We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cicadia lodge ”
Review of Cicada Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cicada Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Cicadia lodge ”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to cicadia lodge for a weekend get-away from Darwin and it was an amazing experience.
The evening start from 5.30pm with drinks on the house and complimentary canapés. The champagne was mumm- very impressive and the food was absolutely top notch.
For dinner, the food and wine was also 5-star - 3 courses from a set menu and best of all, all-inclusive.
Breakfast was just as delicious. The whole package may seem expensive, but taking into account the quality of food and drinks that this includes, it's actually a bargain.
The rooms themselves are very nice, there is no bath but the shower is huge.
The atmosphere of cicadia lodge is of a small resort with very friendly personalised service. It's right next to the visitors centre which is very handy.
Go there for the food and wine- you won't find a better place to dine in the Northern Territory. Absolutely amazing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    31
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
112
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I decided to drive down to Katherine (370 kms) from Darwin for a Valentine's Day celebration. Cicada Lodge far surpassed our expectations, it was a beautiful experience. We had booked the wet season package, an overnight stay with complimentary French champagne, canapés and drinks at sunset, a degustation dinner including wine and a cooked breakfast. We had to waddle back to our rooms!! The food was exquisite and the presentation definitely a work of art. There were even pink flowers and hearts decorating the dinner! The architecture is funky and contemporary with private views overlooking the bush and at this time of the year, the flooded Katherine River. We didn't do any tours we stayed put in the Lodge until lunch time (we had a late check out too), and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999SueM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Cicada Lodge a few days after Christmas looking for peace and quiet.

We had high expectations for this new resort and we were not disappointed!

Booking the Luxury Explorer package we enjoyed an all-inclusive two night stay.

Upon arrival... Hot and sweaty after the three hour drive from Darwin... We were ushered to the pool area for a glass of champagne whilst our luggage was taken to our room.

The room itself was modern and nicely finished with a lovely bush view... The privacy is what really appealed to us... You can't see your neighbours and they can't see you!

Sunset drinks and canapés were a highlight at the end of each day, as was the evening meal. Cicada is blessed to have a fantastic chef who makes the most of local and Australian ingredients to produce divine creations... The salt bush lamb was a highlight for us.

As part of our package we also enjoyed a Katherine Gorge cruise... Would highly recommend you ensure this is part of your accommodation package!

Having stayed at Longitude 131 in Central Australia, it is wonderful to finally have a luxury resort of a similar calibre in the Top End, closer to Darwin. Yes, it is pricey, but you get what you pay for... And more.

Our only suggestion to Management would be to consider complimentary mini bar in each room as part of the accommodation package.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A bush experience with outstanding food and service. Enjoy the peaceful ambiance with nothing to do except relax and also enjoy an amazing rock art and swimming hole helicopter trip. Trace the Katherine river up the 13 gorges, view the art, swim in the secluded pool and enjoy your Cicada picnic. Unforgettable - as were the featured salads at the Lodge each lunchtime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVOS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The setup of the resort, the size of each room, the attention to detail, the scenery from the balcony and of the course the delicious food prepared by Chef Kenneth are all just awesome. Clearly all these were beyond my expectation being situated almost 300 over kilometers from Darwin.

You also get daily turn down service here with good night chocolate and free wifi!

We'll done Niki and her team!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzammil_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had travelled from a cattle station south of Katherine near Mataranka which was a fantastic place but had no a/c, so the coolness of Cicada was very welcome. I had had one night in a chalet which was more than adequate but Cicada is in a different league. The rooms are well designed with a big bathroom. Bed very comfy. Shutters open = no need for a/c at night. However housekeeping standards let it down: despite requests my towels weren't changed; and one day my bed wasn't made .... not good enough for a place as expensive as Cicada. The room attendant was most apologetic and even wrote me a letter but still ....
I found the dining area a little small but fine for the 8 guests staying at the time. The food was superb and beautifully presented. The set menu has to be a sensible idea. The canapes were beautiful but the staff slow to offer champagne although it was available if one asked. I didn't want the cooked breakfast and my fruit and croissants were again superbly served. Coffee etc on request was good but no biscuits offered. The staff were very helpful but they weren't busy. The pool is small and limited number of beds - I don't know what happens if the place is full ..... I am not 100% it is value for money (I was on a 2 night package which included brekky, dinner and a bottle of wine, canapes and drinks before dinner) though I did enjoy my stay and it was fun seeing the wallaby with joey round the lodge "garden".

Room Tip: I had 11 - and cannot really say that its glimpse of the river made it any more desirable than the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Cicada Lodge is a beautifully designed and appointed resort that deserves to be successful. When the four of us arrived there was only one other pair of guests in residence. Good points: the Lodge has a nice ambience, the rooms are laid out well and spacious, we loved having a cup of tea on the balcony and looking out into the bush. The beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms are well designed. The food was generally OK but limited. Shortcomings: no choice of pillows; lack of adequate towel rails and inadequate supply of towels; only two dinners to choose from (breads should be homemade and rolls warm from the oven, they were not); limited choice of teas; meagre breakfast array, e.g. not enough exotic fruit, cereals etc.; staff not trained to make cocktails (they were taken off the bill). We generally liked our stay, and a bit of thought and effort would easily rectify the shortcomings and make the experience more luxurious than it was, especially when considering the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
13.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#8 of 8 in Katherine
443 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
306 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 8 in Katherine
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
13.5 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#7 of 8 in Katherine
408 reviews
14.6 mi away
Paraway Motel
Paraway Motel
#4 of 8 in Katherine
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cicada Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cicada Lodge

Property: Cicada Lodge
Address: Nitmiluk National Park, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cicada Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cicada Lodge, your sanctuary from which to embrace the ancient landscapes and indigenous culture within the iconic Nitmiluk National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cicada Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing