We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caravan park I've ever stayed in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shady Lane Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Lovely caravan park, full of grass and palm trees. Out of town a bit so you don't have to worry as much about people coming in and stealing things from your tent. Was fairly quite and seemed mostly full of grey nomads. Shower and toilet facilities were fantastic, very clean and plenty of room in the shower. Only downside was jets flying overhead which were quite loud but very rare

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The jets fly in and out of the RAAF Base Tindal,only occasionally but are interesting to watch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 181 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in an en-suite cabin at Shady Lane. The bedroom-lounge area was spacious and airy. Kitchen area was well-equipped with hot plates, microwave, good size refrigerator, and all crockery and cutlery.

Air-conditioning was quiet and effective, and when the temperature dropped it was a delight to sit out on the large verandah area.

The surroundings are pleasant with plenty of trees and green areas. The owners are delightful and very helpful. It is definitely an advantage to be about six kms out of town in a peaceful and quiet spot.

We highly recommend a visit to the nearby historical museum also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, good to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family 2br cabin. It was almost twice the size of anything we were expecting and had everything we needed. It also appeared quite new and was spotlessly clean. It is nice being a couple of kms out of town as it is peaceful and quiet. The pool is also nice for an afternoon cool down and was a hit with the kids. Would recommend this to any family wanting to stay o/n in Katherine.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kedj2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I could call myself a tourist park connoisseur, having stayed in dozens and dozens of them over the years, all around Australia. While it may sound cliche, this is by far the absolute best I've stayed at, and that's not something I would say lightly. While on a holiday in Katherine with my family (2 adults and 2 teenagers), we opted for the Shady Lane Tourist Park as it was recommended by a work colleague who lives in the town.
Upon arrival, we checked in and booked our Katherine Gorge Tour for the next morning through the friendly male receptionist. We visited our cabin, one which is actually about 4 meters off the ground (as they are on stilts) - and as we opened the door, our jaws dropped at the amazing cleanliness and condition that these places of accommodation are kept in. The floor was shining, the window were clean, everything was immaculate. It was truly visible how much pride is put into the park by its owners/managers. Air conditioning is in every major room and lovely 12 metre pool to cool down in on a hot day.
The only one thing which may deter some people is the park's distance from the Katherine town centre. It's a good 5-10 minute drive, but this is more than easily manageable if you have a form of road transport with you. The proximity, however, lies on the route to the gorge which is great as this is only a 15 minute drive from the park.

Such immaculate cleanliness, it's no surprise this park has so many positive reviews, they are all very deserving. I can certainly say I'll be back one day and I think you should also choose to stay here if you're heading to Katherine! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our property, we do put a lot of effort into cleaning and maintaining our facilities so it is good to know that it is appreciated. I do have to say that our cabins are not quite 4 metres off the ground though, the clearance is 2.1metres so there are only 12 stairs. Hopefully you will return to Katherine in the future and visit some of the attractions you may have missed due to their seasonal operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The owners/managers obviously take pride in their caravan park. The park is very clean and tidy and they seem to be always moving around tending to stuff. The bathroom facilities were particularly well maintained by NT standards.

We booked a Gorge breakfast tour for 9 people thru reception and was impressed by Maryannes determination to assist with our requirements.

One issue with the selection of mango trees though in the park....as with the lack of rain the fruit is falling off the trees ... do you know how noisy it is when a mango falls on the roof of your van in the middle of the night? I do.

Overall a very nice park and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TackyMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

I am happy to have been able to assist with your Gorge Tour bookings, all part of my job.
We hope that you will return in the future and are happy to know that you appreciate our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well spaced-out camp sites set amongst beautiful and established trees. Immaculately clean and well designed facilities. Friendly and extremely helpful owners plus a nice swimming pool. A joy to return to after a hot day of travelling! Would highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ddiannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This camper park was a nice size compared to some of the enormous and crowded ones we stayed in. The laundry and showers were the best of all as well, clean, modern, plentiful. Lovely location, friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

It gives us great pleasure to have been able to provide you with facilities which you have enjoyed. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
3 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#7 of 8 in Katherine
508 reviews
3 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 8 in Katherine
265 reviews
3 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
2.1 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#6 of 8 in Katherine
440 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 8 in Katherine
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Lane Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Lane Tourist Park

Address: 257 Gorge Road, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Katherine
Price Range: $92 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing