We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Kakadu Resort(Kakadu National Park)
$152
$147
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel(Kakadu National Park)
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveler rating
176
356
237
82
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
356
237
82
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooinda lodgeyellow waterpowered sitecamp kitchencaravan parksunrise cruisecamp groundshuttle buscamping areapools are greatair conamenities blockcane toadswet seasonsmall shopswimming poolbarramundi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 887 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked to stay in one of the villa's at the lodge for 2 nights and had the most amazing time. The location is excellent and the facilities are great. The room had everything you needed including a fridge and bottled water. We where also able to park the car right near the villa. The peace and quiet was lovely and we loved just relaxing round the pool and in the bar. The food is 1st class and the staff in the restaurant and bar where so lovely and polite. We did the Yellowater Billabong cruise which just really made the stay even better. The guide was fantastic and so informative and desperatly tried to keep us cool in the heat. We will definatly be coming back as the whole stay was just brilliant. Thank you all :-)

Room Tip: The rooms are all very close together with some patios facing each other so you do not get much privacy. Our room faced the car park which was great as we where near the car but again not private especially at 4/5 in the morning when everybody was leaving. The only tip I can give is to request a room with a little privacy if this bothers you. We really didnt mind though.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for writing a review for Gagudju Lodge Cooinda!

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in our lodge room. Lagoon Style Pool is definitely one of the big attractions for families visiting Gagudju Lodge Cooinda.

I will ensure that you lovely feedback is shared with the entire team here as they all strive to deliver best guest experience to each and every guests that visits Kakadu.

During your visit, did you manage to see the iconic Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn Hotel in Jabiru? Building exterior is uniquely shaped as a Saltwater Crocodile.

We hope to welcome you again to Kakadu National Park.

Best Regards

Scott Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The lodge is in a great location with access to all major tourist attractions just down the road. One day we may be back, but not for a while.

My wife and I had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed sitting in the bistro, drinking beer and watching the storm belt down around us.
The main meal and pizza was great but the desert should be skipped. You should also be selective when going through the breakfast buffet. It looked and tasted like it had been prepared and kept warm for the past 3 days. I would suggest you stick with toast and jams as the milk for the cereal tasted as though it was long life. I saw that espresso coffee was made with fresh milk but isn't included in the buffet.

The room was basic and clean - that's about it.

Although we enjoyed watching the storm, getting to the bistro at the start of it was a challenge. The paths couldn't cope with the rain in the first 5 minutes, let alone 1 hour. We could just about swim to the bistro with the water on the paths ranging from 0cm to 5cm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write a review for Gagudju Lodge Cooinda.

You have rightly pointed that Gagudju Lodge Cooinda is ideally located to visit major attractions in Kakadu National Park such as Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls, Yellow Water Cruises, Nourlangie Rock and Warradjan Cultural Centre. I hope you got to see it all while you were here. I see that you visited Kakadu during the Green Season and enjoyed the Storm passing by. Green Season in Kakadu is very colorful and special.

You will pleased to hear that paths to the lodge rooms will be replaced this year along with refurbishment of the lodge rooms. Heavy Rain here in Kakadu is really hard on these paths. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience and also for the quality of breakfast during your stay. I will personally ensure that Breakfast quality is improved.

Operating in remote location bring its own challenges. At all times, team here at Gagudju Lodge Cooinda ensures that we are serving fresh food to all our guests.

We hope to see you again in the Dry Season and once again thank you for writing a review for us. If you have any stunning photos of the storm or Yellow Water Cruise, please feel free to share it with other visitors on Gagudju Dreaming Facebook Page.

Best Regards

Scott Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in our caravan. The yellow waters river cruise sunrise & sunset (including breaky) was magnificent and excellent value for money. Bistro meals pretty pricey. Thought the park was sensational it was so clean and quiet. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAZZA1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott R, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you very writing an amazing review for the campground and Yellow Water Cruises.

Campground at Gagudju Lodge Cooinda is ideally located to explore what Kakadu has to offer. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your feedback with the team here.

Did you know Yellow Water Cruise won a Gold at National Tourism Awards for Major Tour Operator held in Hobart this month. Team here is really proud of this achievement.

Did you manage to visit Warradjan Cultural Centre during your visit to Kakadu? Visit to the Cultural Centre compliments the information about the local mob that you learn during Yellow Water Cruise.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with us and other travelers.

Best Regards

Scott Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a donga but when I saw it, I said NO WAY! It was bunk beds and tiny with lino floor + a/c. We arrived at night while raining and there is inadequate lighting so we stumbled around in the dark with no help from staff. One of the local indigenous men helped us with our luggage. He is a partner in the business. We upgraded to a villa which was really cheap. It was roomy and comfortable with a double and single bed. Coffee and tea-making available and mini-fridge. The food was very expensive but 5star as it comes in on a huge road-train and they use a generator for energy.We ate water buffalo, kangaroo and crocodile but I didn't like it. Buffalo is black and very salty. Croc isn't pleasant. Roo is tasteless! It is a beautiful resort. The pool was incredible.Lots of birds wander around in the grounds. We stayed there 2 days. The internet cafe wasn't available as it needed fixing which was disappointing but they let us use their computer near the office and shop. We did a river cruise which was great as the wetlands were flooded being the rainy season.

They have camping and those horrid dongas! The shop sells limited food to cook and it's very expensive.

Would go back there for longer as there are quite a few things to do which we didn't have time for.

Don't go there in the rainy season unless you have an off-road car! We couldn't get to another resort because it was flooded. We were concerned this place would flood and would be stuck there.

The area is very flat so flooding is imminent. We drove through a lot of water in our small hire-car!

Room Tip: The villas/rooms are the best value. There wasn't anyone next to ours or near us. They have fly-screens which you will need as mosquitoes & flys are prevalent.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purpleboo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch G, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking some time out to write a review for us.

Our lodge accommodation rooms are a great place to get some rest after exploring what Kakadu has to offer. Thank you for recognizing the costs that we face in running a Bistro & General Store in a remote location.

We are now in the Green Season. Compared to the Dry Season the Green Season is beautiful as Kakadu National Park is full of colour. The electrical storms are a thrill to watch and Yellow Water billabong is even more spectacular. There is stunning rock art around the National Park which is accessible all year round at Nourlangie Rock and Ubirr.

Kakadu Air also runs Green Season scenic flights from Jabiru and Cooinda where they fly you over Jim Jim and Twin Falls.

Did you get the chance to capture any great photographs whilst you were with us? If you did please share them with us on the Gagudju Dreaming Facebook page.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards

Scott Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here on the 27th and 28th of December and loved it. The pool was fantastic the only down side is the places are really close together and on our first night other guests partied until well into the morning keeping us awake. They should really have a cut of time for people partying as not to disturb other guests

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyandbrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch G, General Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Good Morning and thank you for taking time out to write a review about Gagudju Lodge Cooinda.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise issue that you faced on the first night of the stay. We most certainly do not permit late night parties in the lodge area where other guests can be impacted. Please contact one of our Guest Experience Managers if you come across any of these issues during your next stay with us.

I do hope that you managed to cruise on the Yellow Water Billabong during the Green Season. Wetlands look stunning during this time of the year.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we will look forward to having you back here in the coming year.

Happy New Year!

Best Regards

Scott Russell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews