We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mango Daiquiris At Sunset” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katherine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mango Daiquiris At Sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had the 'pleasure' of a vehicle break-down in Katherine (with parts taking a week to arrive) and were directed to this park. Thanks to 'Princess Di' and the other staff it was the most relaxing week we had. The park is an oasis in this harsh outback town. Di is not only the cook at the restaurant by the pool, but also a hairdresser, so my husband and I both took advantage of her services. The park was close enough to town to ride our bikes in but far enough away to feel safe and serene! Even if you don't stay here make sure you visit the restaurant and have a mango daiquiri. Divine. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrummGapYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your response - we were very glad to be able to assist making your stay a pleasant one given your situation. Hopefully we will see you again sometime on the future under more "pleasurable" circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    70
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
96
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

It was a lovely friendly place to stay, staff were very informative and helpfully to us amenities were clean lawns wereowed lots of shade and the pool was awesome after a warm day we will study there again and recommend to other travellers

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniWoods23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments and recommendations. Travel safe and hopefully you will return one day. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

By far one of the nicest parks we have stayed in - rooms were well above average and surroundings were beautiful. Close enough to centre of Katherine & springs etc but very peaceful for sleeping etc.
Grounds are gorgeous and the owner was so helpful and even smiled when we had missed normal checkout!
Great value and we will be visiting again :)

Room Tip: All the cabins looked beautiful! And the pool is central so any one of the rooms would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Glad to hear that you had a great weekend. Maybe next time try and visit in the Bistro Season and enjoy the nightly meals and entertainment. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped here a couple of times this year. Great park. Very clean amenities, a good size pool and an excellent Fig Tree Bistro. The food and wine were very good so didn't bother to cook ourselves.
The Low Level Park is almost next door as is the Hot Springs. The Springs is well worth a visit and is a great meeting place with visitors from all over OZ and world wide.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank oggysouthpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your response, we are very glad to hear that you visited a couple of times during the year, we appreciate your comments. Continue to enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

While we were traveling everyone said to us to go to the big four in Katherine ... So we did.
First Diane at the office was very nice and helpful, giving us a choice of a site..
The park was just beautiful. Almost thought we entered a national park.
The amenities were clean.
We decided not to cook so we ate at The Big Fig Bistro!! The entertainment was finished, we had a delicious meal (chicken curry) ... And omg the baked lemon and white choc cheese cake was to die for!
In fact I wanted to buy all the desserts in the fridge. Amazing!!!!!!
Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovelytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thankyou for your review and kind words. The bistro staff where pleased to hear your comments on the food, maybe next time you are here there will still be the live entertainment happening. Thankyou once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a lovely park to stay at. The grounds are well maintained and spacious. The pool is extra big and lovely to swim laps in! The location out of town is a plus as it is very peaceful. The booking and process over the phone was easy and we appreciated the discount given as we were in town for the swimming carnival. We (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed in a family sized cabin that had a queen bed and two sets of bunk beds. My only complaint is that the cabin was a bit too small for us and it should have been given a quick clean before we checked in. Insects are a way of life in the Top End but it would have been nice if the cobwebs (bathroom ceiling), cockroach droppings (kitchen drawers) and ant nest/termites (bottom of shower frame) had been cleared before we checked in. My trusty pack of disinfectant wipes came in handy. I personally think the cabins should only be for a max of 4 people. The kitchen is very small but would suffice if you are cooking simple meals or reheating things. I brought my own medium sized pot which helped. I know this review sounds negative but if you are looking for a nice place to stay in a cabin and you have 4 or less people I would say give it a try. I loved the location and the pool. The cabin itself was just too small for us and that would be the only reason I wouldn't stay again. If you have a caravan or just camping out this is a great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review, and your comments have been passed onto the cleaning staff. We also have made our bedding configuation a bit different, and the cabin you stayed in was the only sleeps 6 we have. The others have been changed to sleeps 4 or 3 for the exact reason you mentioned. Glad you enjoyed the pool, and the surroundings. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Katherine. The Park is very green with enough shade. The pool was very nice and the bathrooms were clean and spacious. There was an internet connection (wifi) around the Park, but this costs extra. The location is a bit outside the city, but this was ok for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIG4Katherine, Manager at BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Park, your words were appreciated, hope that you continue to have a great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katherine hotels
3.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Katherine
Ibis Styles Katherine
#9 of 9 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beagle Motor Inn
Beagle Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.2 mi away
Knotts Crossing Resort
Knotts Crossing Resort
#8 of 9 in Katherine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
2.2 mi away
Pine Tree Motel
Pine Tree Motel
#3 of 9 in Katherine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
16.6 mi away
Cicada Lodge
Cicada Lodge
#1 of 9 in Katherine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 Katherine Holiday Park
Address: 20 Shadforth Road, Katherine, Northern Territory 850, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Katherine
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Katherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Accommodation is set on 44 acres of parkland with abundant bird life. This is the perfect place to base yourself to explore Nitmiluk Gorge (Katherine Gorge) Edith Falls, Cutta Cutta Caves, Hot Springs & more. Enjoy happy hour in our out door Bistro/Bar, Entertainment nightly (seasonal May to Oct). We offer 8 fully self contained cabins, with open plan living, linen supplied, en-suite bathroom, split system R/C air conditioning, with disable facilities. Enjoy the experience of "Glamping" in our safari tents, suitable for couples or singles, all linen supplied and your own BBQ right on your doorstep. We also accomodate workers in our single bunkhouse rooms on a weekly or nightly rate. Our 165 shady grassed powered and 60 unpowered sites cater for tents, camper trailers, motor homes, caravans, 5th wheelers and big rigs. Large pool/spa, free BBQs, clean modern amenities, camp kitchens, laundry, washers, dryers, iron, dump point, public telephone, Wi-Fi, tour bookings, reception, kiosk, ice, LPG refills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing