We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go in with your expectations set appropriately”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
boston, ma
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go in with your expectations set appropriately”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Going into this Lodge we knew it would be a rustic experience and that is what it was. We stayed in a larger lodge room for 3 (queen and single bedded). The bathroom was more of a camp style bathroom, nothing to write home about, but it was clean as was the room. The beds were quite comfortable and that came as a nice surprise. This isn’t the sort of room you would want to spend a lot of time in, but it did it’s job while in Kakadu.

We found the staff to be very friendly and the only glitch was trying to get a blanket as the second night of our stay turned quite cool and there is no heating. The blanket provided was extraordinarily light and we were turned down when we asked for a second. There might have been a language barrier with the staff member we asked I’m not sure, but new blankets are in order even though it doesn’t get cold here too long per year. When it does get cold you need a blanket, especially for the cost of these lodge rooms.

The grounds were very nicely kept but did have a few lights out, the pool was quite nice for the area, there was self serve laundry along with grills for guest use. This made our stay quite convenient.

Overall I would recommend a Lodge room for anyone who did not want to camp and who did want to be in the Yellow Waters cruise area. We were satisfied with our stay fully accepting the area was the main attraction and not the Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear chris1gill,

Thank you for posting your review, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback and particularly positive constructive feedback.

We do acknowledge that our rooms are a basic style and have plans for upgrading all rooms within the next 3 years, the bathrooms will definitely meet with your approval. I understand about the blankets and certainly agree that the nights can get chilly, unfortunately we had a mix up with an order that was placed and it has been sent to a different location, we are just tracking our order current so hopefully, warmer & more blankets should be onsite within 2 weeks.

I noticed the lighting had gone out, we have addressed this problem with the maintenance team, still, thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Once again, thank you for visiting us at Cooinda Lodge and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Vanessa Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    332
    218
    79
    33
See reviews for
210
422
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

$90 for 2pax, a little box with a comfortable bed, pillows, a/c and a table, chair, bedlight. Nothing fancy. Shared amenities were clean, showers hot, then cool, then hot. $99 for Yellow Waters cruise with an excellent after cruise breakfast with everything laid on hot & cold. Cruise had crocodiles within 5 minutes & two metres away. Lots of birds lots of crocs. Beautiful sunrise over the wetlands. Two pools for lazing, refreshing. Award winning restaurant didn't have many customers. Perhaps a tad expensive even for the Top End.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodge arae are all just boxes with enough room for a double bed and a small table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longbich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good evening longbich,

Thanks for your review, firstly can I just say that the rooms that you were describing are not our lodge rooms but the budget "outback" dorm style rooms located in the camp ground area. Our Lodge rooms are located in the accommodation part of the property offering a range of rooms... that said I do appreciate your feedback about the water temperature in the amenities area.

The sunrise cruise on Yellow Waters is a must see and did you know that you could have done an additional cruise for $25.00?

Kakadu is looking wonderful at the moment and we are hoping that Twin Falls might be open this weekend.

Do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip in the NT.

Kind regards
Vanessa Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Took the lodge room which was really small. $39 per person and it fits two on a double decker bed. You can barely move about in the room. It's just a double decker bed with a small table and chair.The insects come in during evening. If u want a room get a ensuite but you need to pay about $219 per room which we felt was too much to pay for a night.
We had an expensive dinner of just a Caesar salad and beer battered barramundi at the bistro and it cost $58.50. The food was definitely overpriced but you have no choice unless you cook your own food.
The pros of staying here is that it is so near to the yellow river cruise and there is a shuttle bus that brings you to the jetty. You just need to be waiting at the bus stop 20 minutes before the cruise. We went twice on the cruise - sunrise and sunset cruise. Both cruises were lovely! It runs all year round. Sunrise cruise comes with a buffet breakfast at the bistro which was nice with a pretty good spread. We were glad we stayed here if not, we have to wake up really early to get to the jetty for the cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationmaker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good evening vactionmaker2014

Thank you for submitting your review, the rooms that you have described are actually the Outback rooms that are a dorm style room. The Lodge Rooms are the ensuite style room that you mentioned in your review.

I have mentioned your concern about the price of the food at the Barra Bistro with the chef and we are looking at running a " daily special" to offer an alternative selection.

As you highlighted Cooinda is a great location if you are wanting to take part in the Yellow Water Cruises, glad you had a great time on both cruises.

The Park is definitely full of bird and wildlife and it's a magical time to visit.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the wet season, when Kakadu is a brand new experience.

Kind regards
Vanessa Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful from the moment of arrival. The room was a little old but clean and comfortable with a beautiful patio to relax with a drink after a day exploring. The only thing the room lacks is a toaster as sometimes you just don't feel like going to the buffet for breakfast. The bistro wasn't flash, no salad with the meal, both the steak and the fish were very oily but Mimi's restaurant is world class. You MUST try the Barra! The chef is amazing! The resort boasts two beautiful swimming pools, one walk in (more suitable for kids/families) and the other more like a large in ground pool suitable for laps. We did the early yellow water cruise which was awesome! Even though all of the Tours in the area were good and the guides were lovely people who knew their stuff I think that a local indigenous guide would have definitely added to the experience.
Tip: there are NO bottle shops in Kakadu and you will pay $40 for a $15 bottle of wine over the bar... Stock up before you enter the park if you would like a drink on your room's patio!
Also rooms don't have bowls, plates or cutlery. So if you wish to eat in your room and to avoid a 80 minute drive to Jabiru, stock up on the way in.
All in all it was a wonderful experience and we're looking forward to our next visit.

Ps: TAKE NOTICE OF THE CROCODILE WARNING SIGNS!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Good evening Stuart S

Thank you for your review, because we are based in a National Park we have to ensure that we don't encourage people to prepare food in their rooms as it tends to attract all types of "natural visitors of the insect kind" into your room... that said I also understand that a simple slice of toast, cup of coffee and sitting on the verandah in the morning taking in the beauty of Cooinda gardens would be very appealing...

I have spoken to the Sous Chef in charge of Bistro & there is no excuse for the standard of food that was presented, just wish I had seen you onsite so that I could have rectified the problem earlier. We are very proud of our Mimi's Restaurant and are hoping to win some Chef Hats awards in the not too distant future.

The pools are a great success and used often. Your comments about the price of alcohol is noted but please realise that we are a distance from Darwin and located in a "dry area" and work closely with the liquor authorises who assist us with our pricing structure so that we are practising responsible service of alcohol.

Hope to see you back in Cooinda within the next season so that you can try the "new seasonal" menu at Mimi's.

Kind regards
Vanessa Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The cabins were a little old but the lodge was quiet and had two nice swimming pools and pleasant staff. we had very relaxing stay with lovely yellow water cruise. It is far from everything though so seriously think about stocking up with food for your stay ( there was a fridge in the cabin). The shop is expensive and hasn't got much and unfortunately the restaurant is horrible and very expensive for what it offers! I had fish&chips the first night, it was dry... I had mushroom pizza and my husband had the chicken parmigiana the second night, couldn't eat it... We had breakfast the third day which offered powdered eggs and chewy bacon... The best stuff out of the whole place was the buffet - which was everything what they did not make themselves! Shame as there is no other eating option!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Holidaymaker 575

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review, as I have mentioned in previous comments I value all feedback and take all reviews seriously. I appreciate your comments about the lodge rooms, the surroundings and the staff and more importantly your honest feedback where we are not meeting the "food" requirements.
This is disappointing as we have managed to earn a great reputation in our newly opened Mimi's Restaurant and a high degree of satisfaction within the Bistro area but this obviously has slipped so I will be addressing this with the kitchen & F&B team today. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss your stay further as I really would like to apologise for the sub standard food during your visit.

I do hope the food experience didn't put you off the wonderful Kakadu National Park and our own Yellow Waters, on behalf of my team please accept my sincere apologises.

Kind regards
Vanessa Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked into a lodge room and combined it with an evening cruise. We had a very comfortable king size bed in an otherwise basic room. The staff were very friendly, and the buffet meals good value however We found the pizza very oily. The pools are fantastic but beware of the mossies after dark.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good morning AnnaD,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review, it's always a pleasure to read positive feedback and we do share this with our customers and staff.
I have taken note of comment about the 'oily pizza's " and will pass this information onto the kitchen.

The mosquito can be a little fierce at this time of the year, one o0f the few drawbacks about living next door to a world famous wetland.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Cooinda Lodge Kakadu in the not too distant future.

Regards
Vanessa Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Rooms appeared newly painted. Older but very clean spacious, couldn't complain about anything
Staff were excellent. Always friendly and helpful. The staff appear to love where they are working and this enthusiasm comes through. Two lovely pools in the complex. Lodge accommodation set in a beautiful tropical environment. Buffet meal excellent value and good quality food. Would prefer to stay here than in Jabiru as the environment is much nicer and is not so dry. The Yellow Waters sunrise and sunset cruises were lovely and the guides very interesting, knowledgeable. Highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2pollyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa T, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Pollyanna

Thank you for taking the time to submit your very positive review of the property, activities and staff. We do all love working here in the World Heritage Kakadu National Park, and being able to share our experiences with our guests.

I do hope that you will be planning a return journey to Cooinda in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kakadu National Park hotels
26.4 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,135 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
419 reviews
44.5 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooinda Lodge Kakadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Property: Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Address: Kakadu Highway, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooinda Lodge Kakadu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Kakadu National Park at the gateway to the world famous Yellow Water Billabong, relax and re-energise in the air-conditioned comfort of your room. The indigenous owned Cooinda Lodge Kakadu offers easy access to Yellow Water Cruises, Warradjan Cultural Centre, Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls, Nourlangie, bushwalks and boat entry and exit points for an exciting day of fishing. From our private airstrip take a charter plane for a spectacular birds eye view of Kakadu National Park. After a day of adventure or relaxing by our resort style pools, enjoy alfresco dining and drinks at Barra Bistro Bar or retire to your private patio for a spectacular sunset and natural beauty of the surrounding area. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu has 48 Lodge Rooms, 100 powered and 200 unpowered camping sites. The property has a lagoon pool, picnic and bbq areas, general store, fuel station, tours desk, alfresco bistro and bar, enclosed restaurant,kids playground. All of Kakadu's tours can be booked at the central hub of Cooinda including the award winning Yellow Water Cruises - 2011 & 2009 NT Brolga Award Winner - Major Tourist Attraction, Kakadu Tourism Advenure Tours, Kakadu Air scenic flights, Yellow Water Fishing Tours and much more. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu is indigenous owned business including Yellow Water wetland cruises, Kakadu Tourism Adventure Tours, cultural experiences and accommodation including Cooinda Lodge Kakadu and Cooinda Campground and Caravan Park. We have the largest collection of facilities catering to tourism in Kakadu and are focused on positive outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Kakadu Tourism is owned by the local Traditional Owners in partnership with Indigenous Business Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Cooinda Lodge Kakadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Lodge Cooinda Hotel Kakadu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing