Voyages Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing