We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, Good for Families”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shady Lane Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot, Good for Families”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are a family of five and stayed two nights in a two bedroom cabin. These cabins are huge and positioned so that you have total privacy. It is a couple of minutes drive from downtown Katherine which is not a bad thing. The kids loved the pool and I loved sitting on the deck looking over the trees having a beer. The park was extremely well presented. We cooked in the kitchen on one night only but found that they had every appliance that we needed. I would highly recommend this park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nerida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to have provided you with accommodation which meets or exceeds your expectations. We aim to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    38
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
32
96
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Very impressive camp site - only had price for powered site, so a little pricey for a tent camper like me, but they gave me a discount as they could see I wouldn't be using the power for air conditioning etc! A little way out of town but perfect for a quiet setting and close enough to town to be able to access things easily - also on the road to the gorges anyway, so convenient for visiting there. The facilities are fantastic - showers and toilets appear brand new and rival any quality hotel. Everything is immaculate and clean. There's a great laundry facility and nice camp kitchen. The sites aren't very grassy but leafy, which prevents too much dust rising. They are lovely and shady, though there is a danger of palm fronds dropping. There are also many birds and wallabies around the site which was lovely, though a little noisy at times!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our park. We have elected to make power available to all sites, it saves having mobiles, computers etc, charging in inappropriate places. it also gives you more choice of site to suit your particular requirements.
Due to our climate and water availability it is impossible to maintain green grass, however if you choose to visit again during our wet season you would be amazed at the transformation. We have a different variety of birdlife for your enjoyment as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the cleanest and well presented van park we have ever stayed in, amenities are fantastic with new toilet block. Everything is kept clean with nothing run down all well maintained. Owners are very friendly and helped us out when we needed to do repairs on our broken trailer. Owners took care of our gorge tour bookings and loved the faced it was away from town. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Justine000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our park, nice to know that we were able to assist with your broken trailer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in one of the self-contained cabins and found everything to be clean and comfortable, although the mattress could use replacing. It's nothing special, but it's all pleasant enough. At $180 a night, it's pretty expensive for what it is though. Would recommend staying outside of Katherine somewhere towards the gorge (like this) rather than in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loui-fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in one of our cabins. We are pleased to know that you found it to be clean and comfortable, and situated to your requirements. We at Shady Lane Tourist Park endeavour to deliver a quality product and feel that in our location the cabin costs are indicative of this value. We have noted you stayed during peak season for the Top End of Australia and this does bring a strong demand on all accommodation.
In addition, we are pleased to offer extended stay rates for those looking for a value holiday and wishing to stay in the area a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just left shady lane park, having stayed the last 3 nights there. We were recommended this park by some travelers we met and it was a lovely park.

Bathrooms are newly renovated and are light and bright!

Site are big and offer a lot of shad. We didnt even bother setting up our awning, because our whole site was is shad all day.

Good locating as it is half way between the gorge and the town.

Nice clean pool which also has some shad to cool off in after a day of site seeing at the gorge.

We recommend this park

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shellbells84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for recommending our park, we appreciate your comments and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place is spotless and the managers are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of clean amenities close to all sites, and lots of shade which would be most welcome in the warmer months. In a great position between town and the gorge. As with most parks in the NT, best to book ahead during June/July. Can thoroughly recommend Shady Lane.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. Its nice to know that you appreciate our efforts to present you with a clean and comfortable park in which to relax during your visit to Katherine. We hope you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this tourist park and found the facilities to be good. The toilet and showers were clean and the laundry great. The park is very neat and the managers very helpful. We had a great meal at the RSL Club. There is a courtesy bus that picks you up and brings you back to the park. As we were in a Britz van this was great. The meal was very nice and we had a fun time in the bus. Overall this park is in a great position, has internet access and is very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne B, Owner at Shady Lane Tourist Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay in Katherine, it's good to know that we were able to assist in this. Thanks for your review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#8 of 8 in Katherine
456 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#6 of 8 in Katherine
414 reviews
11.3 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 8 in Katherine
250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
313 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 8 in Katherine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Lane Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Lane Tourist Park

Property: Shady Lane Tourist Park
Address: 257 Gorge Road, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing