We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

One of several stays at the Croc while we were living in Darwin for 6 months. Great place to explore Kakadu from. Well worth the extra money in room rates compared to other options. Staff went the extra mile to make our stay very enjoyable. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandRNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear KandRNZ

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. My staff and managers were blown away by the score of five you gave us and it has provided the whole team with the impetus to continue to strive for excellence. I hope you have the opportunity to come and visit us again if you are back up this way in the future.

I am sure you got to see Ubirr at sunset and did at least one Yellow Water cruise during your many visits to the park.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    418
    385
    117
    61
See reviews for
248
592
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We loved our four days at Gagudju, which was a great base to explore the park. The hotel has crocodile-inflected decor that somehow works,the mostly young staff were very helpful, as was the ranger at the nearby information centre, and you really do feel like you are somewhere far away from the city, but with enough comfort at hand. Can really recommend being there in the wet season - less tourists, and stunning views and walks. We took the sunrise Yellow Waters cruise, visited Ubirr at sunset (twice) and with the assistance of the receptionist booked a one hour scenic flight (just us and the pilot) which, like just about everything else we did, was magical. We did several walks, and finished most days with a swim in the pool, which was nice and cool thanks to the shade cloth. Our spacious room opened out to the pool, lovely garden setting, only drawback was the bathroom lacked ventilation, and the power points behind the beds needed some serious attention where they attached to the walls. Breakfasts were basic and filling, although fresh brewed coffee would have been a plus. We had an à la carte dinner twice in the restaurant and enjoyed it both nights, wine and food were all good, and two nights we made simple salads from food we bought at the local supermarket in our room so we could watch the tennis. Would definitely return if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Ground floor, opening onto pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerilynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MerilynF

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. WOW you really managed to see and do a lot in the park while you were with us and it is pleasing to read that the hotel was a good "home" base for you while you were here. I agree, the wet season is a great time of year to visit the park with completely flora and fauna from the dry season as well as not being so crowded. This year in particular, it has been a particularly mild wet season with all access to all the good attractions still open.

You must come back in the dry season and visit Jim Jim and Twin falls as well as Gunlom so you can complete the total Kakadu experience.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The is probably the best accommodation in Jabiru. The hotel is close to the shopping centre and the visitors centre is a pleasant 2 km walk away, although I recommend you do this in the morning. The restaurant food and service was very good. The buffet breakfast had a good rabge of food to select from and the dinner menu and food quality were of a very good standard and the pool is great. The staff are friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear SydneyConcordian

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I have passed on your comments to the food & beverage team who were very happy to see their efforts being recognised. The location of the hotel is a major asset as you rightly point out with its' convenience to all things in Jabiru and the upper end of the park.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Kakadu and managed to get out to Ubirr at sunset which is conveniently only 30min from the hotel.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed with my parents, sister husband and kids at the hotel last August 2012 while we were visiting Kakadu National Park. It's a convenient hotel, well located and with all necessary facilities. The rooms were simple, not perfectly clean but all ammenities available and functioning. The best part were the meals, the restaurant serves nice buffets for dinner that reasonnable in price, breakfast is also good with different price options. The swimming pool was nice but too cold to stay long. It's probably the best hotel in Jabiru so would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Laurence L

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. It is a strange thing that our pool is so cold in the middle of the dry season when temperatures are nearly always in the mid to high 30's. We have been trying to figure out why this is for a couple of seasons and are still yet to discover a definitive answer. Great to see you enjoyed the meals in the restaurant and pleasing to note that you would come and stay with us again.

August is a busy time of the year in the park so I hope you managed to see all it has to offer?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
753 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

we had a great bedroom from which we were able to walkout to thier superb swimming pool which is partially covered. the staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly, a great breakfast but one morning was a little manic

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear mandr268

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I hope the "manic" breakfast you experienced did not put you off the great buffet we have? Very pleasing to read you had a great stay with us and even better to see you managed to get to a lot of the attractions in the park while you were here. Mamukala wetlands is very full with bird life in October so I hope you also got to see that while you were here?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel, situated in Jabiru, is very central to visit the sights of Kadadu National Park. The room was comfortable, although the air conditioning fan was a little noisy. During our stay, the hotel had a $55 meal deal which included 2 courses of the evening a la carte menu and full buffet breakfast the next morning. This was excellent value and the meals were equally as good. Buffet breakfast had an amazing range of selections. Service at check in/out and in the restaurant were very good and the staff multi talented as our check in clerk was also our breakfast waiter. If a visit to Kakadu is on your agenda, I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Hawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear 13Hawkeye

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I am happy to see you took advantage of our $55 meal deal and I agree that it is great value for money as it includes both dinner and an all you can eat buffet breakfast. I have spoken to my maintenance team in regards to your comment about the air-conditioning fan and they are checking the rooms for me to see if we can fix the problem.

Did you get to see Ubirr at sunset while you were in the park?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay at. Friendly staff and nice rooms (nothing too fancy but clean and well appointed). We were there in the wet season between Xmas and nye so the place was pretty quiet. The restaurant is nice but pretty pricey you can also try to eat at the jabiru social and sports club or the golf club (google them for their phone numbers)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear aahtoy

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. There is nothing that pleases me more than to read that our guests have had a wonderful stay with us. I have passed your comments on to my staff to encourage them to keep up the good work.

What did you see while you were in Kakadu? A personal favourite of mine in the wet season is the Yellow Water cruise as the bird life at this time of year is very abundant on the billabong.

Kind regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
409 reviews
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
139.9 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
22 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Property: Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing