We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Checked in and told there will be no electricity! should have called us about this planned outage - no discounts what so ever.

Bad value for money, deluxe didn't seem like deluxe. Seemed like a run down 2 star motel.

No elevator or assistance with our luggage. Had to change rooms three times due to dirty rooms.

Restaurant was a joke, everything over priced and closed at 9pm. Staff were unorganised and unhelpful.

Room Tip: go down the road to the caravan park for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randum_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear Randum_Traveller

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. It is through the constructive criticism provided by travellers such as yourself that we at the hotel are able to constantly review and enhance our procedures and processes in order to improve the guest experience.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    399
    360
    105
    58
See reviews for
233
551
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

Reasonably sized room. Average condition for a Holiday Inn. Nice salt pool. Fair restaurant with good food and average wait staff. Very helpful front desk. Min was very, very helpful. Looked like her standard modes operandi. Unfortunately, our room was very dim. It had 2 bedside lamp and a study lamp. There were no ceiling or wall lamps. This was a major minus because I injured my knee paddling in a Billabong and had to spent several hours in the evening reading by torch light. Would have given 4 stars except for the lack of lighting.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear JamesC373

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and I have taken on-board your comments in regards to the lighting in the rooms. It is through the constructive criticism provided by travellers such as yourself that we at the hotel are able to constantly review and enhance our procedures and processes in order to improve the guest experience.

As a note for future visits with us, the ceiling fan contains a light which can be turned on with the same control used for controlling the fan speed and there is a second switch for bedside lighting.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We did not experience any of the difficulties noted by some other travelers. Our room on the second floor was modern and clean with a view of the courtyard. The courtyard was well maintained as was the pool area. The receptionists were most helpful in providing information and booking for tours. The only problem was that the food in the restaurant, at least at the beginning of March, was disappointing. I see from later reviews that the food has improved. When choosing a hotel in Kakadu National Park, you might first consider the location of attractions you are interested in seeing since the distances in the Park are deceptive. The Yellow Waters cruise in the wet left from Gagudju Lodge Cooinda 57 km or 35 miles from the Crocodile Holiday Inn. Thus we had a long drive in the dark after taking a sunset cruise. The Yellow Water Cruise was with the Gagudju Dreaming Company and was excellent. The aboriginal guide was informative and funny.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaWhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear RondaWhurl

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel as well as the sunset cruise you took with the award winning Yellow Water Cruises.

The Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn is uniquely positioned half way between Yellow Water and the fabulous rock art site of Ubir so it makes an ideal spot to base yourself within the park.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My brother, sister and I stayed at this hotel for one night. It was a great place to stay if you want hotel accommodation rather than cabins.
The restaurant was good, food was good and staff were pleasant.
The well set up pool provided a great opportunity for a much appreciated swim.
The only small negative I can think of was that the toilet seat was a bit old and marked.

Room Tip: We had rooms close to the pool and restaurant and we didn't experience any noise problems at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnFoley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear JohnFoley47

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel.

Kakadu National Park is a must see and do destination for the Adventurous traveller offering many things to see and do all year round including the award winning Yellow Water Cruises and the incredible rock art at Nourlangie.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst doing a brief tour around Kakadu National Park.
There didn't seem to be many other options for accomodation in the Park (other than camping) - although we did find out while we were here that there is the Gagudju Cooinda Lodge where the Yellow Water cruises go from.
Our room was clean and comfortable with good working air-con.
We used the 'smile package' for food - $55 per person for a 2 course dinner and breakfast (buffet), which is very good value. Breakfast buffet and dinner were both very good (although only one vegetarian option at dinner - might get a little boring after more than 2 nights!) Some excellent salads on the entree menu and some lovely desserts too. The hotel advise dinner bookings - seems to be a staffing issue more than a space one. The restaurant staff seemed busy but the service was generally very good.
The pool was nice although a little crowded.
Despite there not being very many other accomodation options anyway - I would recommend staying here and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkPinkPinkSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear PinkPinkPinkSydney

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and I have taken on-board your comments in regards to the vegetarian options in the restaurant . It is through the constructive criticism provided by travellers such as yourself that we at the hotel are able to constantly review and enhance our procedures and processes in order to improve the guest experience.

As you pointed out, Gagudju Lodge Cooinda is the home of the award winning Yellow Water cruise and also provides accommodation options.

Kind regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It's 4am & I'm writing this having been awake for nearly 2 hrs because of some guests having a small party out the front of our room. Tried ringing reception but the phone doesn't work in the room so after over an hour of noise that woke me up at 1.30am it was up to us to ask them to tone it dow, which they finally did at 3.30am.

A little disappointing considering we had just moved on from our interesting experience at the restaurant for dinner. Taking advantage of the 'Smile' package - which is exceptional value - we rushed up to the restaurant after rushing back from our Yellow Water sunset cruise only to arrive at 7.50 & be scoffed at for not making a booking & that a table wouldn't be available until 8.15pm. We had to ask if it would be ok if we could wait at the bar & have a drink only to receive a less than encouraging "whatever" type expression & attitude. Sitting propped up watching a half full restaurant we were questioning why they bothered to set the other half & even bother placing lit candles on the tables. Thankfully one of the other staff members rushing around noticed us & enquired if we were waiting for a table. He promptly seated us once we told him we had to wait another 20mins for a table. With only 3 staff running around tending to the whole restaurant we were not surprised that the person who had originally told us to wait managed to avoid our table & us for the duration of our meal. Despite that, the service we received from the other staff was fantastic. We were expecting long delays with the food but we received our entree promptly & both enjoyed those. My main was extremely rare - even for lamb - which I didn't notice too much because the lights were out for earth hour & also because it tasted so lovely so could not complain. Our dining experience ended up being really enjoyable.

I'm glad we are not paying the full dry season price. Having been out to Cooinda Lodge for the Yellow Water Cruise I have been wondering if we should've stayed there & avoided the inconvenience of the extra drive. I would expect to be kept awake half the night there but not at a 4 star hotel. It is also a bit concerning the amount of bugs that have attracted to my screen light as I type this.

I'm still glad we made the trip & had a lovely dining experience in the end. A good nights sleep would've been a bonus too.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takinabrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear takinabrk

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and I have taken on-board your comments in regards to the noise outside your rooms. It is through the constructive criticism provided by travellers such as yourself that we at the hotel are able to constantly review and enhance our procedures and processes in order to improve the guest experience.

It was also great to see you took a cruise out at Yellow Water as this award winning cruise is definitely a must for visitors to the park.

Kind regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Croodile is most aptly named- as it is in the shape of a giant crocodile and run by Holiday Inn. The public and private areas of the hotel are furnished in beautiful tropical hardwood furniture and decorated with excellent aboriginal art. It likely is THE place to stay in the park. It is fairly expensive in most regards, but also a long way from standard civilization. Our first room was seriously infested with black mold, which you could smell entering the room. Given the hot, humid environment this hotel is in, this is not surprising- but should have been fixed by housekeeping before we got the room. Rather average overall service is up-rated due to the instant response to our mold problem- a new room that was spotless, immediately next door. Beds and linens were very good. The towels were good and toiletries excellent. Buffet breakfast and set dinner were very good although overall service was at best average. Medium flat screen TV with minimum channels; no complementary internet. Intriguing house deep in Kakadu national park, although but just above average as a hotel experience. (PX #3)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnacoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear AnacoTraveler

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel and I have taken on-board your comments in regards to the rooms. It is through the constructive criticism provided by travellers such as yourself that we at the hotel are able to constantly review and enhance our procedures and processes in order to improve the guest experience.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
395 reviews
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Property: Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing