We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed here for 1 night for our 2 day visit to Kakadu. I concur with the comments of the previous poster, but you must keep in mind that you are in the middle of nowhere, and there really arn't a lot of choices to be had in regard to hotels. We had the problem of our room not being ready at 5pm, but they quickly got in and did it. I was told that this is because some of the miners stay here, and don't leave until late in the afternoon for their next shift......??? Anyway apart from that and the shower curtain, I couldn't really complain - not when you consider where you are in the world. The Yellow River Cruise and the East Alligator River Cruise were just amazing, along with Ubirr......can't believe it has taken me 50 years to visit our own backyard.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    418
    385
    117
    61
See reviews for
248
592
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

My partner and I decided to have a night away in this hotel and visit some of the sites of Kakadu that we had not yet seen. And to tell you the truth we were quite disappointed with what we got compared with what we paid. The foyer was lovely and very attractive but i felt it was only to make me more disappointed when entering our ground floor room. The rooms are spacious and clean but are in need of a great deal of attention. There was holes in the wall for the power cables to come out of which were hidden by the bed side table and desk instead of proper power outlets (powerpoints) mmm a little scary!

There was also a great deal of mould growing on the ceiling and walls in the bathroom. The shower curtain was something that annoyed me a great deal because it was to short and the water would flow out all over the bathroom floor.

The pool was nice and much needed after a hard day touring but it's setting wasn't anything to brag about. We also dinned in the restaurants that night and i must say i was pretty impressed with its presentation and the food although a little expensive (but people will pay it in the middle of no were). The staff were friendly enough but they need to work on their service standards just a little in the restaurant.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank j_is_back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

This place really is shaped like a crocodile

Do not come here if you want a life - it is full of pensioners - albeit very nice ones - one coach trips and the restaurant and all signs of life close down at 9pm - not good if you are jetlagged and out of sync

The town has absolutely nothing to recommend it and you are better off going down the road to one of the lodges where apparently they at least have BBQs and some kind of normality

Breakfast with one toaster, one coffee machine and about 100 people was also interesting - not

Rooms are clean but that's about it

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Go!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank helliebabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Rooms were clean and comfortable and fresh smelling without obvious perfumes. Yes, in some respects a little tired, but it only claims to be 3 star so you're not going to get a standard of appointment warranting 4 or 4.5 stars. We requested a ground floor room for companion with physical impairment when booking (directly by phone), but like most places during our trip this wasn't delivered until we challenged the room allocation. Loved the ground floor location, we had a door onto a patio, with a gate directly into the pool area, which was most convenient. No swimming in the creeks etc in the northern part of the national park, so the hotel pool is the best way to cool off.
The restaurant was very nice, though not the standard of service you find where a source of professionally trained wait staff is available. Menu is dominated by bush tucker flavours and ingredients, a good place to be a bit adventurous, our selections were delicious. The restaurant is deserted at lunch time, we found the meals were enormous at lunch.
We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Snodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2005

The Gagudju Crocodile is located inside the Kakadu national park. In that area only a few hotels are available and they are often placed at >30Km one from each other.

The Gagudju Crocodile has the usual Holiday-INN standards even it is placed in a rather remote location. This explains why it is over-priced but also the other hotels in the Kakadu area follow the same trend. Making a very early booking through the Holiday-INN web site we were able to spend around 140 euro per night and I think this price is very good value for money.

Room was spacious and clean (I found some ants in the bathroom but this is absolutely normal in tropical areas). There is also a nice (though expansive) restaurant. A swimming pool is available as well.

We have chosen this hotel among the other 3-4 available in the Kakadu park because of its location and we were right. Jabiru is the ideal place to visit Kakadu as you are equally distant from the most beautiful places to see (Ubirr, Nourlangie, Yellow Water...).

If you want to stay closer to nature in a more informal environment I would highly suggest the Gagudju Lodge Cooinda that is really nice (I visited it going South).

The Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile is a high quality hotel placed in the middle of the wonderful Kakadu National Park and I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ergon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2004

Stayed here in April, good budget priced rooms, basic but comfortable, however it was easy to get lost around the complex. The hotel is shaped like a huge crocodile, I was frequently wandering lost around the right foot!!. Trying in vain to find my room The corridors are very dark in the evening, and resemble a prison!!. and not a place to go if you dont like the " Creepy Crawlies". at night.
Restaraunt and staff were excellent however.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wildenfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 20, 2004

For a very high price you can stay in this nice hotel inside the Kakadu park. Rooms are clean and service is ok, although a bit below Holiday Inn standards. The facilities are old but well maintained. Ask for a room at first floor, since at ground floor there are more ants...

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
409 reviews
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
139.9 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
22 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Property: Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing