We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel i Kakadu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in a very comfortable and nicely furnished and decorated room. We had requested a room on the ground floor close to the pool and restaurant (based on the room tips from other reviews) which we got. We totally agree - this is the best area of the hotel. The pool area is very pleasant and the rooms opens up to this area with a few little tables and chairs in front of each room. Very comfortable bed. Lots of free parking. The air condition was very effective which was helpful as the weather was very hot. We had very nice but a bit overprized dinners in the restaurant. THere is not much competition in the area, so prizes are what they are. We didn't try the breakfast which was also expensive, as we had much cheaper and sufficient breakfast in the bakery 5 min. away one morning, and the other morning we had booked a Yellow River cruise which included a very generous buffet breakfast elsewhere. Hotel staff friendly and helpful especially in the reception. Also in the restaurant, 2 waitresses (Danina? I think one of them was called) Other restaurant staff, young, backpackers maybe? didn't seem to know a lot or be very engaged in the job. The hotel has a little gift shop as well as an aboriginal art gallery. Only criticism would be the extremely glaring bed lights, and the wardrobe which was only half height and only had room for short jackets etc. We really liked the room and the hotel. All together a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: As others have said ground floor near restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear vikingAustralia

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and managed to experience a Yellow water cruise. Your constructive comments about the price of the food and "young backpackers" have been taken on board and discussed with my management team.

Unfortunately, being in a remote area of Australia, we are subject to quite hefty freight charges that affect the price we charge in our restaurant, although we do try to keep prices as low as possible. Similarly, we do struggle to attract staff to this region and are reliant on backpackers to top up our core staff and I am in the process of looking at our training systems to ensure we can get these staff up to the level required as quickly as possible.

Kakadu is an amazing place to visit at all times of the year and I hope that you may return one day to experience the parks "wet season" attractions.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the Gagudju Holiday Inn for one night and had a pretty good stay. Room was as expected, all the basics, good air con etc. We took advantage of the swimming pool to cool off and also had dinner in the restaurant which wasn't bad at all. Service maybe a bit slow but food was pretty good. We had to eat in the hotel as there wasn't much else to do in Jabiru, but the standard of the food was OK, and they actually offered a special deal on check-in so maybe not as expensive as it could have been. The crocodile starter was very tasty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex-and-Carly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Alex-and-Carly

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn and the wonderful time you had during your stay. I have taken on-board your comments in regards to the speed of service in the restaurant as I know my staff try very hard to ensure our service is fast, efficient and friendly at all times. The Food & Beverage manager will revisit our procedures and ensure that the staff have the right training and support from management to assist them in their execution of service.

I hope you get the opportunity to return to Kakadu some day as this world heritage listed national park has many stunning natural and cultural attractions for people to experience

Kind Regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a one-night stay during a trip to Kakadu and other places in the Territory. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Our room opened onto the pool area, which is a very agreeable place to relax. The bar and restaurant area are roomy, open, airy and pleasant.

The hotel is a good environment to relax in after a day travelling or exploring Kakadu. The wonders of Kakadu are well known, but don't expect to find anything of particular interest in Jabiru itself, which is a well-maintained small town serving the mine and the national park.

We were part of a group that arrived at short notice, which might explain why the staff in the restaurant and reception were not particularly friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Michael E

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn and it was great to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I do apologise, however, that my staff did not display the friendly, helpful service that we pride ourselves on here at the hotel and hope that you may return to Kakadu one day and see the true service style of the hotel.

Did you manage to experience some of the wonderful attractions available in the park like Ubirr at sunset and a sunrise cruise in Yellow Water?

Kind Regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My mother, sister and I really enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn, the room was set up very well for our elderly mother (87). After a dip in the pool the airconditioning and fans kept us cool. The buffet at $40.00 a head was expensive but we expected to pay that much 250km from Darwin - the food was of excellent quality and the staff very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was $18 and was very filling, we were over hot breakfasts after spending 3 days at Skycity. It was recommended that we go on the 1 hour flight with Kakaudu Air ($230) worth every cent it was fantastic, the Yellow Water Cruise was fabulous. I would come back and stay here again as it was in a good location, food was to a high standard and the staff lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Chrissy97

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn it is always pleasing to read that our guests enjoyed their time with us. I was happy to read that you liked your room and that you enjoyed the service from the staff. We always strive very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their time with us and I have passed on your kind words to our staff so they can appreciate how what they do influences our guest experience.

It would be great if you are able to return one day as Kakadu has many wonderful experiences awaiting people each time they visit.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it seemed to be the best one in the area.Enjoyed our meals and the staff were friendly.Pool area looked nice .It should probably have had a lift as there were many stairs to drag bags up in order to reach second floor.A very nice lady helped us do this when we checked in.We didnt have the buffet dinner but it looked great.Staff very helpful.Situated very near some shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear oscarAuckland

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn it was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found my staff to be very friendly and helpful as this is one of the things we pride ourselves on at the hotel.

During your time in Kakadu, I hope you managed to see a few of the many stunning visual attractions in the park such as Ubirr at sunset and the rock art at Nourlangie.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is in the middle of the Kakadu national park, 250 km from Darwin. It is the only decent place in the whole area so you would expect to be pay top money. At $260 a night it was expensive but not too bad in overpriced Australia.

Room: It was fine, comfortable, good flat screen, adequate toilet, and all the amenities including a small fridge.

Pool: Fine, but water temperature was inexplicably chilly. This means that nobody there at the time could use it. Apart from that it is very nice.

Restaurant: it is just adequate. The Buffet at $40 a head is not cheap but it was very good value for money for us at the time. A la Carte was average, the quality is not the best.

Hotel Facilities: Very pleasant lobby and ambience. It is a proper hotel which needs a facelift. I had visited the place 10 years earlier and absolutely nothing had been done to it since.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Kakadu given what it offers and what was on offer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear EZT

Than you for your very thoughtful comments regard your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

Your comment about the pool temperature was interested and has prompted me to look at the position of our shade cloths as they are obviously preventing sunlight from heating the pool. My maintenance team is looking at how we can allow the sun to heat the pool while still providing enough shade for our guests.

You are partly correct in your observations regard the upgrade of the hotel in that the bathrooms have not been refurbished but new bedding, furniture and amenities were put into all rooms in 2010 as part of the worldwide Holiday Inn refresh project.

I hope you took the time to enjoy a Yellow Water cruise while you were up in Kakadu and I am delighted to let you know that they have just started a new night cruise that gives an Indigenous interpretation of the stars.


Kind regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay in cabin which was an affordable $95 per night. The room was basic and included not much more than a double bed, linen and an air conditioner. This suited us well and we enjoyed the other facilities of the site including the restaurant and swimming pool. A great base if you wish to do the yellow water cruise.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Flett, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Kathleen P

Thank you for your feedback but I believe you may be talking about Gagudju Lodge Cooinda as we do not have have any cabins at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I have passed on your comments to the General Manager at Cooinda and he was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I agree that Yellow Water is a great place to do cruises or have a fishing experience and I hope you took full advantage of the things on offer at Cooinda during your stay with them.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range: $76 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing