We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3* Camping in Nitmiluk”

Nitmiluk National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.39*
and up
Katherine Gorge Cruise in Nitmiluk National Park
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Katherine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cruise on the Katherine River will give you a great overview of this national park, made up of 13 sandstone gorges
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“3* Camping in Nitmiluk”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location is outstanding, great walking and even the boat trip was good if costly. The Nitmiluk camp site is a bit tired and limited, with no proper grey water disposal, nice pool though and incredible bird life. We made a quick exit after two days when the site was invaded by hordes of school children, we counted twelve minibuses and there may have been more which put the communal facilities under extreme pressure. You need to provision in Katherine which is 30something kms away. Water at A$6 for 500ml seems excessive!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    75
    11
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Car necessary”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was great that we had a lovely guy at our hostel from Canada Zac who very kindly drove the four of us ladies to Nitmiluk so we could enjoy a morning canoeing the gorge

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NualaOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Canoeing and camping in Nitmiluk”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Powered site in NP. lovely site with a great Pool, just a short walk away from the gorge and canoe hire. Took along time to find a pitch as not numbered and people had taken more room than they should, but kind campers lent us an extension cable so we could get power. Lovely natural setting with good amenities. Wallabies a plenty.

Canoeing was brilliant but it is quite hard work but worth it to get to second gorge for swimming. Beautiful setting well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesleyBurntwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Simply amazing so beautiful and hardly anyone there. Falls relatively small but simply beautiful. Just a short distance from Katherine. Not to be overlooked

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place and eat at the information centre!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We decided to walk as the boats were already fully booked and the canoes seemed very pricey... and did not regret it!
We did the 8.4km Windolf walk (not difficult) and enjoyed magnificent views from the top of the gorge cliffs. Then we made our way down to Southern Rockhole (nothing much in the dry), but continued along past the rockhole and ended up on the river banks. There we enjoyed a lovely cool swim and the kids took delight in waving to the tourist boats as they went past.
After our return to the information centre we ordered the most delicious barramundi burgers and fish and chips - the best we had in the Territory! Sitting on the huge balcony made our lunch even more enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank massmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitmiluk National Park also viewed

 

Been to Nitmiluk National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing