We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Site”
Review of Nourlangie

Nourlangie
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.33*
and up
Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nourlangie Area features stunning rock art galleries and impressive views from Gunwarddehwardde lookout of Kakadu's escarpment and Nourlangie Rock.During the dry season you can learn more about the park's ancient heritage from ranger talks at the galleries, or enjoy a walk and relaxing picnic at Anbangbang Billabong.
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Site”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Besides being a lovely walk with great trails, the rock art is fascinating and varied. There are descriptive boards at each site with a very comprehensive explanation of the art. This really is great if you happen to go there without a guide. Certainly a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksAustralia, Public Affairs, Parks Australia at Nourlangie, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed the art explanation - not everyone can manage to be at the park when a guided walk is available so we try to cater for all visitors! We are currently working on revamping our interpretation throughout the park to make it even better – come back in a year or so! Regards, Tanya, Parks Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    171
    24
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Get out if the car and go for the walk, well worth the look”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fantastic ancient art work, tough remember to take your bottled water. Totally different to Ubirri Rock, though both are well worth seeing

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roara74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
637 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Superb Presentation”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I really love how the government presents historic sites like this. Clean and neat, the walking trails are either paved or groomed perfectly, the rock art (aka petroglyphs) is (are) safely (we hope!) behind low railings, and there is just the right amount of supporting information to make a few hours looking at the astonishing rock art a high point of the trip.

We also visited Ubirr and if it were not for the superb art and scenery there, Nourlangie would certainly deserve five stars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kairho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas and rock art”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The paintings are amazing - even though the ones closer to the base are recent, they are truly amazing and really capture the spirit of the land and culture. I liked the art here better than at Ubirr. The bugs were horrendous, however. When we were there the little black flies would not stop pestering us. Worth it nonetheless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneAKAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“5 Stars By Any Other Standard”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Only in comparison to Ubirr does Nourlangie rate 4 stars. Anywhere else in the world, it would be a 5 star attraction. The 20,000 year old rock art is humbling. We happened upon a tour being led by a ranger and eavesdropped. We were fortunate that we did, and I recommend hitching along with a tour if possible, as it really enhanced our understanding of the art. The forest and the view of Nourlangie Rock from the lookout are also amazing. Almost as amazing as Ubirr!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald-City N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksAustralia, Public Affairs, Parks Australia at Nourlangie, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We’re so glad to hear that you caught one of our free ranger-led walks – they are fascinating, aren’t they? As you will see from other reviews they are very popular! During the dry season the rangers lead a variety of free guided walks, as well as cultural activities and slideshows. Regards, Tanya, Parks Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourlangie also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Nourlangie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing