We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Grand Canyon but gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Canyon

Kings Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.02*
and up
Kings Canyon Guided Rim Walk
Ranked #4 of 112 things to do in Red Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon known for its 100–meter-high sheer cliff walls. There are a variety of walks, the most popular is the Rim Walk which is a 3-4 hour walk with a steep start. Kings Creek Walk is a gentle walk at the base of the Canyon which takes about an hour. Please note that in hot weather where the forecast is to be 36 degrees celsius and above, there are access restrictions to some walks.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
357 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Not the Grand Canyon but gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is quite a days' adventure. You'll end up with a 6 km hike, a swimming pool, fantastic geology and a good workout. It's hot, hot, hot so go prepared. After mid-November, tours won't go there so be careful if you go alone. You might consider doing the circular route counter-clockwise because the initial "heart attack hill' step upward is truly a bear!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    98
    18
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This location is great for a stay between Ayers Rock and Alice Springs . It has the usual room appointments. However, cell phone did not work and internet access was expensive and limited. Restaurant food was good, but service by young staff though friendly was very slow. They were overwhelmed with waiting tables and running the bar at the same time. The local sights are the reason to be here.

Helpful?
Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Kings Canyon was definitely the highlight of our outback trip. We did the 6k hike and it was well worth it. A certain level of fitness is required, there are lots of steep stairs and uneven ground. The view is incredible and it's just fun to climb over rocks! Definitely a must-see on any trip to the Red Centre

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellyF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“walking on the rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

it was amazing love it, but the day i was there i was so sick and was not sure if i would have being able to do the walk but i did it in the end sick or not and omg i was so glad i did it. the views was class just walking on the rocks.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank monaghanrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good stopping off point.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Like Uluru, it's a very long way to travel to see a scenic canyon which is certainly good but not fantastic. The village is well set up and attractive with good facilities but it's very expensive, the price of petrol was outrageous.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon also viewed

Red Centre, Northern Territory
Red Centre, Northern Territory
 
Northern Territory, Australia
 

Been to Kings Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing