We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile for the location but why couldn't the rooms be more attractive?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this over Jabiru for the location, since the two trips we wanted to do - Yellow Water and Jim Jim/Twin Falls - depart from nearby. But my heart sank on arrival. The reception staff seemed to be going through the motions, our rooms were not ready for almost half an hour, although we arrived at 15:30 and oh, they were ugly. Painted breezeblock with corrugated iron roofs. But that aside, they were clean and comfortable with excellent aircon. There are two attractive pools and good food at the Barra bar (the grilled barramundi was excellent). This place isn't great value for money, but given the limited options, I would choose it again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Curlykats64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Curlykats64,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 879 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We only had one night here but wished we had longer.
We stayed in a lodge room which was spotlessly clean and well appointed. It wasn't the height of luxury but it was a decent size and had everything we needed. There was an air conditioner (essential) as well as a ceiling fan so the room was very comfortable.
The little balcony out onto the gardens was nice place to sit. Some people may find the lack of a phone (or for that matter, the lack of any phone reception for those not on Telstra) a bit disconcerting. We found it a pleasant relief to be out of contact.
The bistro restaurant was a bit on the pricey side ($29 for a pizza seems a little expensive) but the food was good and the servings were enormous. We had a Kakadu tasting platter. It consisted of Roo skewers, crocodile bits, buffalo meatballs and barra pasties and was advertised as an entree (first course) for two at $40. Add a $12 plate of wedges and it would have been plenty as a main course for two.
We liked the fact that the eating area was outside. There were ceiling fans to keep us comfortable. However, I know some people would prefer to eat indoors in air conditioned comfort.
We also liked the casual atmosphere. The area was shared by campers, caravanners and hotel guests. The bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
There was a small shop attached that sold all the basic items one would need - sunscreen, basic foodstuffs etc. It was expensive, as one would expect in such an isolated area, but more than accommodated emergency supplies.
The entire area had a happy, holiday feel.
There were a couple of pools which were well patronised. The pool area wasn't flashy but pleasant and clean. Lots of kids around, but it was the first week of the holidays.
The only unpleasant experience of the stay was stepping on a cane toad on the grass on the way back to the cabin after dinner - but I can hardly blame the management for that.

Room Tip: Rooms near the bar/bistro mean a shorter walk in the dark to get back after dinner. Take a torch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here with family who had travelled over from the UK. The lodge rooms were clean, good air con (effective and quiet at night) and a fabulous shower but just plain ugly. Imagine a breeze block garage with the door replaced with glass and painted orange.

The best features are of course the location but also the food in the bar was by good. We were told it would be expensive but coming from Sydney it was anything but....the steak was $30 which I thought was good value. We ate there two nights in a row and had a fair selection from the menu. All great quality and the side was good too.

We really enjoyed our stay and given that the park is generally expensive I would recommend this as a place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights in the campground. Excellent location, facilities and helpful staff. 2 pools - one massive and one smaller - outstanding. Nice outdoor bar area but let down by very poor quality evening meals. I don't mind paying a premium if the quality is good......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otis1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in Lodge 42 We seemed to always had problems with our TV, Door and Air conditioner, Susan the manager on Duty was exceptional, nothing seemed to bother her and was always so helpful with a beautiful a smile, she managed to rectify any issue we had which made our stay and the little hiccups nothing to stress over. Emma at reception was very knowledgeable and very bubbly. We did the 6:45am sunrise cruise as recommended by Susan and what can I say AMAZING! We saw so much wildlife, the misty scenery was spectacular. Bistro meals are quite expensive roughly about $30 for a meal and very slow service, communication barrier with the food till girl but overall good meal. It was a short stay but a great one. Thank You COOINDA! Will Return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a week stay in Gagudju Cooinda in one of their lodge rooms and couldn't be more happy with our experience. The reception staff were excellent, especially Emma, Kristy and Susan. They were always happy to help, offering us accurate advice about day trips around the area. The rooms were clean and spacious, and have air con- which is very important when the average temp was 36 degrees during our stay. The rooms are quite pricey, but on the whole I think worth the cost considering you're right in the middle of Kakadu and close to yellow waters which a great set off point for several tours.

Meals are pretty expensive so I'd suggest bringing your own food to the resort- there aren't any other options in the area because it is so remote. It has a really big swimming pool, spa and several bush walks start from the property. As stated above, the proximity to yellow waters cruise and fishing tours- about 10 minutes walk- is a huge bonus, both are really good tours, you see lots of crocs and wildlife and I caught two barramundi. It's also close to Warradjan cultural centre and noulangie rock which has lots of Indigenous rock art. As roads to all these places are paved i'd suggest driving down from Darwin in a rental- we got a Yaris which was fine.

All up we had a great experience on our stay and are definitely considering another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reubena2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here on recommendation.
Staff were friendly enough.
One of the swimming pools was out of order which was disappointing as there were slot if people in the other one.
The unpowered sites are quite a distance from the toilets and showers.
The facilities were reasonably clean but the shower room was hot and humid making it uncomfortable.
Camping is a bit $$ for what is provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Amelia S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kakadu National Park hotels
26.4 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,223 reviews
16.1 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
436 reviews
44.5 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooinda Lodge Kakadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Address: Kakadu Highway, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Kakadu National Park
Price Range: $80 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooinda Lodge Kakadu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Kakadu National Park at the gateway to the world famous Yellow Water Billabong, relax and re-energise in the air-conditioned comfort of your room. The indigenous owned Cooinda Lodge Kakadu offers easy access to Yellow Water Cruises, Warradjan Cultural Centre, Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls, Nourlangie, bushwalks and boat entry and exit points for an exciting day of fishing. From our private airstrip take a charter plane for a spectacular birds eye view of Kakadu National Park. After a day of adventure or relaxing by our resort style pools, enjoy alfresco dining and drinks at Barra Bistro Bar or retire to your private patio for a spectacular sunset and natural beauty of the surrounding area. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu has 48 Lodge Rooms, 100 powered and 200 unpowered camping sites. The property has a lagoon pool, picnic and bbq areas, general store, fuel station, tours desk, alfresco bistro and bar, enclosed restaurant,kids playground. All of Kakadu's tours can be booked at the central hub of Cooinda including the award winning Yellow Water Cruises - 2011 & 2009 NT Brolga Award Winner - Major Tourist Attraction, Kakadu Tourism Advenure Tours, Kakadu Air scenic flights, Yellow Water Fishing Tours and much more. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu is indigenous owned business including Yellow Water wetland cruises, Kakadu Tourism Adventure Tours, cultural experiences and accommodation including Cooinda Lodge Kakadu and Cooinda Campground and Caravan Park. We have the largest collection of facilities catering to tourism in Kakadu and are focused on positive outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Kakadu Tourism is owned by the local Traditional Owners in partnership with Indigenous Business Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cooinda Lodge Kakadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Lodge Cooinda Hotel Kakadu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing