We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beagle Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beagle Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Katherine
Certificate of Excellence
Wyndham, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Yes it is just another motel but with a few extras that make it stand out from the normal motel.
The owners (filling in for the managers) were extremely helpful and friendly and go out of their way to assist you. The meals were good and well priced and served in a friendly dining room atmosphere. Even though everything is spotless and tidy, it is still and older motel. I agree with the previous reviewer in most that they said though our floor was clean, the sheets did have a cigarette burn in them and the rooms were a little lacking, but all in all, great value with friendly hosts. Have tried a few different places in town and this is definitely the pick of them. We are happy to only stay here any time we are going through.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Rowan,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, John and Prue, our lovely owners have our same philosophy. We all try to look after every need with a friendly manner.
It is also good that you noticed that we do little extra things. The very exciting thing is that we are starting a redecoration/ refurbishment on more rooms.
We hope to meet you next time and look forward to your future stay with us.

Regards,

Joanne and Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    96
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
144
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

sorry, for me this place was just ok. a motel and thats it.
very first thing we noticed was that the floor could have done with a sweep or quick vac as we had a few dead insects and spiders. the bathroom and bed linen were clean though. apparently this place had just finished revonvations but it seems like the room had been thrown together with leftovers. maybe tiles from my woggy grandparents house 30 years ago, a plastic towel rack? that wasnt even in the bathroom but in the main room / bedroom, a timber shelf that is too small to hold a decent size toilet bag, no bedside lamp, no bedside clock (would think standard in motel) only one bedside table that looks like it was picked up from a second hand store, curtains that could have been a little wider to block out more light. i also noticed something on top of the cupboard, and upon inspection found a dusty wine rack?

the location was good, close to town but off the main street so didnt get any noise, and the owners were quite nice and helpful. breakfast in the morning was really good too, bacon and eggs, fresh fruit and juices, bought to our door at the time we requested.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aahsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear ashsarah,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and sharing your experiences. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and found our service warm and friendly.

In only taking over management for the new owners seven months ago, we have also noted the issues outlined. All of these specific items are presently on order and we are awaiting delivery to impove even further our renovated rooms.

Prior to this year, we have directed all available expenditure towards the safely and comfort of our guests.

We are currently on a break and the new owners who take great pride in their property have ordered even more new furnishings and furniture which is very exciting.

The issue of dead insects is unfortunate for you to have found in your room. We are very diligent in regular pest control and as we had done our regular maintenance prior to your stay, we do have the little bugs turning their toes up after the cleaners have finished their duties. The rooms are fully cleaned daily after guest check-outs and all linen including, throws, towels etc are cleaned professionally by Katherine Laundry. We will keep a closer eye on this prior to people checking in.

Thank you again, and we certainly welcome you staying with us again in the future and we also wish you safe travels.

Regards,

Joanne and Sam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have previously stayed at other Katherine establishments and lived there for a time; we didn't know this place was so good. The Owners and Managers have obviously gone to a lot of trouble to make this ordinary spot into a fantastic one; they could certainly give other motels some tips on service and how to renovate. The people were warm and welcoming. The room was spacious, clean and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good with fresh fruit and nicely cooked eggs and bacon. On the whole very comfortable, relaxed environment and great value for money.

Room Tip: Any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rix_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Rix_11,

Wonderful to hear that you have stayed in Katherine before and were delighted with your accommodation and meals during your recent stay.
We are continuing to make improvements and upgrades to the motel all the time so we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived just after Christmas during low season, and made to feel very welcome. The room was very clean with a good sized fridge and bench space. The air conditioning was fantastic, and there was definitely adequate space for all our belongings. The bed was comfortable and we were able to relax after long drive and hike.

The service at The Beagle were incredible efficient and we were provided with handy hints about where to eat and what to see that time of the year. The breakfast provided was fresh, delicious and filling, and I suspect we were provided extra fruit given my partner is vegetarian.

Definitely my top pick to stay in Katherine. The location is very close to all the local supermarkets, and like most accommodation in town is about a 30km drive away from the Gorge and the start of all the hikes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear LinYJ,

Thank you for your time in writing a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all your adventures in the area.
We do try to accommodate special requirements such as vegetarians as best we can so it is great that you and your partner felt that you were looked after in this area.

Take Care,
Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Beagle Motor Inn from November 27th, 2012 to December 21st, 2012 as no rental accommodation was available in Katherine. Having neither been to Katherine nor the Northern Territory before and certainly never having experienced anything similar to such high humidity and temperature levels, I can't commend Jo, Sam and their staff highly enough for making me feel welcome. My room was impeccably bright and cleaned daily, there was always a friendly comment and smile from staff, split level airconditioning worked well despite being utilised 24 / 7 and no request was considered hard. Thank you very, very much. Regards, Derek (of Mildura).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derekbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Derek,
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We really enjoyed you staying with us and we hope to see you back in Katherine soon. Like you, we really appreciate those new air-cons that certainly keep us comfortable.
Regards,
Joanne and Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Leaving is what not to like.

From the moment we arrived after dark we were made to feel right at hone. Nothing was too much to help. These holidays have so far stayed at three other motels on way up from Sydney and the owners gave the impression of not wanting any customers but not here.

The rooms are clean but basic. Which is fine for us as only in room to sleep. The rooms are very clean, bathroom is great size and modern.

Being off the main road by about 700m there is no traffic noise.

Rate includes breakfast which was not expected and made a good room rate even better value.

Breakfast is outstanding. Bacon and eggs with two pieces of toast. Also fruit platter.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Gordon and Annette,
Thank you so much for your review. It was certainly a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to making you another yummy breakfast.
Safe travels and hoping to see you soon,
Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having stayed in every spot in Katherine we were very pleased to find The Beagle refurbished, spotlessly clean and very quiet. The couple running it are very friendly. Individually cooked breakfast and the evening meal was good home cooked fare at a very reasonable price. New comfortable beds and modern split system air conditioning puts them in a different class from their competition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne W, Manager at Beagle Motor Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
It is certainly lovely to know and receive feedback from a frequent visitor to Katherine.
We really hope to welcome you again in 2013.
Best wishes,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#9 of 9 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 9 in Katherine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#8 of 9 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 9 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
14.8 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
0.5 mi away
Paraway Motel
Paraway Motel
#4 of 9 in Katherine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beagle Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beagle Motor Inn

Property: Beagle Motor Inn
Address: Fourth And Lindsay St,, NT 0850, Katherine, Northern Territory 0851, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beagle Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Beagle Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing