We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Adelaide, sa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great spot”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

excellent spot and close to all of kakadus attractions - make sure you take the aeroguard though. Perfect spot for families and the fishing addict alike. Also very cheap rates and excellent bar and restaurant

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thisislivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    426
    393
    119
    61
See reviews for
255
602
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

You only stay here for it's proximity to all the attractions of Kakadu. It close to it all and the hotel itself is quite adequate. The rooms are not big but ok and the restaurant has good meals. Quite a busy hotel with groups but we consider it a good place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank islandsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a great 2 nights here, very comfortable accommodation all round. Emma at the desk was especially helpful, nothing was a problem. The pool was great and the restaurant catered for everyone's needs. We had an upstairs room overlooking the pool. A lovely time had by all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AshbyHouseMotorInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel particularly. The rooms were ok, but rather motel like. The pool was small, not very clean, and had no-where to sit in the sun ( coming all the way from UK where there was a heatwave we did want to have a little sunbathe...!). But the restaurant was the worst bit. Huge buffet at all meals and most people in big tour groups. Bright lights and no ambiance at all. It is convenient for Ubirr, but for all the other sights we visited we would have been better more south in the park, ie Cooinda ( see separate review!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trotterstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear trotterstours,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Kind regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August 2013, while exploring Kakadu National Park (and a day trip into Arnhem Land).

After the drive from Darwin, it was lovely to have a cool swim in the pool and relax in air conditioning before dinner.

Our room was upstairs (our choice), on the car park (Western) side of the resort - in the croc's belly (between the 2 sets of stairs ... being the croc's legs). We wanted to be in a quiet spot a bit away from the pool - and it was a good location for us.

We had buffet breakfast (included in our booking) and dinner in the resort's restaurant each day of our stay. We chose the buffet dinner but you can also choose from the a la carte menu. There's a bar area adjoining the restaurant too ... all close to the pool.

The room was very comfortable, and we slept really well in the comfy bed. Because we were upstairs, we opened the window at night for fresh air (I don't like sleeping in a/c), and we were awoken by the morning sun and lovely cool(ish) air coming in the window. If you have a room was on the East side of the resort, you'd get the hot afternoon sun coming through the window...something to be aware of.

Some have mentioned that the rooms are looking a little 'tired' ... yes, the bathrooms could do with a refurb but they are still fine. Remember you are in a remote / outback area of Australia (nowhere near a city) - I found the standard totally OK, and the room was kept very clean by housekeeping.

Likewise with the food served at the restaurant, the selection and freshness was very good considering the distances that all the food has to travel, daily! OK, you won't get the latest restaurant / food trends served up ... but you will get the sort of food served in a Holiday Inn restaurant pretty much anywhere else. The chef offered me a taste of the crocodile risotto on our first night (from the a la carte menu), and it was very tasty ... for something a bit different.

Everything seemed more expensive in the Northern Territory than elsewhere in Australia for some reason ... due to transport / fuel costs, remote location I guess. Accommodation is no exception. But I think this place is the best standard of accommodation you'll find in Kakadu.

The reasons we chose this accommodation: location is central to see almost everything in Kakadu (we spent 1 night at Cooinda too - for Yellow Waters cruise, and Animal Tracks tour), air conditioning was a must for us, easy options for food (as we were out exploring all day we didn't want to go far at night), and a lovely pool.

When we go back to Kakadu another time, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool and restaurant are quieter. No lift that I could see - you need to carry l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisvegasDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamuran
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel was staffed by attentive locals who advised us on the sites to visit. The food service was excellent, and reasonably priced. There's not much to visit in the town, but the resort has everything that any person would want in the middle of Kakudu.
They even held breakfast until we had returned from a scenic flight over the area. Now that was the absolute best element of our visit!!
I don't agree with previous reviews re state of the property. It appeared to be OK to us, and true to its advertised standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_DWamuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Although clearly showing it's age, the Croc offers a great night's sleep, good tucker and cold beer. My wife and I stayed three nights here while visiting various attractions - all well worth seeing. Although aging, the room was comfy and clean and the bed was excellent. The staff were great - those at reception were very friendly and helpful, and elsewhere little different. The pool was refreshing; clean and shady. Brekky was good value and dinner at the Escarpment was tasty, albeit a little on the expensive side. Wine by the glass was at better than usual prices, though.
This is not the best hotel we've stayed at, but it is a perfect home base for visiting the nearby attractions (do not miss Ubirr or Nourlangie!) and we are more than happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Property: Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing