We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

At check in I was informed that the pool was unavailable which I wasn't happy about as I go to a resort style place to sit around the pool of an afternoon to unwind and relax because thats what holidays are for. The check in guy seemed very unsympathetic about it but did offer us free passes to the local pool (which I'm still waiting for) but if I wanted to go to the local pool I might as well have stayed at the local pub.
The rooms were reasonably spacious with good comfy beds and A/C. There is only provisions for coffee & tea making. There's no kitchenette, toaster,cutlery, plates etc.
The resturant is nicely set out but the indigenous folk sit at the tables and chairs outside it getting up to their antics which is very off putting. The dinner meals are a bit better than a standard pub meal but are about $5-$8 over priced per main meal. I didn't have breakfast there but it looked to be well set up with a lot of baynmaries so there may be a good selection. The restaurant staff are very accommodating and plesant.
All in all I'd have to say it was less than I expected and under whelming for the money. The rooms and complex on a whole are dated with little to no renovation having been done since the place was built in 1988 (appart from the pool area that is grrrr). 6/10

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank hotchi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear hotchi63,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,160)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our room was well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and nice furniture. The staff attentive.
I was very disappointed that the pool area was being repaved and therefore out of use. I would have not minded if I was told this when I booked by phone 2 days before our arrival. Also the two rooms we booked were directly Infront of the pool area where the men were working so the outlook was a dirty, dusty worksite.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Kylie252,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you liked our room accommodations, comfortable bed, furnishings and attentive staff. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. However, I am sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to the work activities at the pool area. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Staying during the wet season the numbers are low but not the prices. The hotel is a bit of a novelty for the children. Where else in the world can you stay in a crocodile shaped hotel. But as soon as we walked in the room the musty smell was off putting. Further, having the indigenous locaks drunk and continuing to drink around the exterior of the pool area is not a good look. Particularly when bar staff chip you for not wearing shoes but serve intox locals!Otherwise hotel was okay. Good by standards of the Territory. Many tourists need to realise this is the Territory and they beyond reality. This is the bush, the outback and one if the most amazing environments on the earth. Take it for what it is and you will enjoy it. Will come back in the dry to experience the busy time but not at this hotel. Needs work and improvement.

1  Thank hrthb08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear hrthb08,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the other patrons of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent one night here and the place was almost empty as the main road from Darwin was flooded. Having stayed in other resort Holiday Inns our expectations were not that high but we were really pleased with what we found. Lovely big well appointed rooms, impeccably clean and with high class fittings and bathroom freebies. The air conditioning was the quietest and most efficient we have ever experienced.
The meal was generally pretty good and the breakfast was excellent.
And it was good value for money with the room and breakfast for two costing less than £100. A pleasant change from Australia's generally high prices.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Gavin B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay.

It was pleasing to read that we exceeded your expectations and your stay was enjoyable. This time of year is certainly a fantastic time of year to see Kakadu National Park with the waterfalls particularly spectacular from the air and the scenic cruises across the wetlands exceptional.

All the best with your future travels.

Best regards,

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room had seen better days. My room had a terrace and overlooked the pool. Bathroom was small, the tub had a hand shower. There was a safe in the room and it was nice to have iced water in the refrigerator. Because of the humidity, my clothes felt damp in the morning. Dinner and breakfast were fine. I did enjoy the art work in the common area. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby for 20 min/day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJV1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear LJV1515,

I am pleased to advise that we have started a soft refurbishment of some of our bathrooms with approximately half of our rooms to be completed over the coming months prior to our high season.

The indigenous art from Kakadu National Park and Arnhemland regions is truly unique and I am happy that you enjoyed the pieces in our gallery.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Crocodile Hotel and all the best with your future travels.

Best regards,

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in January 2014, the wet (and low tourist) season. It was still pretty busy, with quite a few families with young children as well as single young people and couples.

We'd got a good low season deal and with that, it represented excellent value.

I liked the fact it was owned by the local people; and the location was perfect for the places we wanted to see in the 1.5 days we had to look around.

The reception staff were excellent, very helpful indeed; and the housekeeping staff were also brilliant, finding a special necklace I'd lost in the room, in the days after I left. The staff even got it to me in Darwin via a tour guide who was heading back in to Darwin. Much appreciated!

Min from reception gave us excellent advice about places to go, distances, road closures etc and we followed her advice and had a great, and safe, time.

The main foyer is very impressive, with a gallery of local artist's work and a large water feature, as well as a small gift shop. It really looks good.

The rooms were quite spacious (not 5 star, but very comfortable and on a par with the Darwin Hilton where we'd stayed just prior) and it was a relief to be able to open up the room to fresh air, and feel the weather (as humid as it was), after the hermetically sealed Darwin Hilton.

The restaurant was great - reasonably priced and good quality, well prepared food. Service was good too.

One thing that surprised me was that more local people weren't working at the hotel, but I'm sure that's a whole other issue.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have a small patio, but they're not at all private. Upstairs rooms don...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeaRose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the hotel prior to going on the Yellow Water cruise. She had been to Jabiru when the hotel had first opened and says it is now looking a little tired. The room was clean and comfortable enough but certainly not 5 star. The staff at reception were very friendly. We arrived just after noon and found there was no food obtainable at the hotel but luckily the bakery in Jabiru was still open for us to buy some takeaway food which was certainly needed after a 350km trip from Darwin.

We dined at the Escarpment restaurant for dinner that night. The floor staff (Payden) was very surly and not very welcoming. Cameron, the barman, was the opposite and very friendly and should be commended for making us feel welcome at the hotel.

We stayed at the hotel because of it's unusual shape of a crocodile but found it wasn't very convenient if going on the Yellow Water cruise which is another 40 minutes drive away. If you are going on the cruise staying at Cooinda is a better option.

The lack of undercover car parking meant that the car interior was like a furnace every time we went in it. Also the downpours of rain so common in NT made getting to the car a soaking experience.

It was value for what we paid but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnjohn1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear lynnjohn1955,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our facilities and the service you received. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range: $76 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing