We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the walk”

Nourlangie Rock (Burrunggui)
Book In Advance
More Info
$196.92*
and up
Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nourlangie Area features stunning rock art galleries and impressive views from Gunwarddehwardde lookout of Kakadu's escarpment and Nourlangie Rock.During the dry season you can learn more about the park's ancient heritage from ranger talks at the galleries, or enjoy a walk and relaxing picnic at Anbangbang Billabong.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nourlangie is very conveniently placed not far from the main road so it is very easy to get there and walk around for 1.5 hours or so. Views from top are nice and the walk is very easy and even wheelchair friendly in the first section. But if you are planning to see only one rockart site - go to Ubirr. We did both of these in the same day and managed to travel to Litchfield as well so see both!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElvisKv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    166
    24
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woy Woy
2 reviews
“Thelma H”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went on a day trip with Darwin Day Tours to Kakadu National Park to Ubirr on 14 August. It was a very good trip. A small group in a mini bus and a very knowledgeable driver who was so very informative of the area and the Aboriginal caretakers. The Warradjan Cultral Centre was interesting. The Yellow Water Wetlands Cruise was a wonderful experience and the visit and climb at Ubirr was amazing. There is a lot of climbing on rocks to the top and I did not get all the way to the top but still had a wonderful lookout over the area. A camera is a must and good walking shoes, but be prepared for the climbing - must be very fit. We also had an enjoyable buffet lunch. There was a lot to do in one day but very much worth it. There is a fee to National Parks included in the cost of the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thelma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Interesting stop, but Ubirr is better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great rock art and a nice view from the look out. Explanations of the rock art are well done, and the layout is good. However, I felt Ubirr was far better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar_Retriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Rock!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited this rock site and viewed all the wonderful aboriginal rock art. Amazing history!! We hiked around on the short walking trail. Easy to moderate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a stunning view if you climb the 600 meter to the top of Nawurlandja lookout.
We saw our first Jabiru at Anbangbang Billabong while we walk the 2.5 kilometer around it.
Well worse the drive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nourlangie Rock (Burrunggui) also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Nourlangie Rock (Burrunggui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing