We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had 5 nights here in our caravan - what a lovely enterance to a top quality park. The sites were large and shady with the amenities spotless. Lots of washing machines/lines in a well appointed area. Pool area lovely and a welcomed sight at the end of a day out. Had my hair cut here - a bonus, thank you. All the office staff and those working around the grounds were friendly and helpful. We were able to book all our tours here without any fuss.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback, and happy that you were able to take advantage of all the services we have on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    73
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
47
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but loved it. Camp sites were huge with green grass, amenities were spotless, food at the restaurant was delicious and staff were extremely friendly. What more could you want!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Sorry that you could only manage one night, but happy that you were delighted with your stay. Maybe next time you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Big 4 Caravan Park in Katherine during April 2013. The powered sites are huge and shady. The amenities are spotless. The pool is the best one we have encountered in our travels. The staff are friendly and fabulous. Our thanks to Di and Sue (and Judy!) from the Fig Bistro..... "restaurant quality" meals at good prices. This is a great park for the young, and not so young, traveller!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are delighted that you were happy with all of our facilities and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked in for a couple of nights and stayed for four. This caravan park is spacious, shady, full of bird life and has a beautiful pool, although I do understand that it fills to bulging in The Season. When we came back down from Darwin, we were unable to access the park across the river because of flooding and stayed in another park which wasn't a patch on this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer. It is a pity however that you could not locate our alternative access route on your return trip as we are not completely isolated when the river is in flood. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely, lush park. The grounds are beautiful and the pool is wonderful. Staff are friendly, knowledgeable, laid-back and helpful. We stayed in a cabin due to a downpour - very well appointed and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your response - we are gald you enjoyed your stay and are pleased we could accommodate you, even with the inclement weather! Your feedback is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a lovely Big 4 this is! as we drove in I couldn't help but notice how clean and manicured everything looked. There were large shady trees everywhere which was a welcome relief after being out in the NT sun.
We were travelling with friends and pre booked our accommodation from Darwin although travelling in the Wet there really wasn't a need.
We had choosen a couple of on site cabins which were well equipped with everything you would need. The air conditioning was turned on before our arrival and was a welcome relief when entering the cabin- Thank you Helen!
Outside our cabin under a beautiful big tree was a communal BBQ if you were keen to cook up a storm, or if you are looking for some cool relief the very large pool was a must, even if the water water temperture was 32% at the time of our visit - it was still great to get wet!
This Big 4 was in a great location (I thought) a little way out of town, so no traffic noise and you felt as though you were in a place miles from anywhere.
We were told that the van park fills to capacity over the dry season, so I was pleased that we stayed when things were nice and quite, suited us perfectly.
Would recommend this place as a place to relax for a few days.

Room Tip: If your budget lets you, choose a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baileysontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and comments. Perhaps you will be able to visit during the Bistro season sometime, to sit back enjoy a meal and entertainment and compare the two seasons. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had the 'pleasure' of a vehicle break-down in Katherine (with parts taking a week to arrive) and were directed to this park. Thanks to 'Princess Di' and the other staff it was the most relaxing week we had. The park is an oasis in this harsh outback town. Di is not only the cook at the restaurant by the pool, but also a hairdresser, so my husband and I both took advantage of her services. The park was close enough to town to ride our bikes in but far enough away to feel safe and serene! Even if you don't stay here make sure you visit the restaurant and have a mango daiquiri. Divine. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrummGapYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your response - we were very glad to be able to assist making your stay a pleasant one given your situation. Hopefully we will see you again sometime on the future under more "pleasurable" circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#8 of 8 in Katherine
443 reviews
3.3 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#7 of 8 in Katherine
408 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Katherine
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 8 in Katherine
243 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
16.6 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 8 in Katherine
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park
Address: 20 Shadforth Road, Katherine, Northern Territory 850, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Accommodation is set on 44 acres of parkland with abundant bird life. This is the perfect place to base yourself to explore Nitmiluk Gorge (Katherine Gorge) Edith Falls, Cutta Cutta Caves, Hot Springs & more. Enjoy happy hour in our out door Bistro/Bar, Entertainment nightly (seasonal May to Oct). We offer 8 fully self contained cabins, with open plan living, linen supplied, en-suite bathroom, split system R/C air conditioning, with disable facilities. Enjoy the experience of "Glamping" in our safari tents, suitable for couples or singles, all linen supplied and your own BBQ right on your doorstep. We also accomodate workers in our single bunkhouse rooms on a weekly or nightly rate. Our 165 shady grassed powered and 60 unpowered sites cater for tents, camper trailers, motor homes, caravans, 5th wheelers and big rigs. Large pool/spa, free BBQs, clean modern amenities, camp kitchens, laundry, washers, dryers, iron, dump point, public telephone, Wi-Fi, tour bookings, reception, kiosk, ice, LPG refills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing