We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Reception and check in was great, nice and quick as we'd pre paid our powered site.
Good sites, nice and shady. Amenities....could do with another block but it was ok for us as we were close. The Big Fig Bistro was nice but definitely book a table - and I advise an early seating. We booked for 6:30 our first night and had a twenty minute line up to order, then waited an hour for our meals - doesn't work for tired, hungry children! I wasn't impressed. There was only 1 waitress servicing everyone and I take my hat off to her for what she does. We tried again the next night but booked in at 5:30...much better. Food was good but I'd suggest putting something like kids size schnitzel or steak on the kids menu for those kids like mine who are in between little kids meals that don't fill them and adults meals they won't eat all of - just a suggestion!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Yo-Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Thank you again to the wonderful staff for making our stay so enjoyable. My husband's birthday dinner at the Fig Tree Bistro was delicious. We had a lovely big shady site and the amenities were very clean. The tropical gardens around the sparkling pool make for a relaxing way to spend an hour or two.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Yollie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely place to stay! Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, sites are well kept and spacious, facilities are spotlessly clean. Very relaxed atmosphere. I really enjoyed my stay and I will def return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackingmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed at the Big 4 Holiday Park in Katherine for 5 nights in June 2014. Can't say enough good things about our stay. Safari Tent was great, although no private facilities they were only a very short stroll away and they were very well maintained, very clean and well lit. The tent had a very comfortable double bed, towels, bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, portable air conditioned, bbq on front patio with plates and cutlery. They have a bistro which is open Tuesday to Sunday which served great meals which we tried for two nights and the other nights we used the bbq. The pool area was well maintained and very welcoming after a day out touring. The staff were friendly and informative about the area and they provided maps and guides for the attractions around the area. We really enjoyed out stay and would not hesitate to come again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

... for $180 a night I expect the TV to work (no signal in perfect weather). But the cabins are clean, a member of staff was even floating around the grounds after hours to give friendly directions, and aside from the standard Territory tax inserted into the price of every service in these parts, I've got no other complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Best place in Katherine. Great facilities and Clean. The staff just keep giving. Quiet and well positioned. Can't say enough about the place. Big sites and has a great restaurant to boot.
Front Office staff see to know what's happening, what're to go and where to stay away from.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank kenruss2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to the Kimberley and loved this place so much, we booked a return stay. A well planned park with lovely grounds, shady trees and a nice restaurant that gives a real tropical feel. Who needs Bali?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#7 of 8 in Katherine
476 reviews
3.3 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#6 of 8 in Katherine
425 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 8 in Katherine
258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Katherine River Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park

Address: 20 Shadforth Road, Katherine, Northern Territory 850, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Katherine
Price Range: $28 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Accommodation is set on 44 acres of parkland with abundant bird life. This is the perfect place to base yourself to explore Nitmiluk Gorge (Katherine Gorge) Edith Falls, Cutta Cutta Caves, Hot Springs & more. Enjoy happy hour in our out door Bistro/Bar, Entertainment nightly (seasonal May to Oct). We offer 8 fully self contained cabins, with open plan living, linen supplied, en-suite bathroom, split system R/C air conditioning, with disable facilities. Enjoy the experience of "Glamping" in our safari tents, suitable for couples or singles, all linen supplied and your own BBQ right on your doorstep. We also accomodate workers in our single bunkhouse rooms on a weekly or nightly rate. Our 165 shady grassed powered and 60 unpowered sites cater for tents, camper trailers, motor homes, caravans, 5th wheelers and big rigs. Large pool/spa, free BBQs, clean modern amenities, camp kitchens, laundry, washers, dryers, iron, dump point, public telephone, Wi-Fi, tour bookings, reception, kiosk, ice, LPG refills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing