We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rates, clean rooms and excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Katherine River Lodge Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place is one to stay at if you are looking for reasonable rates and and excellent service in Katherine. Based in Darwin, I spend a lot of time travelling around the NT for work and it’s always fantastic to find accommodation I actually like and feel comfortable in! It was lovely to be greeted by genuinely friendly and helpful hosts who make you feel welcome. The rooms are comfortable, clean and are equipped with everything you need.

The restaurant was open for dinner and it was such a welcome surprise to find the restaurant has great food - another really hard find in a hotel and a small town. I found the place to be really well maintained and has good communual facilities too. I came back a second time with friends to do some sightseeing and it was great to be able to lounge around the pool and have a barbeque on a Sunday afternoon between tours.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexi_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have been visiting Katherine on business for over a decade but now retired and now do so for recreation. I friend recommended I check out the Katherine River Lodge Motel and I am glad he so - the rates are excellent and the rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped. The friendly and helpful staff provided a wealth of useful information about ther area and the meals in the restaurant were excellent and reasonably priced. Overall an enjoyable stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePressy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at this motel on 13 and 14 July 2012. Both nights were very noisy. Intoxicated people seemed to be the main cause. On the second night a young very drunk person spent a couple of hours sleeping on the bonnet of our car. We got very little sleep (but we did get a few laughs!)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I secured a local government position in Katherine, moving here from Sydney. Having been told it may take weeks to find a permanent accommodation in town, I jumped on the internet in Sydney and scrolled through what was available - the River Lodge looked to be a good choice, swimming pool, bbq, lots of green space and palm trees made it look vary tropical in the photos. Getting here,it felt like I was staying at a resort, a motel. My single room included a bed, AC, TV, bar frindge, coffee/tea equipment and supplies, and ensuite. Some points:

- The staff was great and very helpful. Geoff and Judy, the owners, are very knowledgeable about the local area, tour operators, restaurants, attractions etc.
- The pool area has just been updated and is now open, resurfaced and re-painted.
- Restaurant/bar and patio on site, choice of VB or XXXX. Beer priced at $5 which is the standard rate in Katherine.
- Residents a mix of travellers, vacationers, temporary new arrivals looking for permanent accom, and tradespeople/temp workers.
- Internet available in the main lodge, cheap at $4 per day. Two computer workstations also available.
- Rooms/bathrooms clean and tidy.
- Undercover BBQ available, also a kitchennette.
- Laundry facilities available, $4.
- Main lodge looks like a mini-museum - ask Judy to give you a guided tour, she has been collecting masks, figures etc for years.
- Back of motel backs into the Katherine River, though you have to walk around to gain access to the River Walk. River can be seen from some of the back balconies and windows.
- About a 15 minute walk to centre of town, taxis are plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P-Dawg-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I am currently in Australia from the UK and wanted to see the Northern territory so booked this hotel for 3 nights on arrival we were greeted by a pleasent hosts who showed us to our room and explained everything about our room and was happy to help with surrounding activities, seeing as I have never been here was a great help to me. The food was great and beds were comfy and rooms clean and bathrooms were exceptional. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craigLambourne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I picked this place out of Lonely Planet and was very pleased with what I got. It is a good location in Katherine and the room was comfortable and very clean. The facilities are also very good. The restaurant served the best food we had in Katherine and they have a beautiful pool and bbq area where we spent most of our time when we weren't off seeing the sights.

What makes my rating excellent was the customer service. We were given great advice for things to do and see and had our tour of the gorge (I highly recommend the dinner tour) booked at the front desk.

My only complaint was that the air conditioner was a little noisy but that was par for the course in this price range in the NT.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed there 3 nights with my husband. We have travelled in all Australia and I can say it was a great value, very clean room and nice restaurant.
When we arrived, we met the owners Geoff and Judy who are so lovely and helpful. They give us a big double room with sink, TV, DVD, balcony and many more. We felt at home. There is a beautiful garden, a clean swimming pool and a BBQ area, all you need to rest after a walk in Katherine Gorge or whatever...
You can book your tour at The Katherine gorge with Geoff and Judy or go to The river which is just closed to the motel or you can go to relax at the Hot Springs for free. It's a really good place with many attractions around.
At night, you can eat at The restaurant which is excellent ; try the croc as a starter and The delicious T-Bone, you won't be disappointed !!!

We will come back for sure !
Thanks a lot for everything

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noranooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#7 of 8 in Katherine
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#6 of 8 in Katherine
434 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 8 in Katherine
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
346 reviews
14.0 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 8 in Katherine
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paraway Motel
Paraway Motel
#4 of 8 in Katherine
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katherine River Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katherine River Lodge Motel

Address: 50 Giles St, Katherine, Northern Territory 0850, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range: $63 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Katherine River Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing